We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Tall Trees Munnar
Nearby Hotels
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fragrant Nature Munnar(Pothamedu)
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Deshadan Mountain Resorts(Pothamedu)(Great Value!)
US$63
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$61
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hillview Munnar(Munnar)(Great Value!)
US$70
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (801)
Filter reviews
801 results
Traveller rating
458
259
58
16
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
458
259
58
16
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesglass roofcinnamon cottagedeluxe cottagerestaurant staffayurvedic massagegiant squirrelliving roomnature loversmunnar townclose to naturesteep walkabove sea levelcity lifebirds chirpingcardamom plantationbeautiful resort
Filter
Updating list...
533 - 538 of 801 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Very friendly, helpful and always smiling staff. Excellent location for a very relaxing holiday although its at extreme end of Munnar so long drive from Cochin airport. Activities include only billiards and night bonfire, however many gardens nearby to visit. Weather is cold up there.

Room Tip: try to take close to restaurant else will need to climb up every time!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaurav B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
myMunnar, General Manager at The Tall Trees Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking time to review our resort.

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed the holiday and the rating 4/5 will be a motivation for the entire team.

Look forward to host you again.


Best Regards


Aju Abraham Mathew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed at Tall Trees as part of a package operated by our tour operator. Having looked at some reviews on Trip Advisor we were hopeful it would be a great hotel - sadly its deficient in a number of areas.
It is worth saying that it rained constantly during our two days in Munnar, which probably impacted our enjoyment somewhat, however below is our opinion on our stay.
initial impressions are positive. Despite being 5 or 10 minutes from Munnar centre, up and down a wonderful road hugging the mountains, you arrive in a densely forested 'resort' which at first glance seems tastefully merged into the countryside. Reception was fine and we were shown to our room - a standard cottage a couple of minutes walk from the car up and down winding paths. Sadly the rooms themselves are in need of some painting and repair. The bed is incredibly uncomfortable and the bathroom is very poor - constantly damp, with inadequate ventilation, water drips constantly from the soaking ceiling. At tariff of 7000 (plus taxes) this doesn't offer great value for money (compare and contrast with likes of Villa Jacaranda in Varkala!).
Dinner is an interesting experience - up a steep and winding staircase you enter a spacious area with a dining room. Food is a buffet - a large choice of veg and non-veg, starters and pudding. Service was friendly enough, but little to do (although there is a compulsory service charge for a buffet?) At 500 rupees, its more expensive than most restaurants and being a fair distance from Munnar you really have little choice but to eat here other than taking a 30 minute round trip into 'town'.
Irritations are: phone calls to your room to sell massage services, which woke both of us up as we slept after a 6 hour trek. Trying to leave early one morning on our trek (started 0630) we were refused permission to leave the resort without checking in to reception - we had to wait 5 minutes or so for someone to 'allow' us to leave.
Ultimately this place just isn't good enough

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich_and_Sarah7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
myMunnar, General Manager at The Tall Trees Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking time to review our resort.

We are happy that you enjoyed our resort in general . However we regret that your expectations was not meet in some areas and you did not had the perfect stay experience.
We assure you that we have initiated necessary corrective measures for providing best services with high standards of hospitality.

Thank you again and look forward to host you again among The Tall Trees.

Best Regards


Aju Abraham Mathew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Lucky to find a place like this with such a natural and beautiful location! Hospitality was to its optimum level!!
Food was extremely delicious
And the staff team was actual an example to all the hotels of this class

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dirtblasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
myMunnar, General Manager at The Tall Trees Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Guest ,

We Thank you for opting to stay with us recently and sharing your experience through TA .

We all among The Tall Trees is delighted to learn that you enjoyed the holiday and the rating 5/5 will be a great motivation to us.

Thank you again and look forward to host you again.

Best Regards

Aju Abraham Mathew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed at Tall Trees as a part of our Kerala trip! The hotel is located at one of the highest places in Munnar. There are only 19 cottages in the hotel so you can be assured of a quality stay. True to it's name, your room is surrounded by tall trees (literally). The town is located quite far from hotel so if you are thinking of out for dinner or lunch once you are in the hotel, you are out of luck.

Being the only hotel in the area, you have no option but to eat in it's own restaurant. Breakfast was great, they had a good selection of traditional south indian dishes. The dinner was a bit disappointing as they tried to cook north indian food with southern india spices, which in our opinion, didn't work. However, the next day we opted for the in room dining which was a better option.

The staff are friendly and polite. Various activities such as morning walks, yoga, etc are faciliated everyday and I would recommend to take advantage of that. We found this place quiet good and would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room as close to the restaurant otherwise you could end up walking a lot.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nirajay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
myMunnar, General Manager at The Tall Trees Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking time to review our resort.

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed the holiday among The Tall Trees .
Your comment regarding the dinner has been shared with our Chef and his team has been briefed on the same.

Thank you again and look forward to host you again.


Best Regards

Aju Abraham Mathew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Came to tall trees in summer... We were embraced by beautiful natural mist... Amazing forest view... Sounds of nature are soothing... Good accommodation... Lovely restaurant overlooking the property... Lovely tree's all around. Good food. 5 star experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angelagnel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
myMunnar, General Manager at The Tall Trees Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your experience through Trip Advisor.

We are extremely happy to learn that you enjoyed the holiday and our resort had meet your expectations.

Look forward to host you again.

Best Regards

Aju Abraham Mathew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews