We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poorly Maintained and Hard to Imagine 4 Stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Castello di Carimate Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carimate
Reviewed 5 June 2010

I'm sure those staying in the more expensive rooms might disagree, but those of us staying in the cheaper rooms are sorely tried. For example, the furniture was sparse, very cheap, and outdated. The room was not decorated and dirty. The hallway outside our door contained a stack of old televisions. The shower leaked terribly, and the shower head was packed with calcium and barely leaked water. The wood-framed mirror over the vanity was coming apart with rot.

Parking was very limited during the weekend when we arrived and you have to push a button and wait for an attendant to eventually get around to opening the gate so you can come and go. We literally waited 10 minutes on 2 separate occasions for someone to open the gate. The bellhop was not dressed for a 4 star hotel, and not in uniform at all. The service at the check-in desk was spotty, sometimes friendly, other times not, especially at night through the week when the hotel turns into a ghost town.

The building itself is beautiful on the outside, but much has been lost by cheap medieval "recreation" painting and decoration.

There were several wedding parties on the premises our first night, and as a result there was a great deal of loud music thumping through the walls of our room until well after midnight.

You have to pay 5 euros to access the internet for 2 hours from the lobby only. In this day and age, this seems seriously limiting to me and an easy feature to implement if they cared.

Overall, it seemed like much potential has been squandered. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JoeFromDallasTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2009

Stayed here 2 nights. Had a "dungeon" room not a balcony room. The room was however comfortable and clean. This is a fascinating hotel with intimate nooks here and there and exceptional grounds. This would be a great venue for a conference or a wedding. The front office staff are very friendly and do their best but they are undermanned. The downside of this hotel is the surly, brusque and I'd even say lazy service staff. I have rarely come across such rude and inattentive waiters. There are plenty of them, and their uniforms do look the part, but their manner is simply atrocious. A great shame. I will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WC27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2008

Wanted a hotel somewhere between Bergamo and Tremezzo on Como. Just chose this one on spec. Did not expect too much - how wrong was I. It is a beautifully restored castle, set in lovely grounds with some very old trees and is full of charater.

Easy enough to find from the motorway - in the centre of (and dominating) the small village of Carimate. Plenty of free parking. Good fast check in. Rooms very large with tall ceilings. All the extras you would want in a 4* hotel. Huge bed and lovely creaking floors.

We had lunch in the village and dinner at the hotel. The evening meal was superb. We had the set meal. Freebie sparkling wine and peach liquor. Course 1 - stuffed courgette flowers with truffles. Course 2 - spagetti with clams (the best pasta dish I've ever had). Then 3 - veal or sea food. Then espresso or cappuccino. Then a freebie lemon liquor. All for euro 25 per person. Nice local red at euro 15. Superb value in very nice old castle surroundings.

Walked to the pool area, which is shared with the adjacent golf club. Looked very well tended. Nice mature gardens.

The castle has some minor faults. It leaks in a few places including our window, but hardly surprising when you look at the age of the place.

The place is magical as the sun sets and the swifts zip around the towers and battlements. a real experuience.

Slept well with no outside noise, good breakfast and fast checkout. We could ask for no more. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeilandBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2008

First time abroad and it was our honeymoon, wow this really was the perfect place. From the views as you arrive to the peacefull surrounding areas it was fab. The staff where friendly, efficient and helpful, the room was massive and comfortable and the food was excellent. The restraunts arround the area where excellent too. Took a day trip to nearby lake como which was beautiful. The boat trip on the lake was lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mud74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2007

An Italian friend booked this hotel for us at short notice which was reasonably close to Como by car ( 15Km ) and about an hour from Malpenza Airport.
The Castello itself is stunning with an impressive entrance and drawbridge to greet you. It has a massive courtyard in the centre, maintaining alot of the original wood and architecture to create a medieval feel to the building.
We stayed in a Double room which was very spacious and the bathroom was well equipped with lots of goodies.
If you are staying in summer, make sure you put the air conditioning on early as it take some time to cool the room.
Breakfast was a good variety of hot and cold choices.
Dinner was very good, good choice of fish and meat dishes on the menu, but a little pricey.
The hotel itself is in the small village of Carimate. We stayed on a Monday night and we'd recommend that you eat in the hotel as everything else in the town was closed on that night.

If you are wanting a break from the normal corporate hotels and stay in a impressive small castle for a reasonable price, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brian-Dawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Rodolfo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
5  Thank Angelo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carimate
7.6 mi away
Hotel Castello Di Casiglio
6.9 mi away
Starhotels Grand Milan
Starhotels Grand Milan
#1 of 6 in Saronno
823 reviews
5.7 mi away
Albergo dei Laghi
Albergo dei Laghi
#1 of 1 in Turate
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Borgovico Hotel
Borgovico Hotel
#1 of 32 in Como
634 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Carimate Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Carimate Hotel & Spa

Address: Piazza Castello 1, 22060 Carimate, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Como > Carimate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carimate
Hotel Class:4 star — Castello di Carimate Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Stayforlong S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Castello di Carimate Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Hotel Carimate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing