We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A remote treasure”
Review of Kloster Hornbach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kloster Hornbach
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hornbach
Certificate of Excellence
Basel, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A remote treasure”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We have been with a group of friends to Kloster Hornbach for more than 5 times, and every year we come back! Although it is a bit remote, the hotel itself it wonderful. The setting in an old monastery is unique, the rooms have been renovated with lots of charme. What always really impressed us was the personnel - friendly, service-minded, child-friendly, and super warm and welcoming. The spa is a bit small, but that gets more than compensated by the two super restaurants. This place is a must if you look for relaxation and great hospitality

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Achim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    32
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
36
101
14
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

When arriving at Kloster Hornback, my colleagues and I asked about a late check out, since we would be departing via airplane late in the day. We were told that they were not able to accomodate in that particular building, but they walked us to the other side of the church to another building and we were completely surprised! Each room had a different "theme". I stayed in the Hollywood Room which was decoratated with all things "Hollywood", including stage lights and a popcorn maker! One of my colleagues stayed in a "Game Room" which included a slot car racing table that folded out of the wall and was appropriately decorated with all things "racing". It was a lovely stay. The service was lovely and staff was friendly. Would love to have the opportunity to visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GVFlyerMemories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Stayed there for 3 nights and was absolutely amazed during the entire stay. What they have done to this old Kloster building deserves a lot of credit. Rooms are very cozy and spacious and the entire hotel style is very warm and stylish. Most friendly staff I have come across in years which made the stay very enjoyable. The breakfast was superb. I can only recommend this place with good feelings to anybody who likes to spend some time in that part of Germany.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indrek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
1,085 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 855 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We visit Kloster Hornbach at least once a year for its tranquility, perfect service, attention to their guests and the constant effort to get even better. I have stayed in hundreds of hotels in my life and none was better. The owners are actively involved in the running of the hotel and restaurant. They seek out the opinions of their guests and they act upon them. You see their care in the smallest details, the welcoming drink, the mattresses, bed sheets and even the toilet paper. We are not afraid to offer constructive suggestions, but it gets harder and harder each year.

Room Tip: They have at least 4 room types: Oriental, Shaker, African and Mediterranean. Then there are suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Touring along the German "Weinstrasse" and "Barockstrasse" we decided to try out the well-reviewed Hotel Kloster Hornbach with its casual restaurant offering regional specialities of Rhineland Palatinate. My friends were from Zweibruecken, so knew the place. We sat outside on a warm Thu evening 8.30pm and ordered some wine spritzers and Riesling wine as well as the Schaenken Menu. The wine was good, but that was the only gastronomic highlight of the evening! Service was slow and rather casual and overtaxed, i.e. unprofessional. Although friendly in tone, staff appeared untrained and didn't even speak the language! When addressed in German a waiter just shrugged his shoulders and muttered: "I don't understand. I no German." And left us sitting - puzzled. It then took ages until the menus and drinks arrived. When the starter eventually arrived (herring), it was tasty but the main course was indefinable - was it really game, a leg of venison, as alleged on the menu? It tasted somewhere between liver and nothing. Obviously one had undertaken every effort to render the piece of meat unrecognisable. We waited about 20 minutes for the desserts, which arrived in "shifts". It seemed rather impossible to have the uninspiring desserts delivered at the same time to a table of four: crème brûlée, a spoonful of tired strawberries and a scoop of sorbet, which had already ran/melted away when it arrived, rather sad and disappointing. We were offered a drink/digestif on the house as compensation and staff were apologetic but the whole dining experience was rather a let-down, so we'll avoid the place for dinner in the future and rather take to the "Fasanerie" in the neighbourhood.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back, i.e. the Klostergarten, are quieter and have a nicer view onto the herbal garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tripse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KlosterHornbach, Manager at Kloster Hornbach, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Dear valued guest,

first of all we like to thank you that you took your time to address your open words and your helpful feedback. We at the Kloster Hornbach appreciate to hear our guests opinion, no matter if it is positive or negative. Positive feedback is always an additional motivation for all of us and complaints are always helpful to enhance our services.

Please accept our apologies for the unprofessional service you experienced while you were visiting our restaurant “Klosterschänke”. We assure you that our guests and their wishes always rank first. Our entire team and especially our service and kitchen staff lives for this philosophy. What you and your friends experienced is definitely not according to our high service levels and rules. On this special day we had to reorganize our team due to an unexpected lack of staff. We immediately discussed your concerns and feedback with our colleagues who were responsible at this evening and the team will take your constructive opinion to improve in case of short term and unexpected changes of shift members.

We would be more than happy if you could accept an invitation for you and your friends for another visit at our Klosterschänke. Please come back to us and let us know how we can provide you with a special compensation as a second chance to convince you of our always high service and quality.

Your Team of Kloster Hornbach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerpen
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

do not miss out the opportunity to enjoy the superb tranquility and service of Kloster Hornbach. The team is setting standards on what you can expect and I actually would need to rate with 6 stars or change some of the previous 5 star ratings. Our daughter was thrilled when she saw the details just for her like special towel (Lilliefee), shampoo, reading books,... When I receiced a little travel convenience bag the day we left I knew this will set new standards!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crodino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
1,085 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 855 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We visit Kloster Hornbach at least once every year. I know of no hotel anywhere where the owners try so hard to improve. We keep thinking there is not much more that they can do, yet every year it gets better. In the very best hotels the mattresses and pillows tell you all about the hotel's philosophy. Is it about the guests, or is it about maximizing profits? Clearly profits result from the best service possible. Oh, by the way, it is beautiful, elegant, tasteful, has a gourmet restaurant, a friendly and caring staff and owners who seek you out and ask your opinions.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hornbach
4.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Landschloss Fasanerie
8.8 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Kunz
Hotel-Restaurant Kunz
#1 of 3 in Pirmasens
115 reviews
18.7 mi away
Hotel Pfalzblick
Hotel Pfalzblick
#1 of 2 in Dahn
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Auberge du Cheval Blanc
17.3 mi away
Hotel Am Triller
Hotel Am Triller
#1 of 33 in Saarbrucken
367 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Rosengarten am Park
Hotel Rosengarten am Park
#2 of 3 in Zweibruecken
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kloster Hornbach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kloster Hornbach

Property: Kloster Hornbach
Address: Im Klosterbezirk, 66500 Hornbach, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Hornbach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hornbach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kloster Hornbach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The former Benedictine monastery “Kloster Hornbach” is today a small and exquisite 4* sup. hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Kloster Hornbach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing