We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valentines Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Angel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Angel Inn
Ranked #5 of 15 Corbridge B&B and Inns
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Valentines Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Booked into the restaurant for valentines day. We enjoyed a cocktail in the martini bar before we went up to the restaurant to be seated. It was busy, but well-run. Service was quick, polite & efficient. We both had the devil chilli cheese souffle to start which was a perfect size and delicious. Then we both had the fillet steak, which was the best I have ever experienced. Everything about the food was perfect. I love that they serve prosecco by the glass!

We dine here all of the time, it has a relaxed lounge area you can also eat in and in the bar. Always busy which shows just how good it is. Excellently located, with a carpark, so it is a good idea to go there for lunch then look around the shops in corbridge. (It is usually very hard to get parked anywhere in Corbridge except here!). Sunday lunch is also very good.

The only negative I can think of is that it is a bit pricey, but I think it's well worth it!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georginag798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    95
    45
    35
    16
See reviews for
58
128
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights, arrived on Sun at about 4:15 very hungry so checked in dropped our bags in the room and back down for food, we both ordered the beef roast, it was fantastic, thick pieces of meat with veg and potatoes and lots of gravy, £12 each expensive but very nice Room 4 well what can I say, hot, hot, hot turned all the radiators off opened Windows but had to use my shoe to keep the window open, no view, extraction fan from kitchen right outside bedroom window, and loud music from the kitchen, first night wasn't to bad but the second night was a nightmare the bathroom floor was bouncing with the music. My wife spoke to a member of staff the next day who apologised said he would have a word with the chef, we went into Hexham later that morning and received a phone call asking if we would like to move over to the Radcliff as there was a party on, moved to room 12 very happy with the outcome, nice and quiet. Staff were brilliant and very helpful throughout and couldn't do enough for you.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Me and my husband stayed here for one night as he had been working near by.The staff were very friendly and very happy.we went into the martini bar in the evening it was a lovely lounge.my husband and I had the vodka martini shaken not stirred.It was really strong but very enjoyable.My husband is mad on James Bond so he really enjoyed it.The breakfast next morning was very good too.I would like to thank all the staff for a very enjoyable stay and will definitely. stay again .I would like to thank the young man who was in the martini bar that night he was very good at mixing the cocktails and chatted to us made us feel at home .we stayed here on Saturday the 17th of january.

Room Tip: We had number 2room it had a lovely view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Had a meal which was very nice and decided to stay for a few more pints when the wife visited the local shops. Hats off to the pub for supporting local breweries and keeping the beer in tip top condition. I'll be back

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chavezlives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We have just had two lovely nights at The Angel in the gorgeous town of Corbridge. The hotel has a very warm and inviting feel. The room was very clean and well equipped. We found the staff friendly and the breakfasts were superb. We would definately stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed in this Hotel in August and we booked the 2 bedroom apartment in the main building as there was four in our family and the place was immaculate with a part kitchen with a fully stocked fridge of drinks and snacks and a full wine rack all at reasonable prices of which you paid for when you paid the bill at reception the next day.
Also, if you wanted to, the hotel allows you to bring in takeaway meals as there is a table and 4 chairs and there is plenty of cutlery, you can also have your breakfast here as this is included in the price of you stay.
The apartment sleeps up to 5 or 6 people, one of the bedrooms has a double bed and the other has 2 single beds but can easily be pushed together to make a double and there is a separate lounge/diner with comfortable seating and the settee can be made into a bed and also there is flat screen televisions in each room and a music system in the lounge area.
The bathroom is spacious and there is plenty of shelving for all the family toiletries.
The price we paid for one night was £225 for the apartment which included 4 hearty breakfasts and overall we thought the price was great value for money and we will be definitely going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 126david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Stayed here for one night in October to enable us to attend the wedding of our friends' daughter in the village. We arrived well before normal checkin time at 2pm, but had to wait only the time it took to have a leisurely cup of coffee for a room in the Radcliffe (the Angel's property over the road) to be ready for us. It was clean and comfortable, with everything we might need for an overnight stay.
Breakfast was freshly prepared from a wide choice of options and was delicious, with plenty of tea/coffee.
The total cost of the room with breakfasts was £95, which we considered to be very reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corbridge
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beaumont Hotel
5.2 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
9.7 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Dyvels Inn
The Dyvels Inn
#1 of 15 in Corbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Golden Lion
The Golden Lion
#3 of 15 in Corbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Inn

Property: The Angel Inn
Address: Main Street, Corbridge NE45 5LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Corbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Corbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Angel Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Angel Inn is a beautiful traditional inn offering great local British food with warm and comfortable rooms and an apartment. The Angel Inn has a bar offering local ales, a lounge with a real fire, a private dining room and a barn restaurant. Corbridge is a pretty village, once a market town, that lies four miles east of Hexham on the banks of the River Tyne. Today it has a reputation for excellent shopping with various fashion boutiques lining the main shopping street. Our Bar, The 'hub' of what we do here at the Angel: a great Northumbrian breakfast, an extensive 'all day' menu offering great British food sourced from Northumbrian produce, great local ales, a superb wine list and exceptional service in friendly and safe surroundings. Our Lounge: A great place to relax with friends or a book. Comfortable leather seats, real fire, newspapers, great coffees, afternoon teas, glass of wine, choice of whisky or just a place to warm up after a long walk. Our Restaurant: Our restaurant is both elegant and spacious - sporting a characterful pitched roof with exposed oak beams. A superb venue for dining, which seats up to eighty guests comfortably for private parties, Christmas lunches and dinners or weddings. Our private dining room, the Angel's Table can accomodate up to 14 guests for breakfast, meetings and family gatherings including lunch, afternoon tea, dinner and a great Sunday lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Angel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angel Hotel Corbridge
The Angel Inn Corbridge, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing