We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so good on this occaision” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Bull

Black Bull
Ranked #1 of 24 Restaurants in Corbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
highcliffe
Level Contributor
74 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not so good on this occaision”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

I and members of my family usually visit this restaurant once a year (I live on the South Coast) and in the past I have usually been pleased with my meal.
This visit however proved somewhat different.
I had a bread and olive starter which was OK but for mains I chose a Game Pie with veg and chips.
The veg were OK but the pie was very poor. The pastry (probably 85% of the pie) was extremely thick, and the filling, although very tasty, was mainly sauce and included a few small cubes of meat which tasted more like beef than game. The chips were dreadful. I hate oven chips, and if these weren't oven chips, then they were very poorly fried.
I should add however that the other six members of my family were all very happy with their meals.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barrysview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    252
    79
    29
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Quiet and enjoyable evening meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Really enjoyed my second evening meal at The Black Bull, though perhaps the younger male staff serving did lack smiles and enthusiasm.

Food is of a good standard, with a large and diverse selection of dishes, and there are a couple of vegetarian options in each section of the menu. The atmosphere is quiet and friendly, which I like. The fire was going and made the place feel cosy. A lovely place to visit for a sit down meal and conversation.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Not impressed!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Firstly, please can the female staff be more friendly and learn to smile??? It costs nothing to be pleasant and the woman and girl here when we visited looked like they'd lost a tenner and found a bottle top!!!

The food was average, surroundings ok but service lacking and it'll make me think twice about coming back.

We are local and normally choose this place over other eateries in the village but being greeted by such miserable staff nearly put me off my food.

It might be a while before we return to this place.

Helpful?
1 Thank billyridley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Visited here 2nd April at lunch time.
Our food consisted of two sizzling Chicken Fajitas, Smothered Chicken with Chips and a pulled pork Pork sandwich.
The Sandwich was dry and cold my wife found it difficult to eat.
The Chicken Fajitas were also cold with tiny pots of cheese, guacamole, salsa and sour cream. The wraps that came with it were cold and of poor quality. There was also no fresh salad with this dish which considering the tiny size of the Salsa ect would have improved the dish considerably. Both myself and my eldest daughter both agreed these were the worst fajitas we have ever had.
The Smothered chicken was the only acceptable dish but even then it was let down by poor quality chips.
There are other places to eat in Corbridge and we will check these out soon.
We wont be going back to the Black Bull.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mick362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Rather Disappointing - Must Try Harder.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

It has been an number of years since I visited The Black Bull Inn in the lovely Northumberland market town of Corbridge. On arrival at this rather busy pub you are greeted by friendly bar staff. However, it is very noticeable that the pubs decor, furniture and fittings are now looking a little out dated. Our choice of food today ranged from a chicken and bacon sandwich with chips to half a roast chicken with salad. Overall the sandwich was quite tasty despite one side of the bread being very dry. The spoonful of salad that accompanied the sandwich was very disappointing. With regards to the half roast chicken and salad, again I can only say an average meal prepared with little effort or love for food. I do believe there are other pubs in this market town offering better value for money, so chose wisely when visiting Corbridge.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WoodlandsHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Bull also viewed

Corbridge, Northumberland
Corbridge, Northumberland
 
Corbridge, Northumberland
 

Been to Black Bull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing