We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dirty place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trang
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Haadyao Nature Resort
Ranked #21 of 31 Trang B&B and Inns
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“dirty place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

Haad yao is a great and amazing place but this hotel Haad yao nature resort is very bad ( dirty rooms full of mosquitos, dirty bathrooms, dirty and brown and oily water ), no any one tree in the " garden ", only concrete. The owners are not friendly at all.
It is written everywhere in the dining room that the food is only organic food from their own garden, but where is the garden, under concrete ? I think their garden is the supermarket in Trang !
We fixed the price for 1000 bath for one night and they finaly charged us 1200 bath because we did not have diner in their place, we prefered to go to eat in a very friendly local restaurant where we had great and fresh food for only 35 bath.

As we needed to change money ( euro to bath ) they wanted to exchange 1 € = 20 bath only, instead of 37 bath ! waw, big comission !!!

Their fundation for nature exist only in their imagination, they are not nature lovers, they don't know anything about wildlife and nature, don't know how to swim, don't know what are the 5 elements, don't know anything about hotel managment.

I can read all the other comments and reviews about this place, and I am surprised to read such good and positive comments ... maybe they are written by the owners themselves ?

Room Tip: no one good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lemairevalerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NatureResorts, General Manager at Haadyao Nature Resort, responded to this review, 25 September 2015
Thank you for your feedback. The resort was temporarily managed by volunteers during the period you stayed and therefore may not have managed to upkeep the place as before (hence the contrasting reviews both positive and negative). We apologise for this. The resort is now under new management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    8
    0
    0
    5
See reviews for
1
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bordeaux, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We wished to stay near Trang Islands and fearing to have no room, we booked on line for 5 nights in Haadyao Nature Resort. We were very disappointed by the poor quality of the service : restaurant closed, no more breakfast after 2 days, tour service overpriced (like the room, that we cleaned up ourselves ...), dirty surroundings. We had unfortunately paid in advance so we could not go away. But we appreciated Hat Yao, its beautiful beach and the nice inhabitants who helped us to discover the wonderful islands.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NatureResorts, Owner at Haadyao Nature Resort, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
We are sorry to hear that the couple did not enjoy their stay at our resort. We had informed them that we were undergoing renovations at that time and therefore not all facilities (eg: restaurant/ tours etc) were open or available. They accepted this.

We managed to open for breakfast for two days – although the booking was for room only – but had to shut it down after when the contractors came in. To safe water and the environment as we run by rainwater systems and reduced use of harmful detergents, we do not have daily change of sheets. However, there is a sign at reception that offers this free service at guest request. We did remember them coming to ask for a bin liner but when asked if they would like our assistance or anything, they said no problem. So we are rather surprised to hear that they complain about doing their own housekeeping!

We offer different grades of tours with various price levels. We felt that the kayaking trip to the Pirates Cave at 100 Baht per hour per a two seater kayak and lifejackets is really very reasonably priced considering the adventure would only take the most 3 hours. Perhaps what they found to be overpriced was a private chartered boat for the day to the island which would normally cost over a thousand baht according to the long tail boat queue system run by the village council. That we have no control.

They were allocated the best room, air-conditioned with private bathroom on the waterfront which is the only room of its kind in the resort. We only received around 500 Baht per night for this. The guests did not ask to go away or show any sign of wanting a refund. This is because it is a good deal.

We speak on behalf of most operators when they sometimes receive such reviews. We would like to tell our guests please let us know what is wrong when you are on site. If you don’t we will not know. We are not mind readers. How can we make things better if we don’t even know you are unhappy? To all guests reading this, should you decide to come and stay with us, do us the favour of telling us there and then, only then can we improve, rather than months later, being alerted to a review that leaves us baffled as to what went wrong.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Trang hotels

Milan, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Great cuisine and very nice owners. Bungalows are very simple but functional. We recommend Haadyao Nature Resort to nature lovers and for those who want to spend some days out of the ordinary tourist routes. Beaches in the neighborhood are desert and relaxing. The location of the resort allows to visit the wonderful islands which can be easily reached by boot in 30 minutes.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fabrizio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berkeley
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

We had a pleasant stay at haadyao. Its a nice place to stay if you'd like to be in a local thai village that isn't overrun by tourists or resorts. I'd also recommend it as a stopover for a night or two on your way to one of the many local islands. The staff if very helpful in organizing boat trips (with local villagers) or you can rent kayaks and do your own self guided tours (map provided) to some local mangrove areas and caves, or go to one of the nearby local beaches (ie, the secret beach during lowtide!)

Also great views from the restaurant and nice for watching daily riverboat life (ie rubber being delivered at piers etc). They also have a small 'mosquito free' (screened) dining area which is much appreciated in the evenings!

Accomodations are basic but pleasant. We appreciated that they used locally sourced materials (ie coconut husk mattresses) and foods.

Andrea & Gremel (USA)

Room Tip: Bungalows probably preferred if noise sensitive (thin walls in main resort building)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ayankow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parys
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2011

The nature resort is situated in the middle of the rather sleepy fishing town of Hat Yao, near the pier. If you are expecting nightlife, it's not the place for you, but if you want to just unwind, it's great. The deck has a panoramic view of the estuary and pier, and you can watch the goings on of the fishermen and read some of the books in the small library. The food is simple and delicious, and the staff are very friendly and helpful. There is a great secluded beach nearby, and the resort runs trips to Libong island (to see the Dugongs) and to the other Trang Islands. The island hopping tour is highly recommended. Rooms are basic, but clean, and have aircon, and are very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LukeParys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2011

No service whatsoever, make your own beds and sweep your own floors . Forget the ecology and the organics. It is Maggi noodles with MSG. .Asbestos roofs everywhere and foam mattresses ( not holistic pounded coconut husks) No currency exchange, no credit cards and overpriced. Disinterested management and staff.
Avoid.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NatureResorts, Manager at Haadyao Nature Resort, responded to this review, 20 February 2011
We were personally taken by surprise to read this review. Why? because the lady who wrote it was so nice during her stay and was very positive, even to the extent of complimenting the resort, food, service and management. Our resort had upgraded their simple room booking to a deluxe bungalow which cost double (but at no extra cost) because we were full house. There was a group of twenty American students staying with us for 4 days from the Wildlands Studies University of California program. If we were not ecological in anyway, then the group would not have supported us every year. We think that perhaps the writer did not feel that we had enough time for them! in which case we apologise! although we did our best to give everyone our attention.

To save water and energy at the resort because we do not have local water supply and use rainwater, we only do housekeeping on request. Lots of our guests also do not like people going into their room when they are not around! There is a big sign in English at the reception for room servicing. We also have a broom in each room. Guests find it handy to sweep away the sand each time they come back from the beach. This guest probably took it the wrong way!

As for our mattresses, we can swear by it that it is 100% coconut husk - with a think layer of cotton to level out the husk so as to provide for a comfortable sleep. One would need to slit the sides to see the pounded husk. We do have currency exchange but they had traveler's cheques which we are not allowed by the bank to cash over the counter. We accept credit cards but the guest did not want to pay the surcharge charged by the on-line system (not us!).

Management was not disinterested in the least, in fact the owner spent a couple of hours a day talking to the guest about the area (despite the student group). We repeat that this review has really taken us by surprise because it seemed as if the couple who came were a different personality from the one we met.

All explained, anyone reading this review is invited to come and visit us and decide for yourself!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

A friend and I came here for our second stay, upon having been here once years ago.
Previously we had a great time island hopping. This area is one of only 4 in the world with such limestone formations. Then it was an unique trip to a seashore within a hollow hill island, the only access is by a natural cave tunnel during low tide. This used to be a pirates hideout. Another experience is kayaking through limestone tunnels in a mangrove swamp, ever having to watch out less your heads hit the low stalactites!
This trip we came for dugongs and dolphins watching, and indeed we managed to see the creatures, something that not everybody is lucky enough to experience. There was even a mother and kid dolphins keeping close to each other. See the pics I took.
Nature Resort is built to utilise the resources nature has to offer. A getaway from the usual kind of noisy crowdsy tourists places.
The location is away from what you see in most tourist maps, but public transport by minivans brings you to the place. The wooden chalet accommodation blends in with the village settings, giving it a back-to-nature feel, but with amenities like hot water, satellite TV, Internet. A little library of books and magazines collection is provided for the sea breeze book readers. The food menu is not the widest but what we had was tasty enough - when we told them to give us what they do best.
We have every confidence in the friendly Laurence and Anita who run the place - they know the legal and safety requirements and the importance of ecological balance in tourism. One should always choose operators who are registered with the Tourism Authority of Thailand (TAT) to ensure you are always protected and assistance is provided by the TAT.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YMLeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trang
0.0 mi away
Haad Yao Resort
Haad Yao Resort
#73 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.0 mi away
Garden Hill Mansion
Garden Hill Mansion
#7 of 31 in Trang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baan Chao Mai Beach House
Baan Chao Mai Beach House
#3 of 3 in Ko Libong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ban Ao Thong
Ban Ao Thong
#2 of 14 in Trang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sukorn Cabana Resort
Sukorn Cabana Resort
#15 of 31 in Trang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pakmeng Resort
Pakmeng Resort
#2 of 3 in Sikao
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haadyao Nature Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haadyao Nature Resort

Property: Haadyao Nature Resort
Address: Chao Mai Marine Park | Haadyao Pier, Trang 92110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trang Province > Trang
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Trang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Haadyao Nature Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the HaadChaoMai National Marine Park, located near the pier - ideal for adventure seekers and holiday makers as it provides a gateway to the islands of Trang Province. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Haadyao Nature Hotel Trang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing