We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will not return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Flair Hotel am Ellinger Tor
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We will not return”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My wife and myself were recently biking along the Altmuhl river, (very well) organised by Radweg-Reisen. This organisation brings your luggage every day to the next hotel. we bought the half board formula. It is not the first time we use this formula and we are aware of the fact that the quality of the hotels can be a bit different but on an average basis is very much OK.
We had a bad experience with the Flair Hotel am Ellinger Tor in Weissenburg.
On the one hand the dinner: apart from the fact that the dish on the speciel menu for the bikers was not available for both of us, our voucher mentioned FOUR dishes for the half board and we were obviously going ot be served THREE. When we made a remark, we got an extra ... small green salad.
The seond experience was much more frustrating. Because we had some spare time in the morning we mentioned at the front desk we would go for a walk and leave our luggage in the hall before leaving the hotel. When coming back for checking out we had an angry lady who told us ... we were supposed to pay our drinks before leaving. Of course we did so (as always) and what a nice surprise to find out when picking up our luggage the bill had been attached to it with a rather agressive remark saying we were supposed to make a bank transfer as soon as possible. (amount concerned: less than 20 € !). We felt being consoidered like thieves.
In general people were always nice during this trip but twice a bad experience in the same hotel let me say: I will not stay there once more, although the room was OK as well as the location.

Room Tip: Most rooms should be OK and not noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Luc J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    19
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
2
18
1
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
216 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed her last month for a week. A great hotel situated inside the town wall, extremely helpful staff, very comfortable and clean rooms. The restaurant food is outstanding and the whole hotel has a great atmosphere. Apart from the church bells ringing at 6.30 in the morning ( which affects the whole town) it is a perfect place to stay and explore Weissenburg and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DennisWestSussex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South River, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Very quaint, extremely clean, unique combination of old world charm and modern amenities. Friendly staff, amazing restaurant! Seasonal specialties are extraordinary. Short walk to all the great things in town such as Roman baths and an unbelievable ice cream parlor.

Room Tip: No pool or fitness center - oops! Eat in the outside garden if the weather is agreeable - it's g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hørsholm, Denmark
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

On a vacation trip to southern Europe we stopped for the night at Flair Hotel am Ellinger Tor. This hotel is located in a very romantic old southern German city and is in it selv a nice old building. As my wife commented the place is like take out of a Shrek movie. The hotel is old, nice and clean. The staff is very friendly and it has a fine casual restaurant that serves German food at prices that matches the pricing.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gongevangen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
316 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

What a pleasant surprise this was. Beautiful small hotel offering traditional friendly hospitality. Beside the tourist track, fantastic food and really friendly staff. High quality breakfast. The rooms are very pleasant with modern and good size bathrooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hermann b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weissenburg in Bayern
11.2 mi away
Parkhotel Altmuehltal
Parkhotel Altmuehltal
#1 of 8 in Gunzenhausen
71 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Sonnenhof
Hotel Sonnenhof
#1 of 3 in Pleinfeld
34 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hotel Adlerbraeu
Hotel Adlerbraeu
#2 of 8 in Gunzenhausen
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Hotel-Gasthof Krone
Hotel-Gasthof Krone
#7 of 8 in Gunzenhausen
3 reviews
8.2 mi away
Seehotel Zur Hopfenkoenigin
11.4 mi away
Hotel Blauer Wolf
Hotel Blauer Wolf
#6 of 8 in Gunzenhausen
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flair Hotel am Ellinger Tor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flair Hotel am Ellinger Tor

Property: Flair Hotel am Ellinger Tor
Address: Ellinger Str. 7, 91781 Weissenburg in Bayern, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Weissenburg in Bayern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Weissenburg in Bayern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flair Hotel am Ellinger Tor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a 500 year old half-timbered house, the Am Ellinger Tor Flair Hotel is located in the city of Weissenburg. Each room is stylish and equipped with every modern comfort. Seasonal specialities such as asparagus, game and fish are served in the coy restaurant of the Am Ellinger Tor Flair Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Flair Hotel am Ellinger Tor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flair Hotel Am Ellinger Tor Weissenburg In Bayern, Germany - Bavaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing