We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Angel Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Matfen Hall(Matfen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Slaley Hall(Slaley)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The George Hotel(Chollerford)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Walwick Hall(Humshaugh)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Plough Inn(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Close House Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Langley Castle Hotel(Langley-on-Tyne)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (354)
Filter reviews
355 results
Traveller rating
120
121
54
38
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
120
121
54
38
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe barnthe main hotelthe pubafternoon teacheeseboardbar menubottled waterlivercannot commentbeefbar areapuddingbooked a tablestaff were attentivebirthday treatmain courseonly criticism
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
245 - 250 of 355 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed here to avoid having to drive home after a second hard day trekking along Hadrian's Wall and was looking forward to a relaxing stay. Had a double-room facing the street which was fairly small but nicely decorated and had everything you need.

The problem was how hot it was in the room. We were not above the kitchen and didn't the radiators on. I got a member of staff to come and see if I was missing the thermostat or air-con controls some how, but there were not any. Meant a very warm night necessitating having the window open and having to listen to regular buses stopping on the other side of the street. Shame, as everything else was OK.

We couldn't get a proper breakfast in the morning as there was a powercut in the village - but that's not really the Angel's fault!

Room Tip: We were in a room above the bar and it was boiling hot with no way of cooling it down - avoid.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JimmyP36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed at the Angel Inn and the only similarity to the rooms as shown on the web page was the small teddy bear in the room. Aside from the room issue, the room was clean and quite large. The staff were very friendly and eager to help. The village is beautiful and well worth taking the time to walk around and exploring some of the shops. The room we stayed in would be comfortable for a family with children as it had two twin beds and bunk beds.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank jsimmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Angel is a busy establishment that has a pleasant atmosphere, but is hampered by the general attitude of the staff. I have met up with friends regularly at the Angel over the years, but always become irritated by the unfriendliness and at times, arrogance of the staff. Either they are not getting the training or support they need, or the checklist for staff recruitment needs to be reviewed. The place could be transformed by happy, welcoming staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 64Dangermouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed here whilst cycling the Hadrian's Way cycleway and had a fabulous stay in this very comfortable hotel. Our room was in the annex, and despite overlooking a busy junction in the village, it was very quiet with plenty of space. The annex had a very comfortable lounge and gardens overlooking the river, and the bar and lounge areas of the main building were very welcoming and comfortable. We ordered from the bar menu which had lots of tempting options, and it was warm enough to sit outside on the sizeable terrace and watch the world go by. Breakfast was excellent and so was the service throughout our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in the annex probably quieter than above the bar and outside terrace
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HAPLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Booked by the wife as a birthday treat, we found the room, the service, the food and the drinks all just spot on
A cracking local base from which to explore our glorious region sans our tribe of lads for this rare weekender. We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeonXC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews