We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maureen B "Relaxing long weekend in a wonderful setting"”
Review of Dilston Mill B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dilston Mill B&B
Ranked #8 of 14 Corbridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Stayed 3 nights in spacious studio in a superb setting. Own door let you come and go whenever. We opted and enjoyed the self-serve continental breakfast which included selection of meats, salami and cheeses. Also good selection of cereals and fresh fruit and variety of breads and croissants - option of cooked breakfast! Wonderful hospitality and nothing too much trouble to a great hostess.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2012

Quality location. Quality accommodation. Quality food. Quality hostess. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Three of us stayed for two nights in the lovely, two-bedroomed "Private Suite" which consists of a double bedroom and twin bedroom on the first floor of the millhouse (there is also a self-contained "Studio" double bedroom available on the ground floor which can be kept totally separate with its own front door). We had amazing views over the river from both our bedrooms and from the kitchen area, where you can relax in the evening and have a self-serve breakfast in the morning. Susan, the owner, who is friendly and very knowledgeable about the area, welcomed us and showed us around, explaining how things worked and the breakfast options. We chose to have the self-serve option (although a cooked breakfast was available) and this consisted of fresh orange juice, cereals, fruit bread, bread (toaster available), croissants, jams, honey and a selection teas and coffees. There was also a choice of cold meats and sliced cheeses or smoked salmon and cream cheese. The fridge and bread-bin were stocked up for us the evening before, ready for us to help ourselves in the morning at whatever time suited us. The rooms were comfortable, warm, clean and well equiped. The bathroom is shared between the two rooms in the Private Suite and has a large walk-in shower with warm towels.

The gardens surrounding the mill are lovely to wander around and there are chairs and tables so you can sit and enjoy the river. Young children would need to be supervised in the garden as the river can be very fast flowing and is not fenced off.

This was a wonderful place to stay and we would highly recommend it for a relaxing break. It is very convenient for visiting Corbridge, Hexham and the surrounding villages and we would love to go back to Dilston Mill.

Room Tip: The "Private Suite" consists of two rooms on the first floor which both have views of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Three of us stayed in the 2-bedroom suite in the mill. The rooms were very comfortable and warm, the bathroom and kitchen were of very high standard and Susan, the owner, could not have done more to make our stay delightful. We opted for the cooked breakfast, which comprised local produce, homemade jam and marmalade and an enormous choice of breads, cereals, juices, coffee etc. The millstream provided a beautiful backdrop and its gentle noise at night was soothing. We would certainly stay there again and would loved to explore the area when we have more time.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mowglip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Location is fabulous - the setting is very tranquil, set beside a river in lovely gardens, whilst Hexham is only a short drive away. I stayed in the studio which was very spacious and comfortable, with the convenience/independence of it's own front door. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and would return again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed 3 nights in the studio room. The room was large, light and airy, the bed was comfortable.There was a fab en-suite walk-in shower plus a bath. Susan was very pleasant and could not do enough for you.
We particularly liked the independence of having our own front door, and enjoying our breakfast when we were ready for it. There was plenty of choice, and the smoked salmon was excellent.
It is an easy walk, or in our case cycle, into town for supper. Susan recommended the black bull and we ate there every night it was so good.
I would definitely recommend it. The gardens are beautiful.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willoDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

The Dilston Mill B&B is one of a kind. It is located in a beautiful garden setting, with the Devils Water River flowing by. The Studio, where we stayed for two nights, was reclaimed from the old mill building and designed as a B&B by Susan, the owner. It is extremely well done. The only small disappointment, as noted by others, is the lack of a direct walk-out to the riverside garden. We had never stayed at a "self-service" B&B and were pleasantly surprised. Having selected our breakfast options the night before and having them available in our own mini-kitchen, made for very relaxing mornings - much like a weekend at home. Susan is a wonderful host and supplied us with books and local travel information and places to eat in the nearby town of Corbridge. This place is terrific. I cannot recommend it too highly.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hhoffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corbridge
2.5 mi away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
8.7 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,162 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#3 of 14 in Corbridge
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Slaley Hall
Slaley Hall
#1 of 1 in Slaley
3,027 reviews
4.8 mi away
Fairshaw Rigg
Fairshaw Rigg
#1 of 1 in Low Gate
252 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hallbank Guest House
Hallbank Guest House
#23 of 62 in Hexham
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dilston Mill B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dilston Mill B&B

Address: Dilston Mill, Corbridge NE45 5QZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Corbridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Corbridge
Price Range: £99 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dilston Mill B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOMEWHERE SPECIAL: short breaks. That weekend feeling, all week, all year.Historic converted watermill; lovely riverside setting. Close to Corbridge, Hexham, Hadrian's Wall. Private Suite (2--4): Double and twin bedrooms, shower room, cosy breakfast room, all overlooking the river. The Studio (2): Spacious ground floor room; easy access. King size double bed, bath and shower, kitchen area. Generous breakfasts -- help yourself when you want; for the more independent visitor. Teas, coffee, biscuits, fresh fruit always available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms and HotelsClick so you can book your Dilston Mill B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dilston Mill B&B Corbridge, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing