We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short but good, friendly stay; convenient for Trang Islands”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trang
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Haadyao Nature Resort
Ranked #22 of 31 Trang B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Short but good, friendly stay; convenient for Trang Islands”
Reviewed 16 January 2011

Only stayed one night (necessary stop after late flight arrival into Krabi) but slept well and did not see much evidence to support complaints made by others. Easy to make booking and onward travel arrangements, accommodation of decent standard (especially given dearth of alternative options), good views and very friendly. A couple of days could be spent very well here.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MB999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    8
    0
    0
    5
See reviews for
1
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2011

I read about Dr. Lawrence's work with eco-tourism in a Finnish magazine and got curious to hear more about his work.
I loved the kayak tour I made on my own to the mangrove and the pirate caves.
I wasn't lucky to see any dugongs this time, but I learned much about this animal in danger of extinction.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quieroVIVIr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 15 January 2011

Really friendly owners, perfect location and an ocean of rest...Good food, nice little town with the 'real'' Thai people...still smiling inside when I think of my stay there...one of the best experiences during my Asia-trip.
Without any doubt: travaler: if you seek a beautiful nature place; go to Haad Yao Nature Resort!
Tip: ask for the English teacher (owner, and probably there...): good conversation and perfect hosting garanteed!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nienkenien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2009

If you're after somewhere to get away from the hustle and bustle, where you get to see the "other side" of Thailand, then this is the place for you. The people here are very friendly and the nearby islands are beautiful. The food at the restaurant is delicious, though the variety in vegetables is limited.

Accommodation is very basic here - rustic wooden bungalows with your basic essentials (but includes hot water, air-con, TV and DVD) for 800 baht, which equates to about $30AUD. However they are clean and the water is tank collected. The town does not get many tourists visiting and thus does not have proper water systems in place. If you take a walk around town you will see that the locals have very basic living areas, including a communal bathing area.

It is not like Phuket or Krabi, where they get hordes of tourists travelling in and out and thus have plenty of money to invest in building amazing resorts. During our stay we only saw a handful of tourists, that included us.

We initially chose to visit Hat Yao to see the dugongs, but unfortunately the weather was not on our side - it was too windy and choppy to visit them. Instead we got to visit some amazing caves on kayaks and get to know the lovely staff. HINT: IF you're coming specifically for the dugongs we'd suggest ringing ahead and looking carefully at the weather, else there may not be any trips. Unfortunately, if the weather is not on your side, there are not many activities around the area.

We highly recommend staying here if you would like some time out and would like to see a less touristy side of Thailand, especially an area with a high Muslim population.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cursions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2009

We stayed one night but enough to see the whole scene is a ripoff.
The room we had was like a cellar,below floorlevel, dark and with just one tiny window.
They charched us 900 baht. They claim to be eco-friendly, thats why the bathroom water is smelly and brown. But as they say rainwater is good for your body....
The beds are made from reused wood I think this is the case in many small guesthouses and not so special to be proud about. The food was from their organic farm, which ment that there was no variety in their vegetables. As they claim to support the locals they should have been better of on a local market. Besides that is was very expensive and the worst I ate in Thailand.
When you support the locals I don't understand that there are signs everywhere not to talk to locals because they are touts and thiefs!!!!
A very nice local helped us out and gave us transport to Pakmeng Resort; heaven on earth and much chaeper...
Marja and Martin from Holland

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marja08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NatureResorts, Owner at Haadyao Nature Resort, responded to this review, 16 August 2010
* As of January 2010 - Haadyao Nature Resort is fully renovated/refurbished with new management systems.

Current Eco-friendly Health-promoting Facilities

1. Variety of room types to suit even the most fussy person.

2. Different interior decorations such as “Safari”, “Traditional Thai”, “Local Wildlife”, “Simple Luxury” and “Local Arts & Craft” etc, to please all discerning guests …

3. Hand-pounded coconut husk mattresses that massages any tired body and can be washed and sun-sanitised easily because they’re light, yet hardy.

4. Every room is well ventilated and most with sun-lit bathrooms to free the soul while having a shower.

5. Most rooms are air-conditioned but cooling fans are provided for those without.

6. The resort has a small library (mostly in English) for Guests use (FOC) and also satellite internet facility (for our in-house Guests only) on a small charge.

7. Our resort is the hub of all inter-island activities and tours and travel. We are the most professional and most reliable when it comes to organising tours and travel.

8. Over the years, we have developed award-winning tours, namely the Dugong Tracking/ Bird watch Expedition, Island hopping Delight, DIY Pirate’s Cave/ Mangrove Exploration, and Aquarium/Waterfall Land Tour. Talk to our Resident Manager.

9. Our food and drinks are carefully selected and prepared hygienically for health and safety of our Guests. We grow and buy from organic farms and support free-range seafood from locals.

10. There’s a local village next door. Feel free to walk around (not barefoot) and see social change in action.

11. Every Baht you spend with us is used directly for Nature Conservation activities and training of locals. You can ask our Resident Manager how we do it.

12. Anti-UV glass doors and windows to cut off harmful rays from the sun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Trang hotels

Canberra
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2009

Hi, we didn't actually stay at Haad Yao Nature Resort because the so called deluxe room for 4 people contained only 2 single beds. They wanted 1000 baht for that room which was tiny, dark, full of mosquitoes and suspended over a filthy creek. We did ask for more beds but they wanted even more money and I don't think we could have fitted more beds in anyway. The toilets were separate and not very clean. We did eat there. The food was extremely over-priced but good.t We organised and paid for a tour with the Nature resort to see the Sea Cows near Ko Libong. This tour left from Ko Libong where the owners of the Nature Resort have another Guest house called the Libong Nature Beach Bungalow. The tour for 2 adults and 2 children was more than $200 Australian. We were charged full price for our 2 kids who are both under 12 even though they quote half price for kids. Their excuse was that the tour must have a minium of 4 people and we were only 4 so we had to pay full price. We read in their brochure that if the weather was not suitable the tour would be cancelled and that an English speaking guide would accompany us.On the day of the tour the weather was windy and ythe water quite choppy.I tried to discuss this with our boat driver but he spoke NO English. We pointed to the waves and the wind in the trees but he encouraged us to go anyway with gestures. I thought maybe he would take us to a sheltered cove but when we arrived at the sea channel and he indicated that we should leave the boat and enter canoes we all knew it was not safe. We told him in thai to return to the Nature Resort in Hat Yao. On return we asked for a partial refund. The owner refused saying we had chosen to commence the tour and therefore no refund. I said we had been relying on the boat driver to decide whether the conditions were suitable and the owner said no-one could predict the weather. i believe this was not really fair and we were very upset. Haad Yao Nature Resort puports to be suppporting the local people and economy but they have signs up everywhere telling tourists not to eat at the local restaurants or go with local transport because it is not safe. That is not true. They charge 3 and 4 times the price for transfers to Ko Libong from Hat Yao and the same ridiculous prices to hire a canoe for the day.1000 baht when other places are charging 3oo baht per day. We found the whole experience pretty upsetting and the owner Lawrence and his daughtetr Anita arrogant and aloof. They say they are raising money for the environment and maybe they are but they are also treating tourists unfairly and rudely.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nuun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NatureResorts, Owner at Haadyao Nature Resort, responded to this review, 16 August 2010
* As of January 2010 - Haadyao Nature Resort is fully renovated/refurbished with new management systems.

Current Eco-friendly Health-promoting Facilities

1. Variety of room types to suit even the most fussy person.

2. Different interior decorations such as “Safari”, “Traditional Thai”, “Local Wildlife”, “Simple Luxury” and “Local Arts & Craft” etc, to please all discerning guests …

3. Hand-pounded coconut husk mattresses that massages any tired body and can be washed and sun-sanitised easily because they’re light, yet hardy.

4. Every room is well ventilated and most with sun-lit bathrooms to free the soul while having a shower.

5. Most rooms are air-conditioned but cooling fans are provided for those without.

6. The resort has a small library (mostly in English) for Guests use (FOC) and also satellite internet facility (for our in-house Guests only) on a small charge.

7. Our resort is the hub of all inter-island activities and tours and travel. We are the most professional and most reliable when it comes to organising tours and travel.

8. Over the years, we have developed award-winning tours, namely the Dugong Tracking/ Bird watch Expedition, Island hopping Delight, DIY Pirate’s Cave/ Mangrove Exploration, and Aquarium/Waterfall Land Tour. Talk to our Resident Manager.

9. Our food and drinks are carefully selected and prepared hygienically for health and safety of our Guests. We grow and buy from organic farms and support free-range seafood from locals.

10. There’s a local village next door. Feel free to walk around (not barefoot) and see social change in action.

11. Every Baht you spend with us is used directly for Nature Conservation activities and training of locals. You can ask our Resident Manager how we do it.

12. Anti-UV glass doors and windows to cut off harmful rays from the sun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trang
0.0 mi away
Haad Yao Resort
Haad Yao Resort
#73 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Garden Hill Mansion
Garden Hill Mansion
#7 of 31 in Trang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baan Chao Mai Beach House
Baan Chao Mai Beach House
#3 of 3 in Ko Libong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ban Ao Thong
Ban Ao Thong
#2 of 15 in Trang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sukorn Cabana Resort
Sukorn Cabana Resort
#20 of 31 in Trang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pakmeng Resort
Pakmeng Resort
#2 of 3 in Sikao
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haadyao Nature Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haadyao Nature Resort

Property: Haadyao Nature Resort
Address: Chao Mai Marine Park | Haadyao Pier, Trang 92110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trang Province > Trang
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Trang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Haadyao Nature Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the HaadChaoMai National Marine Park, located near the pier - ideal for adventure seekers and holiday makers as it provides a gateway to the islands of Trang Province. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Haadyao Nature Hotel Trang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing