We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super stay, very welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Matfen High House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 14 Corbridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We booked all the rooms with extras on the floor! Struan and Jenny accommodated all of us which was just great. The huge dining room and fabulous breakfast topped off our weekend perfectly. Hope to return soon Thank you

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brucey18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stopped here for one night while walking Hadrian's Wall - absolutely fantastic! Great accommodation, wonderful breakfast - in fact by far the best we have ever had, lovely and much welcome bath, excellent host - thanks Struan!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 916Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Matfen High House is about a mile from Robin Hood Inn which is on the Hadrian's wall trail. You walk next to fields and through a woodland, over streams and there stands Matfen House. We received a warm welcome and had a very large and comfortable bedroom with French period furnishings. Jenny provided an excellent breakfast in the morning which rated with the best we had during our walk on Hadrian's wall. A lovely B&B in a beautiful rural setting.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeithandHelenF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Another one of my stop-off points while walking the Hadrian's Wall Trail... It's a mile off the Trail and the sign for it can be spotted just after the Robin Hood pub if you are heading westwards... you can reach it easily enough on foot by traversing a wood and crossing some fields... Struan and Jenny are great hosts and raconteurs, very helpful and knowledgeable about the Trail [e.g. got a nice tip re. the Roman bridge at Chesters]... They will run you up to the Robin Hood for dinner and collect you afterwards... The room itself was comfy and had a bathroom [a few thousand walkers just punched the air in delight] with lovely hot water... The cooked breakfast was VERY tasty and the home-made bread is highly recommended...

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

A pleasant enough stay, but the main thing to mention here is the breakfast, a vast amount of cereals to choose from, freshly baked bread and a lovely cooked breakfast. the hosts are keen to help and drove us to and from the robin hood inn for food in the evening.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deejay153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012 via mobile

Being welcomed by Struan after a long day was like being welcomed by an old family friend, he provided towels and brushes to sort out our dirty dog, and washed and dried our trousers for nothing!!! The rooms were fab, all with original furniture and fittings, massive bath with selection of bubble bath. Our family room was occupied by 3 adults and the zed bed was the only minus point but apart from that it was fab. Breakfast was fab, as much food as you wanted lots of pots of tea, home baked bread and marmalade, when can I move in????
Another bonus was that it was next door to a brewery that did food!!! Excellent!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rozzie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Jenny and Struan were first class hosts and looked after us beautifully in their peaceful, traditional farmhouse. Struan picked us up from Heddon and dropped us off again for the start of our walk the next morning. The bedroom was large and comfortable and I slept like a log. Breakfast was excellent too. I can recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingtutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corbridge
0 mi away
The Beaumont Hexham, Hotel
0 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#5 of 14 in Corbridge
337 reviews
0 mi away
The Golden Lion
The Golden Lion
#3 of 14 in Corbridge
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Robin Hood Inn
The Robin Hood Inn
#7 of 14 in Corbridge
69 reviews
0 mi away
Wheatsheaf Hotel
Wheatsheaf Hotel
#4 of 14 in Corbridge
188 reviews
0 mi away
Dilston Mill B&B
Dilston Mill B&B
#8 of 14 in Corbridge
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matfen High House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matfen High House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Corbridge NE20 0RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Corbridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Corbridge
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Matfen High House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matfen High House Hotel Corbridge
Matfen High House b&b
Matfen High House Bed And Breakfast Corbridge, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing