We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Splendid”
Review of The Valley

The Valley
Ranked #6 of 23 Restaurants in Corbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$26 - US$65
Cuisines: Bangladeshi, Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Elegant Indian dining in a beautiful country setting- situated in one of the oldest station houses in the world.
Stanhope, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Splendid”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

First visit here for several years and it will not be as long before we go back again.... Simply first class food and service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JDougC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    45
    34
    11
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great trip out”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I arranged a birthday party with a difference. We booked the curry train to Corbridge, leaving Newcastle Central Station.
We were met at the station by two of the waiters (Dressed fabulously!) who distributed menus and led us to the train. On board we had drinks (you can bring your own if you want) and ordered our meal. The restaurant is right on the station so it was only a short walk to the bar and then into the eating area. The staff were friendly and atmosphere informal. The food was excellent, good choice of some dishes I've never heard of. We choose our starters and mains and the waiters brought a selection of dips, naan breads etc. We finished off with a chocolate dessert,which was a bit too much after the curry.
We were all given tickets for the return journey. It's about 30 mins travelling.
It's not cheap but neither is it extortionately priced. We will definitely go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A cracking night out to celebrate a 65th birthday.”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I booked this night out for 15 workmates whose age range was 20 to 67. We all had a great time. We were picked up at Central Station and escorted onto the train by a top man called Ali. Once aboard we placed our order,again with Ali's guidance, and with a quick drink. It took around 30 minutes to arrive at Corbridge. The scenery on the way was a pleasure. Once inside, and after a quick drink, we were taken upstairs to start our meal. The meal was great. Everyone seemed to order a different meal, and each meal was fantastic. The night seemed to fly over, but at no point did we feel rushed. The staff and venue are quality. The end of the night had to arrive and so did our train, which we all boarded, apart from two guys, who went out the wrong door. They missed the train, but on the plus side, they missed the train and we had a great laugh. Many thanks.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iain H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I was so looking forward to my meal, the food had always been excellent. What a disappointment. It was ok but that is was ok. I have had better food from a takeaway. Maybe the chef has changed, I don't know, but it was NOT the fantastic meal I expected.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Faultless favourite”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Always a long gap between visits, but never disappointed on return
Tremendous warm welcome, great service and fantastic food
Already looking forward to the next visit. Hopefully sooner than the last 7 year gap!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LeonXC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Valley also viewed

Corbridge, Northumberland
Corbridge, Northumberland
 
Corbridge, Northumberland
 
Corbridge, Northumberland
Corbridge, Northumberland
 

Been to The Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing