We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“well prepared food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Piccolo

Il Piccolo
Ranked #12 of 24 Restaurants in Corbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Il Piccolo is a well-established Italian restaurant, run by Sicilian chef, Manuele Orto, wife Pam, and their friendly team. The restaurant is flanked by its intimate Stuzzico wine and tapas bar on the left and an airy delicatessen and ice cream parlour on the right. Corbridge is a beautiful village by the River Tyne, near Hadrian's Wall, full of independent shops to browse. Open Tuesday 10-4.30 and Weds-Sat 10am-10.30pm.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“well prepared food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

generous portions of solidly cooked food. King prawn dishes good value pizza on the slightly expensive side. wine available by the glass from the wine bar attached. amiable service Good place to go for a celebration.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jock16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    52
    17
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“lovely!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Fantastic meal, good choice, really helpful and willing to amend the menu as I'm gluten free. They also had gluten free pasta available!!

Mid price range, but large portions - could only just manage the main course. Lovely touches such as bread (family said it was nice) and olives on the table as well as a jug of water waiting.

Staff lovely and friendly without being over familiar. Good atmosphere, tables far enough apart not to encroach.

Only there on holiday which is a shame as it would become one of my favourite restaurants otherwise!

Definitely would recommend it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kassa59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Totally chilled”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

On a very sultry night we decided to have tapas in the wine bar rather than a full meal in the restaurant ( where we've visited a number of times)
Spicy prawns were delicious as was the pâté, bruschetta and olives. Lovely relaxed and welcoming atmosphere and quite busy for a Wednesday . We are lucky to consider il pics to be close enough to be a "local". Will obviously be visiting again...and again...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank oaklea_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Il Piccolo, Corbridge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We live in Corbridge and have been here a number of times. The food is always great and the wine list is interesting. The staff are very friendly and helpful, especially the lady manager.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jamesNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not terrible - but not particularly brilliant either”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

First of all the good points - the interior is very nicely done and the female owner who is front-of-house is absolutely delightful. The food, however, was nothing spectacular in my opinion, and certainly under-seasoned; and although the portions are generous I think the menu is a little pricey for what it is. I was also rather surprised that nobody came to check how our meal was after the food did arrive - and the house salad I ordered had obviously been forgotten, when it did arrive about 5-10 minutes after asking, no apology was forthcoming. That being said, it seems to have a loyal following - it certainly wasn't dreadful but I wouldn't make a point of going again next time I'm in the area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Monkeyduster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Piccolo also viewed

Corbridge, Northumberland
Corbridge, Northumberland
 
Corbridge, Northumberland
Corbridge, Northumberland
 
Corbridge, Northumberland
Corbridge, Northumberland
 

Been to Il Piccolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing