We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice b&b” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Matfen High House Bed and Breakfast

Matfen High House Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Corbridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Matfen High House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 15 Corbridge B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice b&b”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Jenny and Struan were very welcoming hosts and the cooked breakfast was delicious. Room large with large ensuite bathroom. Antique style decor not really to our taste but functioned perfectly well. The major downside was the hideously uncomfortably soft bed. At 4 months pregnant comfort is a priority and the sleepless night really did spoil an otherwise excellent stay.
The brewery next door is fantastic and there are lots of lovely local walks.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loveroftravel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    12
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
7
18
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

we came here as a base to attend a funeral. B&B's are scarse on the ground in this part of the world and after a frustrating search I turned to Alister Sawdays guide to get some help. We have never put a foot wrong using this guide and once again we were delighted with our accomodation.
The house is a classic sturdy farm house with panoramic views of stunning countryside. Our room was huge, and the bathroom seemed to have been fashioned out of a corridor, meaning we had a huge wide and long space. Our daughter was able to tear around and stretch her legs after a long 7 hour drive up there.
The bedroom was not only extremley large and comfortable it was also full of antique furntiure, the largest most handsome wardrobe I have ever seen, a beautiful ornate bed, lovley pieces of decorative china, an antique cot. The bed was softer than what we have at home but for our short stay was very comfortable, it enveloped us and kept us cosy and warm whilst the wind whistled outside.
Right next door was a tastefully done out Micro Brewary with an excellent reasonably priced resturant with the most helpful congenial staff. Again, after a 7 hour drive it was a blessing to be able to walk round the corner to this place.
Our hosts were amiable and helpful and made us feel relaxed and comfortable.
My only slight critism would be that we were not shown the guest lounge advertised. This didnt affect us at all, our room was plenty large enough and we were out most of the time during our stay but this may be needed by others.....
Breakfast was good, in a dining room filled with oil paintings of country scenes and antique furnture.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizeratsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

I have read the other reviews and I can't deny the charm of the Farm House and the owners. Struan was very helpful arranging to take us to the local pub for dinner and... collecting us after dinner.
The rooms were a good size and the shower/bath hot. Just what we needed after a days walking.
Two of our group stayed in a room with horse hair matresses... 60+ years old. Whilst this may add to the charm of the property the beds were uncomfortable and in the end it was more comfortable on the floor! This is not what you need after a 22 mile walk.
This house may work for you and be just what you are looking for but we would not go there again. The bedding was tired and worn out. Traditional was actually spooky and the decor tired and grubby.
Given a choice I would suggest you go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Don't take the room with horse hair matresses!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carriepalmer007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

My Mum and I spent a night at Matfen High House whilst walking Hadrian's wall. After a long, muddy day of walking we were shown to a wonderful room with a lovely bath and the hottest shower I've ever had - just lovely!!

The hosts were both very friendly and gave us a couple of very helpful tips about walking the wall.

Breakfast was delicious - a full cooked breakfast along with treats such as a plum compote straight from the garden.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

We stayed here whilst walking "Hadrian's wall". We were picked up from the Swan at Heddon on the wall after eating our evening meal. We were shown to a huge luxurious bedroom which was very nicely decorated and a lovely big bathroom where we could enjoy a bubble bath after a day walking - just perfect! The hosts were very knowledgable about the area and provided us with a fantastic cooked breakfast the following morning. Lovely comfortable bed and beautiful surroundings - just wish we had time to visit the brewery next door!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 85walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

We spent our second night of our 84 mile hike on Hadrian's Wall at Matfen High House. We had hiked 10 miles and stopped at Robin Hood Inn to call for directions. We were instructed to walk across a field and turn into the woods contnue up until we came upon the house. It was a most interesting way to approach where we were spending the night. We were greeted by Mr. Struan Wilson, the proprietor of the property. After climbing over the wall from the field to his property we were directed to huge room on the second floor. Struan offered tea which my husband enjoyed as I took a short nap. Ms. Wilson kindly drove us down to the Robin Hood Inn where we met 4 lads who were traveling on the Wall in the opposite direction. After sharing stories and pints we parted ways and were retrieved by Mrs. Wilson. That night we slept warmly as the weather was fantastic. We enjoyed a nice English breakfast the next morning and set off on our way

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbarber726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

This accommodation is a large house attached to a farm. Most of the farm has now been become a brewery with a visitors centre. The owners of the house could not be nicer - rooms are spacious and comfortable - everything you would expect from a nice B and B. The bonus for this place is High House Farm micro-brewery next door. The brewery has a restaurant (see web site for opening) serving excellent food.

Only a mile from the Hadrian's Wall path - through a field and a small wood - this place is well worth a visit.

Don't confuse this location with Matfen Hall which is the picture at the top of the entry.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveSKeighley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corbridge
0.0 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
0.0 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Dyvels Inn
The Dyvels Inn
#1 of 15 in Corbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dilston Mill B&B
Dilston Mill B&B
#7 of 15 in Corbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hadrians Barn
Hadrians Barn
#3 of 6 in Heddon-on-the-Wall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#4 of 15 in Corbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matfen High House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matfen High House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Matfen High House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Corbridge NE20 0RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Corbridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Corbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 53
Also Known As:
Matfen High House Hotel Corbridge
Matfen High House b&b
Matfen High House Bed And Breakfast Corbridge, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing