We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”
Review of The Hayes

The Hayes
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Corbridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hayes
Ranked #13 of 14 Corbridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed one night in this family home which was full of character. we were welcomed warmly and helped with our luggage. The room was clean and furnished in keeping with the age of the house. It was immaculately clean. Breakfast was good, coffee was fine and we were offered more toast without having to ask for it. I can only think that some of the previous reviewers wanted corporate bland.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2012

Reviewers below summarise the disappointing experience of staying in this B&B. The breakfast is as described below and in particular the coffee was the worst I have ever had. The rooms are sad and gloomy. There are many better B&Bs in Corbridge, shame we didn't stay in one of them. Grounds are beautiful - the only redeeming feature.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enigma_262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We stayed here enroute to the North East. I had re- warned our late arrival. We were greeted with a curt greeting and were then promptly told to pre-order breakfast. I stated I was not keen to order then and would prefer to wait until morning but was told in no uncertain terms that I had to since breakfast was at 8.30am sharp.
Our room was ok very much in a time warp. The bathroom was ok no mildew in the shower . However the whole place was in dire need of up dating in to the 21st century, The windows had secondary glazing so the room was not exceptionally warm - we had to put the fan heater on.
Breakfast was grim - toast and tea already on our table when we went down- so it was cold. The poached eggs were over cooked . We hastily made our escape but it took ages to check out.
I would not stay here again .

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twinkle6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

A lovely approach up the drive, but it was all downhill from there. It seemed the staff had left and the elderly couple were bravely soldiering on themselves. Mould in the shower and on the walls, small towels which didn't dry off overnight in the damp bathroom as the rusty heated towel rail didn't work, old poly cotton bedding -none of which matched, creaky wardrobe door, ordering breakfast before 10 at night and cold toast waiting for us at 8.30. (It had to be 8.30). Poached eggs were not poached but cooked in one of those little steamer pans. Ugh! Everywhere else was fully booked - only reason to stay. Nice garden though!!!

Room Tip: Lovely view of the garden from room 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AliAK264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Shabby, old fashioned B & B. We felt as if we were staying in a low standard retirement home. Poor quality linen in bedroom; minute shower room with rusty fittings. All the towels stank appallingly of cooking fat so we assumed they'd all been dried over the Aga while breakfast was fried!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Stayed for 1 night in this beautiful family home, rooms were large and very comfortable. Owners are very friendly and treat you as one of the family, a very substantial breakfast was offered which set us up nicely for walking Hadrians Wall. Four of us stayed and we all would certainly reccomend The Hayes.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthWestTravelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Corbridge is a very nice small town, with good shops and some decent places to eat ... we had visited before and wanted to have a more detailed look at the Roman site on our way south.
We found The Hayes on line and it certainly looked OK ....... but on arrival what an indifferent welcome ....
The house is furnished with an eclectic collection on old furniture .... some of it probably quite good but the general impression is of a sale room.
Our room was large and cold, with a double bed and two singles ...... very old fashioned but clean. There was a tiny television, a tea/coffee tray and an ensuite shower room of adequate size ... but the overall feeling was of gloom and despair.
Breakfast was at 8.30 sharp and was adequate. 'Get out of my house time' was 10.00.
Overall it took one back 50 years ..... except for the price ....142 pounds for two nights!!!
Could do better, probably very easily!!!!! Oh...and the internet connection did not work o either of our laptops, despite asking!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pelican65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corbridge
3.5 mi away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#3 of 14 in Corbridge
331 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wheatsheaf Hotel
Wheatsheaf Hotel
#5 of 14 in Corbridge
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Tap & Spile B&B
Tap & Spile B&B
#56 of 62 in Hexham
32 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dilston Mill B&B
Dilston Mill B&B
#8 of 14 in Corbridge
71 reviews
3.3 mi away
Coach & Horses
Coach & Horses
#59 of 62 in Hexham
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hayes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hayes

Address: The Hayes Newcastle Road, Corbridge NE45 5LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Corbridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Corbridge
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hayes 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Hayes Corbridge, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing