We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very special place!”
Review of Locanda al Colle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Locanda al Colle
Ranked #1 of 47 Camaiore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2012

This is a beautiful, stylish resort which provides a phantastic setting for its guests. Riccardo is a perfect host and made us really feel "at home". His recommendations for restaurants etc were very valuable and not once have we been disappointed. We have already made a booking for our next stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrS1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2012

We stayed at this beautiful Locanda for four nights last month as part of our honeymoon. Our room (Giardino) was gorgeous, leading to a beautiful small, private garden with a hammock and beautiful hillside views. In the room, was a beautiful bunch of long-stemmed red roses and a bottle of Champagne. Lovely touch. Our host, Riccardo, assisted by Arianna could not have been more friendly, or helpful. They made several recommendations for us and assisted in making reservations for us. Overall, the place is serene, stylish and incredibly relaxing, we would not hesitate to go back or recommend to anybody thinking of staying in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I cannot praise this hotel highly enough. We stayed here for 1 week on our honeymoon as part of a trip around Italy and it was the best part of our holiday.

Our room, the junior suite (Alba), was simply stunning. This consisted of a large bathroom with rainfall shower and double bath and double sinks, separate toilet and sink, bedroom with two large wardrobes and four poster bed with drapes and a private terrace. The private terrace was such luxury, providing privacy and pretty views. The room was chic and elegant, but also homely.

As honeymooners we were greeted with a bottle of chilled champagne and the largest bunch of long stem red roses I have ever seen. Incredibly these were replaced every 2 days with a fresh new bunch!!

Towels are changed daily and you are able to help yourself to chilled still or sparkling water from the kitchen fridge whenever you like (not to be underestimated in the summer!).

The food was aspect that we will never forget. Every morning Riccardo and Arianna freshly prepare a rich assortment of choices to rival any other breakfast I have had on the continent. This usually involved cereals, fresh fruit, pastries, toast, some form of savory tart or quiche, cake and (on request) eggs, however you like them accompanied by the best coffee, a section of teas and fruit juice (just squeezed).

Lunch is optional and to be requested daily at breakfast and is usually about £15-20pp. I would definitely recommend these as Riccardo and Arianna's cooking is certainly as good as any great restaurant. It is generally 2 courses with desert if you would like it, and everything just tastes so good!!! This was served to us each day on our private terrace, which was incredible.

On Sundays and Wednesdays a chef comes in to make dinner for all the guests (should they wish to attend). This is typically 4 or 5 courses with processco and wine and again the food is delicious. It's lovely to be able to join tables with other guests to mix but equally if you prefer privacy, mixing is not forced upon you at all and you are quite welcome to take up a private table.

There are lots of great restaurants in the surrounding area, mostly these are a short drive a way but one is within walking distance. This is a superb restaurant with panoramic view over the tuscan hillside. Best of all, Riccardo will always ensure you are given the best table in the house.

You definitely get the special treatment whilst staying at this guest house. It was my birthday during our stay and Riccardo presented me with a bottle complimentary prosecco and sorbet cake. That evening we took Riccordo’s recommendation to eat at a fabulous restaurant, Trattoria Il Marzocco in Pietrasanta (15 minute drive away), and we arrived to find our table had been scattered with rose petals and I was treated to a delicious desert.

A car is probably recommended for this guest house if you feel that need to be traveling around and seeing new places everyday. We had originally booked a Hertz hire car but were refused our car when we went to pick it up as I had booked the car in my husband’s name but paid for it on my credit card (apparently a no no for Italian car hire!). We thought this spelled disaster for the our trip to tuscany, but in the end it didn't matter at all, and probably worked out for the best. The guest house was so fantastic and so relaxing we didn't feel the need to take any of the day trips we had originally planned. When we did go out Riccardo was able to book us taxis (20 euro seemed to be the standard charge for anywhere within an 20 minute radius, including the beach club).

Given the intimacy of the guest house, I would personally say it was not the best place for children. Additionally, given the hard work that Riccardo and Arianna put into making your stay so special, manners and some reciprocity (for example helping to clear away your breakfast) are definitely appreciated.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Honeymooner1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Our stay here was our first time in Tuscany. We could not have been happier with our experience. We booked the bedroom with balcony on the top floor. The balcony had a wonderful evening bed and iron fireplace, perfect for autumn in Tuscany. Riccardo was an excellent host and had many great suggestions for day trips and local restaurants. We took a hike up to Casoli and also enjoyed a dinner in nearby Pietresanta. Our only recommendation is to be sure to rent a car as taxis are required for most excursions away and can prove quite expensive. All in all a great destination...breakfast also great

Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

From fresh roses in the room to free bottled water, the attention to detail in the place is impressive. Everything is just as it should be: lovely big room, luxurious bathroom, delicious and different breakfast each day, great pool, beautiful gardens and free access to the beach club. We enjoyed the well stocked wines at reasonable prices, the interesting art around the house and gardens, the beautiful furniture in every room, the complementary bottle of prosecco and the cool music played in the house. Best of all though is the friendliness of the hosts, who make you feel very welcome. They will also recommend and book restaurants, and suggest places to visit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acurthoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

If you want to visit Viareggio or Forte Di Marmi and have close access to the Culture at Lucca this lovely boutique hotel just off the beaten track is great. It is immaculate and interesting to stay at. Ricardo and Ariana looked after us excellently and we even had dinner there on one of their wonderful dining evenings.
Their recommendations for dinner were excellent and we loved it. Great fun.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in April and could not have asked for a more beautiful place to spend time in the hills of Italy overlooking the ocean. The rooms were beautiful and understated, the food was great and Riccardo and Ariana were extremely helpful.

It is in a perfect position close to VIa Reggio, Forte Di Marmi and other interesting places but far enough away from everything so that you feel like you are in the country.

Room Tip: The Suite/penthouse are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camaiore
3.0 mi away
UNA Hotel Versilia
UNA Hotel Versilia
#1 of 50 in Lido Di Camaiore
1,189 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Guiscardo
Hotel Palazzo Guiscardo
#3 of 6 in Pietrasanta
198 reviews
2.6 mi away
Villa La Bianca
Villa La Bianca
#12 of 55 in Camaiore
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Albergo Pietrasanta
Albergo Pietrasanta
#2 of 6 in Pietrasanta
205 reviews
3.5 mi away
Salvia e Rosmarino
Salvia e Rosmarino
#7 of 47 in Camaiore
79 reviews
2.5 mi away
La Sosta degli Artisti B&B
La Sosta degli Artisti B&B
#1 of 34 in Pietrasanta
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda al Colle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda al Colle

Address: Via La Stretta 231 | loc. Capezzano Pianore, 55041, Camaiore, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Camaiore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Camaiore
Price Range: £171 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the crossroads of the famous via Francigena and the sea , our locanda proposes itself in a contest of absolute charm as a place of peace and privacy. An old stone house in which old and new , exterior and interior find harmony in the research of details such as the objects in every room , one off pieces mixed with findings from trips abroad giving a warm and comforting atmosphere.Protected by the greenery of the olive grove locanda looks out towards the sea and the hills and mountains of Camaiore . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and MrandMrsSmith so you can book your Locanda al Colle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Al Colle Hotel Camaiore
Locanda Al Colle Tuscany/Camaiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing