We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Windermere Estate
Nearby Hotels
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$66
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
OYO 4651 Woodpecker Resort(Pothamedu)(Great Value!)
US$281
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$28
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Deshadan Mountain Resorts(Pothamedu)(Great Value!)
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Greenspaces B&B Munnar(Pothamedu)(Great Value!)
US$49
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$37
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hollyhock(Pothamedu)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
G Cleff Munnar(Pothamedu)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (592)
Filter reviews
592 results
Traveller rating
308
205
58
16
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
308
205
58
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsset menufixed menutea hutcardamom plantationno alcoholthe barnplantation walkgarden roomeach afternoonbanana fritterssurrounding countrysidetea museumcomplimentary teaguided tourpre dinnerwestern ghatsstunning location
Filter
Updating list...
290 - 295 of 592 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Nestled amongst the tea plantations high in the hills, the Windermere Estate is a working Cardoman and Coffee plantation. This is more of a homestead than a true hotel, with excellent home made food, but little choice. The room we had was very comfortable and roomy. There is a viewpoint high up on a rock from which you can see fantastic views a cross the hills. It was quiet and serene, a great place to rest and recover from the chaos of the roads and cities of India. The staff were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble for them. Don't expect the well heeled luxury of a 5 star hotel, if you take Windermere for what it is, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rimigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We arrived late and in the dark having broken down en-route and were very happy to have been upgraded to a larger room (I think because we had broken down). They had also offered to come and pick us up if we wanted following our breakdown some 40 km away.
Dinner was OK but a bit bland. Having discussed this with the very helpful and friendly staff our following meals were spiced individually to our liking and were much better. To be fair there were many people staying who 'didn't like Indian food' so I think they were used to under-spicing.
A shame about the new hotel going up in front of our room. Also a shame about the well digging that started next door on our last day/night. And thank goodness they moved us to another 'room'. I say room, it was an entire bungalow. Another example of excellent customer service.
Also good were the two walks that we took with naturalists, one a general walk and one a private bird spotting walk. Both enjoyable and successful.
They could do with some more sitting areas for customers not going out on organised tours but we were provided with chairs in our chosen spot. It may not be a 'luxury resort' but it is comfortable and relaxing.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and appreciated the friendly and helpful staff and family (John Simon).

Room Tip: Make sure you get a balcony
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AEWPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We arrived in the dark, having been delayed for 3 hours due to a strike by Keralan border staff so it was only the next morning that we realised just how stunning the location was. We had a very comfortable chalet with large bed, sitting area and good shower room. There was no choice for the evening meals but they were pretty good and all freshly prepared. No alcohol is served so if you want an after dinner drink on your balcony you would need to bring your own. We went on a tour of a local tea plantation with our guide and it was a marvellous experience as the scenery was stunning and we saw lots of birds and even black long tailed monkeys. Munnar was bustling and interesting. Windermere was a really nice part of our holiday in Kerala.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CardiffZorro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Wonderful location on top of a hill in the Western Ghats surrounded by tea plantations. I have come to expect excellent service from hotel staff in India and the far east but here is exceptional. All the staff are the most friendly, helpful people you could ever wish to meet. Nothing is too much trouble for them at all. The rooms and restaurant area's do look a little dated but this seems to add a little character missing from many hotels and suits the location perfectly. The only slight downside is they do not have a bar licence so you must bring your own alcohol to drink. Also some of the pathways are a little uneven so any elderly or infirm guests will need to take care. There is a short climb to the top of a rock which gives superb views of the surroundings with lovely sunsets and sunrises worthwhile getting up early to see.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trevor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights as part of a package tour. Located in the hills set amongst tea and cardomon plantations the accomodation is in the form of individual blocks of 4 rooms. Not modern but quaint in style. Nothing nearby where to buy anything. There is no drinks licence so youll need to take in beer wine etc. One point to note there are no fridges in your rooms in which to chill your beer. A lovely experience and a welcome location significantly cooler than the lower resorts. Food was good, service and staff very friendly. No pool.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Honestandbalanced87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews