We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab fab fab”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Matfen High House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 14 Corbridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 September 2012 via mobile

Being welcomed by Struan after a long day was like being welcomed by an old family friend, he provided towels and brushes to sort out our dirty dog, and washed and dried our trousers for nothing!!! The rooms were fab, all with original furniture and fittings, massive bath with selection of bubble bath. Our family room was occupied by 3 adults and the zed bed was the only minus point but apart from that it was fab. Breakfast was fab, as much food as you wanted lots of pots of tea, home baked bread and marmalade, when can I move in????
Another bonus was that it was next door to a brewery that did food!!! Excellent!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rozzie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2012

Jenny and Struan were first class hosts and looked after us beautifully in their peaceful, traditional farmhouse. Struan picked us up from Heddon and dropped us off again for the start of our walk the next morning. The bedroom was large and comfortable and I slept like a log. Breakfast was excellent too. I can recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingtutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Matfen High House can be tricky to find if your rained off the normal Hardian's Wall Track path. It is marked off the sunken track buy not off the road. Once you have found the marker (You can take the farm road and follow for a mile), it is a really nice one mile walk across fields, through the wood to the beautiful house. You can call Struan or Jenny and they are happy to pick you up from the Robin Hood Pub. Once you arrive at the house Jenny and Struan are a delight. we arrived with one of our party with a twisted knee and all of us wet and muddy. 45 minutes later, treated, boot room to clean up and boiler proivided for drying boots, and hot baths all round things were vastly improved.
The rooms were very well appointed, clean, comfortable and cosy. The common rooms were lovely and carried a hunting theme of pictures and paintings. Breakfast was excellent and after the walkers were on the way, Jenny very kindly gave our injured party a lift into Hexham for medical treatment.
Beautiful country, lovely house, great rest, smashing food and hosts who could not have done more to help. Thank you for a really super night.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed at this B&B on the second day of our Hadrian's Wall Path hike. This day was the most miserable of our hike as it rained non-stop all day. However, upon arriving at this establishment, the owners welcomed us and helped us place all our wet clothes on hanging lines in their furnace room which easily dried them by morning. Our rooms and breakfast were probably the best of the entire hike and the house was beautiful and was the type B&B most Americans think of as being in England with lots of wood beams, pictures, and curios. The rooms were large and very comfortable. The B&B was a reasonable distance from the trail and next door to a local brewery and pub. All in all, I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed here on day 3 of walking Hadrian's Wall with Mac adventure tours. We finished our walk at the Robin Hood pub at 17-30, so stayed for a meal and a few pints before going to Matfen House. When we rang up to tell them, they said no problem and I'll pick you up from the pub to save you the mile walk. This is a large farm house with very big rooms. OK so the decor of the rooms are maybe not to everyone's taste, but this is not a chain hotel. It's someone's home. The breakfast was as good as you'll get anywhere and more then enough for us.

The next statement is just a personal view. The owners where prefect, willing to help in every way, but I for one felt a little uncomfortable staying there. The owners are of a different social class to me. That was not a problem to them, but I got the feeling that we was invading their home. That is why I say that this B&B would be a perfect place for any visitor from abroad to stay if only to get the flavour of how a country squire lives.

Would I return? With regret I have to stay maybe not. Again a personal thing, nothing to do with Matfen High House, more to do with me.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ian480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Maften High House is an extraordinary B & B!
Geat welcome, good night's sleep in a comfortable bed, excellent breakfast and fine hospitality!
It's a good job that the brewery next door was closed (Wednesday), otherwise I could have been dreaming!.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank distantmemory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Jenny and Struan were very welcoming hosts and the cooked breakfast was delicious. Room large with large ensuite bathroom. Antique style decor not really to our taste but functioned perfectly well. The major downside was the hideously uncomfortably soft bed. At 4 months pregnant comfort is a priority and the sleepless night really did spoil an otherwise excellent stay.
The brewery next door is fantastic and there are lots of lovely local walks.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loveroftravel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corbridge
0 mi away
The Beaumont Hexham, Hotel
0 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#4 of 14 in Corbridge
338 reviews
0 mi away
The Golden Lion
The Golden Lion
#3 of 14 in Corbridge
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Robin Hood Inn
The Robin Hood Inn
#7 of 14 in Corbridge
69 reviews
0 mi away
Wheatsheaf Hotel
Wheatsheaf Hotel
#5 of 14 in Corbridge
188 reviews
0 mi away
Dilston Mill B&B
Dilston Mill B&B
#8 of 14 in Corbridge
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matfen High House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matfen High House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Corbridge NE20 0RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Corbridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Corbridge
Price Range: £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Matfen High House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matfen High House Hotel Corbridge
Matfen High House b&b
Matfen High House Bed And Breakfast Corbridge, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing