We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not good on a Sunday out of season...”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Domaine de Crecy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Domaine de Crecy
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not good on a Sunday out of season...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

The four of us, two adults and two kids, stayed here for one night - I booked here due to a combination of a) the proximity to Disneyland which we were visiting, b) the good price and c) the generally positive reviews here. We were disappointed to be honest. The main problem seemed to be that we arrived on a Sunday during February.

The place itself is reasonably attractive, a nice size, and set in the middle of a couple of scenic golf courses, so good views of countryside all round and no other buildings for a long way in any direction. But it is definitely more of a golf course with accommodation, as opposed to a hotel with a golf course.

As regards food, this is where things started to go wrong. "Is the restaurant open for a meal?" - "no, sorry" said the man at reception - "oh dear... so are there any other restaurants nearby that might be open?" - "no, sorry...but there is a takeaway pizza place". To be fair, he did kindly order this for us and brought it to our room. "When is breakfast?" we asked. "No, sorry, the restaurant is closed on Monday but we can make you a coffee with our machine and get you a croissant". We didn't bother with this. So no idea on whether the food is good or not!

The room was clean, and large (most of the rooms look to be suites - I've seen these places called aparthotels in other countries), but cold when we arrived. We borrowed a heater from reception, which made it bearable and we also turned the thermostat up. This was a mistake - during the night, the underfloor heating kicked in - we roasted, turned the thermostat down, but still had to open the windows a few times in the night to cool the children off - we hardly slept a wink. Overall the room didn't feel cosy in any way really, wooden furniture on tiled floors, there were no carpets or rugs, and the decor is pretty old school too - all rag-rolled orange paint with green leaf stencilling.

The electrics seemed a bit dodgy too - there were no ceiling lights in the main room - just a small standing lamp which gave an inadequately dim glow. We got a possible hint of why this was when the fuse box tripped, which happened once in the evening and once in the morning. I guess the system couldn't have coped with any more lights.

The other thing that concerned us was that there were no other guests that night. And I'm pretty sure there were no staff staying over in the main clubhouse area either. It wasn't a problem per se, just felt a bit weird being all alone there.

Overall, perhaps we just got the timing of our stay wrong, but that shouldn't really be a concern as any decent hotel would cater for guests whatever day of the week or time of the year they arrive - so we won't be stopping here again, and wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DarrylC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    59
    23
    13
    5
See reviews for
78
32
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brighton
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

Beautiful setting and great rooms. I am not a golfer and stayed here on business and enjoyed my stay tremendously. Lovely views in the morning.
The room was a one bedroom studio with a kitchen area and fridge.
Very clean throughout.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The dinner was pretty basic but OK and the breakfast was adequate.
About a 30 minute journey to Paris by road and a local rail station not far away.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eagleslayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed with our family (2 boys of 5 and 7) and it was perfect. Disneyland nearby ( free parking at val d'europe) and paris within an hour drive or train. For golf lovers there is 88 hectare of beautiful greens to play. And the restaurant is just fine (menu for 25 euro).

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank CoendB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

We've stayed on the Ground Floor in a three person room with a patio with table and chairs that leads to the golf course, and a duplex for six people on a higher floor. There's a microwave, fridge, stove, but no dishwasher, no Nespresso machine, and no oven. The rooms have several styles; two singles on the bottom floor, and two doubles/one double and two singles on the second floor(a partition separates the two bedrooms upstairs). Very quiet at night. Two golf courses, a driving range, and one tennis court on the grounds. There's space to frisbee, kick a ball around as well. The breakfast and dinner service on the weekends, caters to the golf tournament crowd, and while the quality of the meals are fine, the staff is focused on serving multi-course meals to the Golf Tournament party in the evening and service is very, very slow...dinner took three hours even for a tableful of children who'd ordered the childrens' menu...and the adult entrees arrived before theirs! The buffet breakfast Sunday morning was a disaster, there was no bread, no juice, no cutlery, cups, plates anywhere between 8am and 9am. There are two boulangeries and a farmer's market(Sundays') in Crecy-la-Chapelle, a five-minute drive away, take a left on the main road. Bring coffee/tea as there's no hospitality kit. Shampoo, soap provided and the towels are hidden underneath the bathroom sinks. Great place to go with friends for the weekend, the men play golf Saturday and Sunday, the kids play tennis(take rackets and balls, frisbee, soccer ball), pop popcorn, the Disney Channel is in English, and the moms can shop at Coulommiers(the cheese village) or take invigorating walks along the cornfield. Check out is officially at 10am, but they kindly allowed us to keep our room until 1pm-when the men finished their round of golf. On a previous visit, we'd just missed out on lunch by minutes; had baguette sandwiches at the bar. Outdoor dining during warmer months. Soft drinks and candy on sale at reception. The check-in staff are all very friendly and helpfu-did not mind giving the kids extra room card-keys. Free parking.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VolcanoGirl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
324 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

Location - 20 minutes away from Disney. 40 minute to Paris by train from Crecy-la-Chapelle train station which has free parking.
Style - Golf course with converted farm type buildings.
Our room - Six bed Duplex ... which was spacious and orange.
Very quiet location, with tennis courts and swimming pool.
Local area is nice and worth a visit to local towns not just Paris and Mickey Mouse.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trainslag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Wanted to visit Disneyland with a 12-year old but didn't want to stay in the area because of the bad reviews and lack of outdoor swimming pools in the area hotels. This was a great choice for two nights. Got to read/relax by the pool, swim, play tennis, visit the cute village nearby. And enjoy the peace and quiet after the terrible noise in th Disneyland. Room was huge, dining table, kitchen, sofas, bed all in separate sections, own back-yard, nice and clean bath room. Everything looking clean and nice! Enjoyed drinking coffee, reading a book or watching golf in tv in the bar while my child was spleeping in the mornings. Dinner ok, nothing fancy, ate once - bought own food for next night to eat in the room. Breakfast buffet basic but good enough (croissants, bagette, cheese, jam...). Friendly staff not all very good in English but didn't bother at all. Very easy to rent a car in the Noicy le Grand RER station and quite easy to drive (allthough don't like driving and do not understand French)

Room Tip: ask for ground floor to get your own yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pipsa1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp
Level Contributor
149 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

The hotel is accessible, not too far from the motorway, about 40 minutes from central Paris, a beautiful place to stay - outdoor connections (obviously no fun when it rains - we had good weather). Room furnishings (esp. bathroom) a little tired. Staff friendly, but not too professional. We enjoyed a lovely lunch.

Room Tip: All rooms have views of the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlwdlw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crecy-la-Chapelle
8.5 mi away
Residence Du Parc Val d'Europe
6.6 mi away
B&B Hotel Disneyland Paris
B&B Hotel Disneyland Paris
#1 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
6.5 mi away
Vienna House Magic Circus Paris
Vienna House Magic Circus Paris
#5 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Marriott's Village d'lle-de-France
Marriott's Village d'lle-de-Fran...
#1 of 3 in Bailly-Romainvilliers
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
7.9 mi away
Residhome Val d'Europe
Residhome Val d'Europe
#1 of 5 in Montevrain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel l'Elysee Val d'Europe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de Crecy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de Crecy

Property: Domaine de Crecy
Address: route de Guerard, 77580 Crecy-la-Chapelle, France (Formerly Golf-Hotel Domaine de la Brie)
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Crecy-la-Chapelle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crecy-la-Chapelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Domaine de Crecy 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Domaine de Crecy is an exceptional manor surrounded by green countryside and occupying an area of 110 ha. It is located in the centre of BRIE region, 40 km outside of Paris, 15 km from Disneyland and the TGV station, and 2 km from the medieval commune of Crecy-la-Chapelle. Crecy Manor will allow you to enjoy the peace, space and comfort of its 29 apartments, each able to accommodate up to six guests. The apartments have a spectacular view of the golf course. Our restaurant LE PANORAMIC welcomes everyone; we offer refined and exquisite dishes of French cuisine. The restaurant overlooks the delightful panoramic view of the golf course at daytime and by night. Our golfs courses: - Montpichet Golf Course is a 9-hole course ideal both for beginners and for experienced players. - Vignoly golf course is a remarkable 18-hole course designed by the famous golfer, Arnold Palmer specifically for major international competitions. You will be enchanted by the inner harmony and natural elegance of the Domaine de Crecy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Domaine de Crecy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Domaine De La Brie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing