We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aydon Castle

Aydon Castle
Ranked #3 of 8 things to do in Corbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

It looks completely off the beaten path but in reality is about a mile out of Corbridge down an obscure, but perfectly accessible, country lane. It's a fascinating walled house that really helps you understand the challenges that abounded living through the middle ages in Northumbria. If you're a historian or archaeologist, then you'll have great fun spotting the different periods that each feature belongs to.

I don't normally recommend the guides that English Heritage sells, but the one for Aydon Castle is well written and does provide that extra something to understanding the buildings.

It's also a welcome relief from all the Roman sites in the area! The centre manager was also really knowledgeable and enthusiastic about the site, which was a definite plus.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Huntingdon1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    43
    10
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure, not to be missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Had passed the sign to this historic property many times en route to holidays in Northumberland, decided to go explore this time. Not disappointed at all. It's well worth the visit. Amazing place, plenty to see, do the guidebook tour or just wander either way it's a great way to spend a couple of hours. The staff are excellent, friendly, knowledgable and it's simply as other reviews say 'a hidden gem'. 5*!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CT742014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Aydon Castle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Not to be missed especially if there is an event on. The medieval days are great fun for all the family

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brundall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track and not roman!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

This is a little far out down a road which has clearly seen better times. However the drive was worst it as the castle is surrounded by some lovely peaceful surroundings. It isn't Roman so that's a plus point and also it's a bit different as it is more a fortified house than a castle.
The castle site is down a little track from the car park. Once inside there is a little shop as always selling the guide book. We didn't both with the book and because we are EH members we didn't pay, I can however see how it could seem a little pricy. There were a few panels but as with other reviewers I did feel they were a bit sparse. There was what appeared to be an under croft from the shop but there was no explanation to what this actually was.
The staff member was very friendly though explaining about the castle, where to go and also pointing out this was where poor old pj (Ant) in Bikergrove had his paintball incident. Quite amusing really they would come to such a far flung place to shoot that but hey!
Overall 4 stars as no tea room and also a few more panels of explanation wouldn't go amiss.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank KateShakespeareWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

What a find- we happened upon this by pure accident on our way back from Hadrians Wall-its not signposted from the main road and the signpost we did spot was right on the junction so easy to miss! Yes its down a little road but there as passing places and its not very far so dont let that put you off. This place is pretty much intact and upstanding, I agree there isnt a lot of info in the house itself which needs to be improved upon, the guide book however is only a few pounds and worth it (I never buy guide books). The guardian was very helpful and knowledgeable and is very keen to hear ideas on how to imporve the experience of this amazing place. We even got mobbed by swallows inside the great hall. I actually preferred itwith very little clutter and furniture in there, you really get to see the different stages of development of the house and the actual space that is there. It would be an amazinf place to get married.
The bank was full of wild garlic when wevisited giving a wonderfully pungent smell and I can imagine the kitchen staff utilising the herbs from the local area.
Take the time to visit, its just a few pounds, plenty of space for kids to roam and for families to picnic.
English Heritage- these little sites are worth far more investment than they currently get as you get soo much closer to the real lives of people, take note, you could make so much more of this site if you tried- its not even mentioned at the close by Roman sites-come on you are missing a trick here.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CalHorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aydon Castle also viewed

 
Corbridge, Northumberland
Hexham, Northumberland
 

Been to Aydon Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing