We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth!”
Review of Locanda al Colle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Locanda al Colle
Ranked #1 of 46 Camaiore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth!”
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Locanda lives up to the promise (and more!) of staying in Tuscany. From the moment we arrived, we felt relaxed and at peace. Everything from breakfast to to the upkeep of the rooms is first class, but it all seems to happen with a lightness of touch. This is because Riccardo and Arreana are calm, warm and self assured in their approach. The rooms, decor and occasional home baked cakes are a delight. We were lucky enough to be around for a saturday night dinner, which was a 6 course extravaganza produced with real skill and a lot of respect for the ingredients. if you want to feel at home and cared for in a truly beautiful place, this is for you. We are already planning a return visit.....

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sothie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
108
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We visited Locanda al Colle over the August bank holiday and stayed for four wonderful nights. Having stayed at many beautiful boutique hotels, this was by far our favourite! Riccardo is a natural and wonderful host who made us feel very welcome and part of the 'family'. The decor is warm and stylish filled with beautiful pieces of vintage furniture -Riccardo has a real eye for detail! Our room (Aurora) was a double deluxe wit panoramic views from the balcony, which also had an outdoor fireplace & day-bed...to wake up in the morning to the lovely views of the hills was a treat & we would love to return in October to use the fireplace. The room was large with spacious bathroom (amazing rain shower and large bath tub) . The hotel is perfectly situated half an hour's drive from Pisa airport - we did however, get lost (more due to our lack of sense of direction but directions perhaps could be clearer but this is a minor point). It's only a short drive to Lucca and also to the beach. Riccardo kindly booked us a cabana at Il Cavallone beach club in Lido di Camaiore which was a lovely way to spend the day by the sea. Locanda al Colle itself has a lovely (heated) swimming pool and we very easily whiled away a day sipping prosecco and swimming. The Breakfasts at the hotel were varied and plentiful and guests can help themselves in the beautiful kitchen to fresh cake/pastries, granola and fresh fruit, fresh eggs, ham and cheese. On Wednesdays and Saturdays, Riccardo offers dinner at the Locanda which we sadly missed but everyone raved about it so we will defintiely do it next time! We also loved Pietrasanta which is a few minutes away by car and a stunning town and perfect for dinner. Forte dei Marmi is 15 minutes drive away. Riccardo is always at hand, proactively suggesting great places to visit and his restaurant recommendations were disappointed! I strongly recommend this place - we had the most relaxing break and already planning our next stay! :-)

Room Tip: Aurora with the panoramic view was very special and perfect for a romantic getaway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M0_the_Expl0rer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sweden
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We stayed for onley tre nights in this fantastic an charming place, everything
was so tastfull and the hostess where so fantastic and helpfull.So it was realey
like a complete vication in all mean.
And the breakfast is totaly fantastic , everything on the table are done whith
the best local and homade products.
So we will absolut recomend locanda al colle.
Stefan and Christel
Sweden

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwedenStefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Although this hotel is a little hard to find at first, it is worth the effort. Very small, personal and chic. The place is filled with pieces of art and the decor is fabulous with very comfortable rooms. Breakfast is served beautifully from the kitchen and if you stay for dinner you are served like a member of the family. Amazing value as every other decent hotel in the area was double the price and this place did not disappoint at all. We spent 3 nights here as a 'mini-moon' and really loved it. Tip- hire a car if you want to get out and about. It's not far from the beach and also Forte dei Marme but would be a bit too far in a taxi probably.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

I was looking for a nice place to break up the 7 hour drive from the French Riviera to Tuscany, and the description of this small guest house on the Mr&Mrs Smith website sounded just right. The Locanda is owned and managed by Riccardo, a collector of 50s vintage furniture, with which he has superbly furnished the public areas. Most of his collection is museum grade with many iconic pieces. It is located on a small gravel road in a rural setting with olive groves and gardens about 15 minutes drive from the beaches of the Versilia, 25 minutes from Lucca via a backroad, and about an hour west of Florence. We were welcome with a smile and a glas of Prosecco and felt right at home. After spending the afternoon in the car, we did not feel like driving to one of the restaurants in the area, so Riccardo and his partner shared their evening meal with us. The pasta and a nice bottle of wine just hit the spot.
We had booked one of the well-appointed suites, which featured a modern kingsize bed, a sitting room, private terrace and 2 bathrooms. The rooms are cooled by an in-floor cooling system which kept the room at just the right temperature. We slept with the window open and woke the next morning completely refreshed. The breakfast buffet was fantastic with freshly squeezed orange juice and farm eggs. A great place for a honeymoon or just to chill by the pool surfing the net. Not cheap, but worth the price. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hansr433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

My wife and I stayed at Locanda Al Colle for 2 nights in June 2011. First off, Riccardo was extremely helpful and accommodating in working with our dates, even though they were sold out. He offered us two nights in two different rooms, if we didn't mind switching, and of course we didn't!

1. This is one of the best resorts we have ever stayed at - in terms of comfort, service, amenities and the overall value.
2. Welcome - The owners & staff make you feel incredibly welcome and they truly take the service mindset seriously
3. The location - fantastic location with access to Lucca, Pietrasanta and even the Cinque Terre are not too far off. The resort itself is self contained, and if you are looking to relax - you never have to leave!
4. The food - we had breakfast there every day, which was a fantastic spread with fresh fruit, pastries and cereals etc. We also had dinner (only on wednesdays and saturdays) prepared by a local Chef and Arianna - which was amazing!
5. The rooms - very thoughtful, elegant and beautiful rooms. We can't describe the many fine works of art in our rooms, in the lobby and the common areas - they were gorgeous!
6. The property - other than the guest rooms scattered throughout the building, the common lobby and the walkways are gorgeous and adorned with great art. The flowers they had all over the property made the whole place glow and smell fantastic!
7. The pool - Stunning pool with great views of the mountains, villages and valleys. Open year round and it is a surprising addition to this wonderful property.
8. Others - they have a partnership with a beach club, Il Cavallone at Lido di Camaiore, within a few kilometers. A great spot for people watching and relaxing on the beach. Laura at the beach club was very helpful and a gracious host.

Other notes - a car is a must. It is totally worth it, not only to get to Locanda, but to explore the overall area and small towns nearby.

Bottom line - We really loved staying at Locanda Al Colle, mainly because of our hosts Riccardo and Arianna. Their recommendations were fantastic and spot on.

If you are in the Lucca/Pisa area, this place is a must-stay. We can't wait to be back.

Sam & Beth
Chicago, IL
June 2011

Room Tip: All rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam_n_Beth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Amazing!!

This guesthotel is absolutely spectacular. Every single detail has been thought about to a standard of absolute perfection. Ricardo and Arianna have such warm personalities that they will get you relaxing the moment you arrive - this place will make even the most stressed out individuals unwind completely. We stayed in the beautiful Aurora room which is amazing. I would also highly recommend staying for a night where dinner is served - lovely food and you will have a great time!

Room Tip: Ask for Aurora
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OxfordT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camaiore
3.0 mi away
UNA Hotel Versilia
UNA Hotel Versilia
#1 of 50 in Lido Di Camaiore
1,145 reviews
2.6 mi away
Villa La Bianca
Villa La Bianca
#13 of 55 in Camaiore
179 reviews
4.7 mi away
St Mauritius Hotel
St Mauritius Hotel
#1 of 44 in Forte Dei Marmi
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Giulia
Hotel Giulia
#5 of 50 in Lido Di Camaiore
271 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Guiscardo
Hotel Palazzo Guiscardo
#2 of 6 in Pietrasanta
196 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Il Negresco
Hotel Il Negresco
#2 of 44 in Forte Dei Marmi
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda al Colle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda al Colle

Property: Locanda al Colle
Address: Via La Stretta 231 | loc. Capezzano Pianore, 55041, Camaiore, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Camaiore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Camaiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the crossroads of the famous via Francigena and the sea , our locanda proposes itself in a contest of absolute charm as a place of peace and privacy. An old stone house in which old and new , exterior and interior find harmony in the research of details such as the objects in every room , one off pieces mixed with findings from trips abroad giving a warm and comforting atmosphere.Protected by the greenery of the olive grove locanda looks out towards the sea and the hills and mountains of Camaiore . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Locanda al Colle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Al Colle Hotel Camaiore
Locanda Al Colle Tuscany/Camaiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing