We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another fantastic welcome and stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Des Argousiers
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ambleteuse
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Another fantastic welcome and stay”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This was our second stay at Jennifer and her family's hotel in 6 months. The welcome and assistance we received this time was as good, if not better than last. As others have said the hotel is simple, clean and has everything you need but what sets it apart from the crowd is the service and friendliness of the hosts. Having taken both sets of parents we are thinking about who next we can share this haven with.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    67
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
167
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Since last year Jennifer has upgraded the ground floor rooms. They are all decorated in differing themes, and the en suit facilities are very smart and modern. We like the fact that the rooms are not the usual identikit facilities of the big hotel chains. We were fitted in on outbound trip - Jennifer had had a conference cancelled and took the chance to have drainage work done. She knows us well enough to let us stay even though the hotel was effectively closed. On return it was back to normal. Our camper had been folded in rain and Jennifer helped us unfold it in warm sunshine so it dried out, and we enjoyed a cuppa in the garden.
We had to leave at 4a.m. (late change by ferry company) so far too early for breakfast, but unasked Jennifer bundled up biscuits and checked we had tea and coffee so we could have something before we left. Looking forward to next year already.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet. One ground floor family arrangement with bath, otherwise showers on ground floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

A group of ten of us stayed at this hotel during a London to Paris bike ride. As you will have picked up from the other reviews, what makes this hotel outstanding is the welcome and unwavering service that you get from Jennifer. Nothing is too much trouble for her - we had our bikes in the room, dinner ordered and delivered from a local restaurant and we were allowed to keep our support car there for a few days. If you want to start a trip into France off on a great note, then stay here for a night or two. I thought the price was very reasonable, the rooms clean and functional and the location ideal.

Ambleteuse itself is nice, if a little run down. It is worth a trip to the coast, and well worth walk info down to see some of the interesting buildings.

Book rooms on the ground floor if you want to take your bikes...

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Colinhs9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Having paid 95€ for two people and a dog (including a 5% web discount and one free breakfast) expectations were high. First impressions were of a run down hotel with 2 signs (one showing 3* and one 2* which were not particularly inviting you to stay. My wife's immediate reaction was "what have we paid for - I'm not stopping". However reception was friendly and informative and our ground floor room larger that an Ibis. The bathroom was clean and modern but not to everyone's taste being floor to ceiling black tiles with 2 purple walls. The room was comfortable but only one upright chair - with a bit of re-organisation at least one comfy chair could be included without making the room feel cramped. The hotel grows on you - breakfast was very good with cereals, cold meats jams, mini coissants etc. On enquiring about food no where in the village was recommended - this was sad as next day I noticed that the restaurant menus were on the reception counter. No evening food was offered in the hotel.

The hotel was full the weekend we were there (half term and popular with Belgians) so it has great appeal. We had a good night's sleep (although at 6ft I prefer a rectangular pillow). The road outside was very quiet at night. The dunes and beach down the road were a great place to walk the dog.

Having a "garden view" room means you have a glazed door and no opening window. On departing my wife said she would come back - so it can't be that bad!

Room Tip: There are no windows in the ground floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TobyLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Des Argousiers is a small friendly hotel near Calais and Boulogne. We have used it for many years as our first and last night stopover for camping trips in France. Jennifer took it over a few years ago and as others have noted she is a perfect hostess - ever cheerful, helpful, and always genuinely concerned for ones welfare. Having worked in the UK she has excellent english. Despite her protestations she is also a good chef. The hotel always offered a continental breakfast but now also an evening menu. Her crepes and galettes are delicious and I loved her locally sourced artisan ice creams.
Ground floor rooms have en suite shower rooms and doors to an internal corridor and onto the garden. Upper floor rooms have bathrooms and patio on the roof. All are named rather than numbered, and are invariably spotless and provided with tea and coffee making facilities and TV.
On the edge of the village, and side-on to a minor road, it is very quiet. The hotel has a small car park, but also an enclosed grass parking area opposite which means there is always room for our camping trailer.
Although we have rarely had time to explore much of the village it is as others have described - very French and thus with at least 2 excellent restaurants just down the road from the hotel. One could easily stay amused for a much longer stay than we have had.
I have mixed feelings about writing this review. It would be nice to keep it a secret! However, Jennifer has worked so hard to turn a nice place into a lovely one, and deserves praise. Looking forward to staying there again this June - and my crepe is already booked!

Room Tip: For views and a bath go upper floor, for a shower and sitting in the garden stay at ground level. Ei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We arrived at ferry Saturday for a days shopping stocking up for Christmas, it was very windy and some sailings had been cancelled, at the port they was great, keeping us updated, more rough weather in the evening so we decided to stay at this lovely place, we had our car and it was a little drive but well worth it. Clean and friendly. Made our day trip in to a nice little break. Got ferry back next day, still little rough but no where ear as bad. Some people moaning, but it's not the ferry company at fault, it's just one of those things. It's called bad weather. We had a lovely time.

Room Tip: Good place for a stop over, they helped us lots with out late booking. Thanks
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2013

It's very rare to be welcomed at a hotel with so much enthusiasm and eagerness to ensure all your requirements are not only met but exceeded. That's what happened when we arrived at Des Argousiers and continued to happen throughout our short stay. Jennifer is the perfect host! She never seems to stop, or even sleep but is always there with a friendly word, a smile and whatever help you require. The rooms themselves are spotlessly clean, simple furnished for a short stay, but it is the service that makes this hotel stand out from others, from the moment you book to the moment you drive out the gates.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleteuse
5.6 mi away
Hotel de la Baie de Wissant
3.0 mi away
Hotel Atlantic
Hotel Atlantic
#1 of 5 in Wimereux
527 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel l'Escale
Hotel l'Escale
#1 of 1 in Escalles
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Samoria
Hotel Samoria
#1 of 2 in Audinghen
96 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Saint Jean
Hotel Saint Jean
#3 of 5 in Wimereux
257 reviews
12.5 mi away
Les Jardins d'Hardelot
Les Jardins d'Hardelot
#1 of 3 in Neufchatel-Hardelot
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Des Argousiers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Des Argousiers

Property: Hotel Des Argousiers
Address: 28 rue Georges Clemenceau, 62164 Ambleteuse, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Ambleteuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ambleteuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Des Argousiers 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Des Argousiers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing