We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly place”
Review of Wheatsheaf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wheatsheaf Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Corbridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights on a KGB deal. Pleasant room and good value for money. Breakfast was very good and a set menu for KGB clients for the evening meal. Corbridge is a very pretty town and is a great base for visiting surrounding areas.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sumar_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
There are newer reviews for Wheatsheaf Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed recently on a KGB deal for 2 days and really enjoyed it. The Wheatsheaf is conveniently located for visiting Corbridge. There is a private gated car park and you are provided with keys to let yourself in the back of the hotel at any time.

Our room was very clean, nicely decorated and fresh towels and re-fills of tea and coffee etc provided each day. There was free wifi available. We were in a bedroom at the front and over the bar but our sleep was not disturbed at all.

The breakfasts were excellent and the evening meal from a set menu was also good. The staff at The Wheatsheaf were friendly, attentive and efficient.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank besidetheseasider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed at the Wheatsheaf recently on a KGB deal. Nice friendly people, a pleasant room and great food. Excellent value for money and very good to have secure on-site parking. Corbridge is a good base for the Hadrian's Wall area and Corbridge itself is a charming town. If we return to the area we will definitely stay at the Wheatsheaf again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We booked 2 nights at the Wheatsheaf through a KGB deal and were not disappointed. The first thing on my hotel room wish list is always cleanliness and the Wheatsheaf ensured their rooms and bathrooms were extremely clean. The rooms were in an old building that had been recently renovated to a modern and high standard. Everything you needed was in the room and it was clean clean clean. The breakfast wasn't skimpy in the least and the staff were so friendly and pleasant. The village of Corbridge surpised me in that it was a lovely place (far smaller and prettier than Hexham) with lots of little shops and places to eat. I would recommend staying at the Wheatsheaf even if there wasn't a deal to be had. There are some nice walks around Corbridge and we didn't need to move the car for two days as we could get everywhere we needed on foot. I hope the wheatsheaf continues to flourish. It deserves to.

Room Tip: We has room 3 which wasn't huge but it wasn't connected and seemed to be away from other roo...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Letsdoit2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We've just spent 2 days in Room 3, which is clean and comfortable and the perfect size for a couple. It has a Victorian fireplace and contemporary oak furniture, with plenty of storage. There is a tv, telephone and tea/ coffee/ hot chocolate making facilities. Free Wi-Fi is available. There is a good, clean, updated bathroom with a decent shower. All areas were immaculately clean when we arrived and serviced and restocked again for the second day.
There is some traffic noise, as the hotel is on the corner of the northern route through the village, but we didn't find it intrusive with the window closed. (The traffic has to slow for the bend, which reduces engine noise output). There was very little overnight traffic, so our sleep was not disturbed in our comfortable bed. To one side of us was a stock cupboard and we didn't hear any noise from the other adjacent room.
Breakfast was served in the conservatory dining room, which is light and airy. There are only 6 guest bedrooms, so the maximum number of people breakfasting will always be 12, ensuring a calm atmosphere. You should get a seat near a window to enjoy views through to the hills. The breakfast itself has a limited menu as would be expected with so few guests. However, you can select items from a full breakfast or choose eggs on toast. We are vegetarian and we opted for poached egg, mushrooms and tomato, which arrived perfectly prepared on both days.
On our voucher deal, a three course evening meal was included. Again, the menu is limited, but alternatives were offered for a gluten free diet and we left the table feeling very full!
This is a good, well managed small hotel in a fine stone building. All areas were clean and well serviced on our visit. Staff are professional and helpful, without being intrusive.
On a voucher deal, it is remarkable value for money. We enjoyed our stay, have no complaints and are likely to return.
(Corbridge itself is an unspoilt village of mellow stone, great just to stroll around, with interesting shops in snickety places. Make sure you look behind the church and behind the petrol station if you like quirky and vintage/ antique items. There is a wide choice of good pubs and cafes. It is also an excellent location for exploring further afield. This time, we enjoyed Kirkharle courtyard and lake and then moved on a little way to the delightful walled garden at Wallington).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed here for two nights. Very comfortable room (5) with nice views towards Hexham. Good bed and very clean shower room. Not a great choice for breakfast but all usual suspects are offered and it is all very good quality but be aware they only serve from 7 - 9am. Not good if you fancy a lie in as we did (post wedding). Good secure car park at rear of building is very handy as parking is difficult in the town.Very friendly and helpful couple run the place. Would stay again if in the area. 8/10

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CWAiton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We have just returned from a two night stay where we booked four rooms for some of our wedding party. We had a superb meal for 11 of us on the Thursday evening, good honest food served really well. The rooms had everything we needed, very comfortable and clean and quiet. Our whole stay was great and all of the staff made us feel very welcome and went the extra mile!
We will return another day to enjoy the area. Thank you so much.

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Middleagedcouple25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corbridge
5.7 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
704 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
5.1 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#3 of 14 in Corbridge
327 reviews
5.5 mi away
Slaley Hall
Slaley Hall
#1 of 1 in Slaley
2,981 reviews
3.2 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#8 of 62 in Hexham
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheatsheaf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheatsheaf Hotel

Address: St. Helens Street, Corbridge NE45 5HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Corbridge
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Corbridge
Hotel Class:4 star — Wheatsheaf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and LateRooms so you can book your Wheatsheaf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheatsheaf Hotel Corbridge, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing