We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time at the Sands”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sands on Golden Lake
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Golden Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Whitby, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great time at the Sands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

We arrived at the Sands with another couple to enjoy a weekend of snowmobiling/spa. We checked into a very clean and spacious room with a great view of the lake. The restaurant was fantastic - great food, great staff. Will definately consider this location again for a weekend getaway. Satisfied customers.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    47
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
59
80
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

Being in the service industry my whole life I am extremely critical of the treatment I receive when patronizing another place of business. This can either make or break your experience.

My brother and I stumbled across this resort on a recent snowmobile trip from Bancroft. Our expectations were not only met but truly exceeded on all levels. The warm friendly staff were a pleasure to deal with during our stay and were incredibly accommodating making our brief stay very relaxing and enjoyable. We stayed in a chalet facing the water and enjoyed clean large rooms with great views of Golden Lake. The best part of our stay was dinner at the restaurant that evening...we both enjoyed a wonderful home cooked meal and a great dessert to follow.

We would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway where you can forget about all else during your stay.

Keep up the great work and attitude!

Room Tip: We stayed in chalet number two for one night and had no issues at all. Did not look at any other roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobden, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

A retreat for city and local folk! To find a place that had everything one needs to unwind and relax is difficult without having to travel a distance. Sand on Golden Lake has it all especially since the recent addition of a brand new chef in their restaurant. Our room was large, clean, modern, bright and due to the unusual balmy late-October day, I sat out on our balcony and read while listening to the waves on the shore. At night we slept with our balcony door opened a crack and we easily could have been sleeping along the Pacific ocean. The sounds of the waves lulled us into a deep sleep. There was the occasional transport that drove by but that did not have an impact on the overall experience. Now that the restaurant has moved up a few notches as far as the food is concerned, we can confidently recommend this hotel and restaurant to everyone. And now they even offer a spa on the premises. Heaven! You do not need to drive anywhere for your meals and the relaxing view, peacefulness and excellent service by the staff and especially by the owners will make you feel cared for, appreciated and you will leave feeling like a regular. A beautiful place to visit any season. Prices are extremely reasonable, too.

Room Tip: Room 3 is large with a balcony. Best room yet :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Renfrewshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

largest room yet we have had in a motel all modern facilitys and a balcony that we could watch a fantastic sunset
restaurant has a good varied menu and produced good food and service we stayed for 2 nights and had a leisurely excursion into Qubec region before returning for another pleasant evening/night.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaylena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012 via mobile

The Sands has an excellent location, very easy to get to. The restaurant offers good food at reasonable prices. The cottages are clean and modern. The service is excellent. My only concern is the highway noise. Considering all the other positives, the highway noise would not prevent me from coming here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lari1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haliburton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed for 3 days/nights with other family members for a very special family time. The rooms were large & inviting; the setting on Golden Lake beautiful, & the restaurant food selection was varied & delicious with excellent service. Staff very attentive & friendly. As I mentioned upon checking out we felt like we were "at a home away from home". Thanks to everyone who made our special time so special. Our family made lots of wonderful memories & we will definitely come back again.

Room Tip: We had a large air conditioned room at the far end on the 2nd floor which faced the lake & inclu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

A decent larger room overlooking Golden Lake. I reserved my room. The room temperature was set at 15 C, so it took about 2 hours for the room to warm up, but the room was warm in winter.

The restaurant had a good menu, but the grilled chicken was under cooked.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank just m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golden Lake
18.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pembroke
21.6 mi away
Petawawa River Inn & Suites
12.8 mi away
The Egan Inn
The Egan Inn
#1 of 3 in Eganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Greystone on Golden Lake
Greystone on Golden Lake
#1 of 1 in Golden Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
2.6 mi away
Goldenville Cottages Resort
14.1 mi away
Mountain View Motel
Mountain View Motel
#3 of 3 in Barry's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands on Golden Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands on Golden Lake

Property: Sands on Golden Lake
Address: 13163 Hwy 60 | Deacon, Golden Lake, Ontario K0J 1X0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Golden Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Golden Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sands on Golden Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal getaway with a pristine, sandy beach,lakeside spa treatments and Golden Lakes only lakeside dining room. A year-round retreat to enjoy nature hikes, ice skating & ATV/ snowmobile trails. Cozy up to your own private fireplace or jacuzzi - a welcoming guest room or chalet awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Sands on Golden Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands On Golden Lake Hotel Golden Lake
Sands On Golden Lake Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing