We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the World in Gombitelli!”
Review of Ceru'

Ceru'
Ranked #58 of 239 Restaurants in Camaiore
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Top of the World in Gombitelli!”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This was a real adventure! Our group of 17 (4 mo to 86 yrs) traveled to Gombitelli on a genealogy expedition to find out where grandma lived when she was a girl. While one half of the group visited with new found distant cousins, the remaining 11 of us went to eat at this wonderful restaurant. We were on the late side of the lunch hour, but the wonderful hostess/waitress said it was no problem to feed us when she found out why we were there. It was THE best meal we had in all our travels in Italy. The meats, sausages and all the antipasto dishes were absolutely wonderful! The lamb was excellent and the potato chips were amazing! Everything was just wonderful...and then add the wine and the view! We thoroughly enjoyed our patio lunch and even went back again for lunch a couple days later. The restaurant inside is very fancy, and I can only assume the dinners are wonderful.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AZEDGIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    42
    9
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very quiet place to sleep, super value foods and drinks”
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Italian friends recommended this place to us. There is absolutely nothing around. Nevertheless we stayed there for 2 nights. Just hanging out at the Terasse, reading, driving around the surrounding. If you look for action, this is not the place to go. We looked for a bit of solitude and good food and we have been delighted. Prices are very good and they digged out some very nice bottles of vine for our poricini.

The Breakfast was so big, we did skip lunch after that, jumping directly to dinner!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucca, Italy
Level Contributor
116 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“BEST VALUE FOR MONEY”
Reviewed 8 September 2012 via mobile

We have been to Cerú regularly for the last 20 years. We have sent well over 100 people in the same period always receiving very positive feedbacks on location, food, service and price.
In our opinion it's the best value for money restaurant (no fish) in the area. 
We had some German guests who had dinner at Cerú every day of their week's holiday.
Never occurred to us to send TA a review... here it is:
"Enjoy the view, the kindness of the owners, the food, the price and the fresh air on a hot day"

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saveron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingscliff, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great family run restaurant”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

I run a cooking school in Lucca and part of the experience I take my guests to Ceru the ten times or so that I have taken multiple guests they have never come away disappointed with the real Italian dining experience with great regional food and wine also with spectacular panoramic views

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well worth finding!”
Reviewed 12 July 2012

While exploring ancestral roots in the hills above Lucca, we had a fabulous lunch at Albergo Ristorante Ceru which specializes in local dishes, especially pork. Comfortable and elegant restaurant, exceptional service with artistic presentation of the many courses. Perched on a hill in the small town of Gombitelli, very scenic, great view of the Mediterranean. There are also guest rooms available. A bit tricky to find, but well worth discovering.
(Open from Easter to October, closed Wednesdays. Telephone 0584-971-901)

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Footloose4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ceru' also viewed

Lucca, Province of Lucca
Camaiore, Province of Lucca
 

Been to Ceru'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing