We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“impersonal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thumrin Thana Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Trang
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Only stayed one night here before heading off to Ko Lanta. 60 baht tuk tuk from bus station. Big hotel, friendly staff that did not speak much english. Rooms were clean. wifi in lobby. Breakfast was ok, catered more for Asian tourists. Restaurant staff were lovely eager to try to help. Food good but a little expensive. Hotel information only offered hotel transport for onward travel, no other advice. ATM outside. shops within easy walking and train station 10 min walk.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cazanne48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2013

Go there if you are not fussy and can live with some stained carpet and sofa chairs and tables , fairly clean beds and sheets with pillows in your room and an old mostly marbled bathroom enough to meet your tolerance level. ! Though old, it is a well designed hotel and with renovation , it would be a very attractive hotel to stay for travellers . The location is excellent. There is a disco in the hotel itself and a coffee house with a band too. You will like the gym and the pool . There is also a convenience store facing the reception. Walk out and you can literally buy or eat whatever food of your choice mostly of Asian type. It takes about 10 minutes to walk to the nearest 7 Eleven
The staff at the reception and elsewhere are generally not really hospital and friendly by Thai hotel standard. You have to get their service, not they look forward to serve you ! You do not notice senior managers coming around to ensure excellent service in the hotel..
The food in Thailand is generally very spicy and tasty. Beware if you are not used to the hot spicy Thai food otherwise you will " hurt" your tongue. The breakfast , Japanese and Thai foods served at the huge Pumpui restaurant are mostly tasty and reasonably priced and you will look forward to eating there again.
There are no taxis in Trang but the hotel provides limousine service and there are motor cyclists and Tuk Tuks to shuttle you if you do like them.
Be good in your sign language as most Thais do not speak English or other languages. I stayed there in the Deluxe room 1403 on the 13 & 14 May, 2013.

Room Tip: Select the rooms on the higher floors as the loud disco music may disturb your peaceful sleep .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Benrey9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

This hotel main target are events and meetings, not so much the western tourist.

Stayed there for nights, passing true. Its an hotel mostly visited by Thai en Asian tourist. And the Thai breakfast was realy 100% first class, very big Choice. If you are an Western tourist the breakfast is very mediocre.

One of the biggest rooms I ever had for this price. I spend 2 evenings at the outdoor restaurant "The Terrace" very good food and an excellent Band. Did go back 2 nights in row because the played all the hits from the sixties. Pure nostalgia on my part. And the are very sympathic bunch,

So if I'm in the neighbourhood again, I will defenitly come back.


The only negative comment: There is no free internet, even the smal coffeeshops and guesthouses have free internet in Thailand, but not in a big hotel like this.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guido D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

The outlook of the hotel, lobby and rooms are as luxurious but cleaning, amenities, are as poor compare to the price!!
The rooms are very big but its not cleaned well.... too many guests and is a very busy hotel. I was suprised to see the big size of the room and it was really a huge one! But the net sucks!! Room connection is 50 BTH p/h, can u believe it!! and is not sure if the connection will work or not!!

At the lobby the net also do not work, people going for business or pleasure net connection is a must..the hotel staff care a less for that!! some times they ignore your problem just like that!! Surprisingly, NO BREAKFAST for a room @ 1400 BTH p/n!! WOW ! Shocked!! There are two Thumrin thana hotel but the biggest one is the biggest surprise!!

Roomes are typically old, carpets in some rooms stinks, bathrooms need touch up as well. that was my 9th hotel in Thailand inn past weeks!!

Room Tip: On top floors, ask if you have phone and net signals
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rumana10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We stayed here for one night before going off to Ko Muk and boy did it suck..
The so called wireless which all hotels claim to have barely worked. You can barely get a connection in the lobby and you have to pay extra for wireless in the bedrooms.

The hotel was so old fashioned I felt that I was in an Austin Powers movie. The showers and bathroom must have been constructed in the early days and getting hot water out of them was an ordeal.

The gym and the pool were the best bits of the hotel to be honest.
The breakfast is very good though!!

Room Tip: Avoid Trang and go straight to the Islands
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

My wife and I stayed in Trang while transiting to the Trang islands. Trang isn't exactly a hotbed of luxury hotels -- it's a small provincial Thai city -- but the Thumrin Thana was a good deal. We paid $80/night (including fees and taxes) for a truly huge room including breakfast. As others have said, the hotel itself looks a little dated and worn, but our room was clean and comfortable. I'm glad we didn't stay in the other Thumrin hotel in Trang -- the lobby of that place looked really shabby. Overall, it was a good choice and we'll probably stay there again when we're back in Trang.

Room Tip: Choose the highest floor you can, since the ground-floor bar gets really loud at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pilotguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

The facade ot the hotel looks really grand. But the rooms really need some touch-up as most rooms are kind of worn out.( happened to visit most of the rooms on 9th, 10th & 14th floor as doors were left opened after guests checking out ). The Front Desk staff speak little english. So you really have to converse with them in the simplest form of english. Buffet breakfast-more to oriental style( maybe it was during the Chinese New Year period ). Nnetheless, the room is sizeable, value for money and the location of the hotel is strategic. It is 5-15minutes within walking distance to dry market,food joints, convenient stores, week-end night market as well as to the landmark clock tower. Robinson shopping mall IS NOT within walking distance. So don't ever try to walk. Can opt to take the motorbike 'tuk'tuk which charges 40Baht and is safe. Overall, this hotel is an ideal pick but the management really needs to do something about the rooms for its wear and tear.

Room Tip: any room EXCEPT those facing the front entrance of the hotel as music from the bar is loud and clear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waipcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trang hotels
1.9 mi away
Rua Rasada Hotel & Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Thumrin Hotel
Thumrin Hotel
#5 of 16 in Trang
66 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maison de Cheer
Maison de Cheer
#3 of 16 in Trang
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Wattana Park Hotel
Wattana Park Hotel
#8 of 16 in Trang
23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rua Rasada Budget Hotel
Rua Rasada Budget Hotel
#10 of 16 in Trang
4 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trang Hotel
Trang Hotel
#11 of 16 in Trang
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thumrin Thana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thumrin Thana Hotel

Address: 69/8 Huayyod Road | Tumbol Tubtiang , Amphur Muang, Trang 92000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trang Province > Trang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Trang
Price Range: £26 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thumrin Thana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thumrin Thana Hotel in the centre of Trang city, very convenient to travel to local attractions. Feature 289 comfortable and spacious rooms, the hotel also offers full facilities: restaurants, bar, outdoor swimming pool with separate children pool, fitness centre, and Trang airport transfer. Come and experience authentic southern Thai hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Thumrin Thana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing