We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HIDDEN SECRET IN VERSILIA HILLS”
Review of Osteria Candalla

Osteria Candalla
Ranked #7 of 242 Restaurants in Camaiore
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“HIDDEN SECRET IN VERSILIA HILLS”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The Osteria Candalla is a cluster of buildings, terraces and balcony's attached to a river bank, a little path leads you from the Osteria to the river and you can enjoy an aperitivo sitting under banana trees in the shade.
the food is wonderful, from the varied antipasto, the tasty primi and the juicy Cinta Senese steaks to the home made sweets and desserts.
The price of the food and wines is very reasonable considering the high standard of food and service.
If you go for lunch you can take a short walk up the hill where you can find an old mill, with a small lagoon and waterfall, the water is beautiful and clean and great for a refreshing swim, warning it is mountain water and freezing cold even in a steaming hot August day.
The Osteria is just above Camaiore, good tip is to go early as parking can become a little problem, on saying this I have always found a space.
This is a must try restaurant if you are in Viareggio, Lido di Camaiore, Forte dei Marmi etc and you have a car.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FERRARISTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    477
    276
    64
    20
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous setting overlooking hill- like lagoon”
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

The second visit and even better than the first. Stunning setting on multi-platform terraced restaurant beside river on location of old mill. Wonderful food and attentive service. Parking typically Italian style!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chelseachelsealondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avelgem, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent food, extraordinnary location”
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

Not much more to add to all the positive comments. this was a special experience with excellent food for a reasonable price at an extraordinnary location, without being exclusive. Very highly recommended!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Enchanting restaurant on the site of an old mill, great food and amazing location”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

After a day at the beach this Osteria is a breathe of fresh air only 10 minutes away from the beach but seems worlds away in the hills next to a little stream. The location is an old mill and the water still runs through the restaurant with some tables on top of a glass flooring that the water runs underneath. Other tables are next to the stream. The food is based on meat and pasta and serves local dishes. I had fresh pasta with white ragu and the house appetizer. For dessert we all shared some mini cakes and cookies made in house. The place is really beautiful and the food was good. For two courses, wine and a shared dessert we only paid EUR25 each. Maybe the only mark on the evening was that the restaurant took a really long time to bring our pasta and I got the impression that the restaurant serves everyone appetizers before starting on first courses. Still, I would go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SusiBarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Outstanding Experience”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We ate at this restaurant twice during a week long stay in Metato, which is just up the mountain from Osteria Candalla. Both times were amazing. First, the setting is beautiful. If its warm enough ask to sit outside by the river. But more importantly the food is fantastic and cooked with love. I would highly recommend the antipasti. It is a wonderful selection of meats, crostinis, and several other treats from the kitchen. It in itself was very filling. We had both pastas and main dishes, and all were outstanding. I had a pasta with a rabbit and duck meat and it was one of my favorite dishes on our whole trips to Italy! The wines too were outstanding and very reasonably priced. If you go Sunday for lunch you can even sit down by the river in their beach loungers and take a nap! We saw many locals doing just this! How wonderful! You can tell the owners work really hard and take great pride in what they do.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BellsTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria Candalla also viewed

Pietrasanta, Province of Lucca
Capezzano Pianore, Camaiore
 
Pietrasanta, Province of Lucca
 
Monteggiori, Camaiore
Lido Di Camaiore, Camaiore
 

Been to Osteria Candalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing