We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“close to perfection”
Review of Haus Erika

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Haus Erika
Ranked #1 of 7 Wieden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Fab location, fab house, and fab hosts. Thoroughly enjoyed our 'escape from our teenagers trip' for a few days in this beautiful part of the world. Everyone is made to feel very welcome and chatting to other guests at breakfast or after a walk with a bottle of wine was lovely. Lesley and Manfred are a wealth of knowledge about the area and make sure that you make the most of your stay. We really enjoyed chilling out and relaxing. Lesley can even make a proper cup of English tea, being English herself. I wouldn't normally go back to the same place twice, but I think this might be the exception to the rule.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

We originally came across Haus Erika on the internet when looking for a "stop off" on the way back from a holiday in Italy in 2012. We loved it so much we decided to make it our holiday destination in 2013 and returned with three other couples. Lesley and Manfred are amazing hosts and were so helpful (especially when we had problems with our hire vehicle!). By the time we left we felt we were part of the family! Haus Erika itself is beautiful, and the bedrooms very clean and comfortable. The breakfasts are delicious including some wonderful homemade jams! As an area, Wieden is wonderfully placed with lots of gorgeous walks and places to visit. All in all a terrific find and one we would happily return to in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I searched high and low for a place to stay in the Black Forest while on vacation from the Pennsylvania, USA, to Germany. I chose Haus Erika because of all the great reviews and I can tell you, it didn't disappoint! If you, like us, only speak English, it is all the more reason to stay with Lesley and Manfred. Lesley just happens to be Brittish! She is a wealth of information for whatever you feel like doing in the Black Forest. She has a way of making you feel like her beautiful home is your home. The rooms are impeccably clean, the breakfast is delicious, the hospitality is endearing. It is the absolute perfect spot when you think of a German cottage in the mountains of the Black Forest. It has a great location to many area attractions as well. If you're looking for just the perfect place with a home owner who is laid back and easy going, you HAVE to stay at Haus Erika!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed at Haus Erika for a week in late August with our two boys aged 5 and 7. Lesley and Manfred were charming hosts and very good with the children. Haus Erika is a delightful traditional wooden house in the heart of the village.

The family room was spacious and comfortable consisting of a large double bedroom and a smaller room with a bunk bed (very appealing for our boys!). The ensuite shower room was compact but well-designed with spacious glass fronted shower cubicle and looked brand new. The room was spotless, nice bed linen and plenty of towels. The suite could have accommodated an extra bed in the children's room if required. There was also a reasonable amount of storage space. There was a small tv in the parents' room with English channels, we were too busy to watch it much but useful for an hour's chilling before heading out in the evening. Also the fact that the children's bedroom was a separate room meant that after their bedtime the door between the rooms could be closed and it was easy for the adults to relax, read, watch TV.

The breakfasts were tasty and generous, delicious local ham, homemade jam, lots of bread.

Weiden is a picturesque, unspoilt village. There were two hotels in the village where we went for evening meals, easy with the children as they eat early in Germany. The one 10 minutes walk up the hill ( the walk was rather nice) was our favourite, good food and a children's playroom. The other next to Haus Erika was fairly quiet but also nice food and friendly service. Further afield in Todtnau (15 minutes drive) we had an excellent meal in an Italian restarant, excellent homemade pizza and pasta, good lively ambiance.

There was plenty to do and we could easily have stayed for longer. One day we went to Europa Park, bit like Disney without the queues. Lesley prepared an excellent packed breakfast so we could leave early. Another day was spent by the Titisee where we hired a motorboat which was fun.We spent a day at Steinwassen Park where the attractions are animals indigenous to the region such as lynx and wild boar and rides.Another day was spent walking on the Feldberg, down to a charming Inn where we sat outside for lunch then via the Feldsee back up to the ski resort. We then took a cable car to the top for a fantastic view (on a clear day you can see the whole chain of the Alps spread out in front of you). There was an interesting trip to a mining museum and farm museum. Haus Erika would also make a good base for day trips to Lake Constance, Switzerland and Alsace. There were plenty of other to do's on our list that we didn't even get to.

I would heartily recommend a family holiday in the Black Forest and Haus Erika is the ideal base

Thank you Lesley and Manfred.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed here for a week in August. Booked it ages in advance and very happy I did so. The rooms were beautiful and very comfortable. Lesley was most accomodating on all accounts. Every morning we had a delicious breakfast out on the veranda and there was a diiferent surprise for us every day, like little personal glass cups with hot oatmeal porridge or yogurt with chocolate in it. Every morning Lesley would discuss our plans for the day and give us tips on where to go. Best tip was to go to the Europa Park on a rainy day so that we wouldn`t have long lines to the rides and she also told us to leave early in the morning and therefor packed us our breakfast to go- each one of us - 4 adults and 3 children, got there own personal bag with 2 sandwiches and a snack and a bottle of juice, orange for the adults and something else for the kids- tasty and very thoughtful and kind. One evening we were invited to join Lesley and her husband and son and some other guests to sit with them and the bottles of wine just kept coming. I could keep on and on....I reccomend this b+b very highly

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed at Haus Erika in July 2013. We found everything about our 7 night stay to be excellent.Lesley was by far the most helpful and knowledgeable owner I've ever stayed with. She treated us as friends, inviting us to the village fundraising barbeque where we were introduced to others from the village. Everyone is extremely friendly! We really enjoyed the area - the location of Haus Erika is superb, being a short walk from some restaurants but also with views of the hills around. Lesley gave us lots of advice of the lakes and hikes to do, and the area is set up really well for tourists. A car is very useful as we were able to relax in various places, spending three days by the lakes that are within a 30 min drive. Lesley runs a tight ship, with a good breakfast and very clean rooms that are cosy and roomy. All in all, we had a wonderful stay and if will try to visit again if we are ever in the area. Thank you Lesley and Manfred for all your kindness.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed with Lesley and her family during a walking holiday in the Black Forest (Westweg). Lesley English by birth and lives in the Black Forest with her German husband and family.

She is extremely helpful and helped us organise additional accommodation further towards Basel. She was also kind enough to arrange luggage transport to Lorrach and gave us a lift back to the Westweg trail upon departure.

Stay here, you won't be disapointed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grimerking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wieden
2.0 mi away
Vital-Hotel Gruener Baum
2.8 mi away
Waldhotel am Notschrei
Waldhotel am Notschrei
#1 of 9 in Todtnau
184 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Sonnenalm
Hotel Sonnenalm
#3 of 9 in Todtnau
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Wiedener Eck
Wiedener Eck
#2 of 3 in Wieden
47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sonnenhang
Hotel Sonnenhang
#1 of 3 in Wieden
24 reviews
3.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Spielweg
Romantik Hotel Spielweg
#1 of 3 in Muenstertal
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haus Erika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus Erika

Address: Ortsstr. 10, 79695 Wieden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Wieden
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Wieden
Price Range: £63 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guest house is a traditional 360 year old Black Forest house which has been renovated continually to a very comfortable standard. Our rooms are all Ensuite. We take pride in providing our guests with value for money and giving you a holiday to remember - for all the right reasons! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Haus Erika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haus Erika Hotel Wieden
Haus Erika Wieden, Germany - Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing