We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breakfast even though they don't do it.....”
Review of Tea and Tipple

Tea and Tipple
Ranked #4 of 5 Coffee & Tea in Corbridge
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: this is a cafe on the market place in corbridge in Northumberland about 5 miles from hexham nad 20 miles from Newcastle
Wall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Breakfast even though they don't do it.....”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I was in Corbridge at 9.30 on Saturday and wanted a quick breakfast before an appointment. After first being somewhat abruptly rejected from the Larder (who don't do breakfast until 10am) I tried this place as a last resort as time was now tight. What lovely staff which I know is contrary to other reviews but speak as you find. I asked for breakfast to be told they don't do it but if I wanted they could do me some toast which as I was in a rush sounded fine. The toast turned out to be three slices of what looked like lovely home baked bread which came with a slab of beautiful butter and some scrummy jam. Just what I wanted!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Izzyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    44
    23
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Blown another chance!”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Oh dear! Gave this place another chance last week and popped in for lunch with my Mum as it was her birthday. What a mistake. Again! Staff still grumpy and rather slow to clear dirty tables. Ordered a chicken caesar salad and was shocked at what eventually appeared! A pile of leaves with a splash of watery dressing and a couple of cubes of rubbery chicken piled on the top! That was it. The waitress obviously saw my shock and brought me a couple of croutons! This really will be the last time. :(

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KRoNewcastleUponTyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Shame they didn't cater for every1s needs!”
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Don't do decaf, don't do skimmed milk, don't do white bread!!!
What about people's dietary requirements???!!!
Staff didn't seem bothered and used a 'shrug of the shoulders'- I left because they didn't offer any solutions and again informed me they used brown bread only.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A decent lunch”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Went in as the place looked busy and bustling. No tables inside for just a couple of minutes and then a member of staff said that some people had just paid so a table would soon be ready. We felt that the staff were somewhat neutral - neither friendly or otherwise. The sandwiches were well filled and the salad and dressing were good. 2 good sized cups of tea for each of us in the pot. Just a bit more friendliness from the staff would have put the experience up a notch. By the way, what's with the antlers? We spotted 3 sets but no venison on the menu.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank glasshalffull01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxed Lunch - excellent food”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Lunchtime and not overly busy - the atmosphere was friendly and relaxed, the broccoli and Stilton soup was good. Coffee was spot on too! We has no issues with the service offered - it was friendly and attentive. Oh and yes the ginger and Guinness cake was very good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tea and Tipple also viewed

 
Corbridge, Northumberland
Corbridge, Northumberland
 

Been to Tea and Tipple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing