We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly hostess and host”
Review of Posada del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Posada del Mar
Ranked #5 of 11 Las Tablas B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This is a very welcoming hotel. The owners are very friendly and helpful. We felt at home right away. I broke a crown and Rebecca found a dentist for me to see. My husband got a parking ticket in town and her husband went with him to help him get it taken care of. One night when we ate out and were unable to find any desert after dinner, Rebecca offered us brownies with ice cream that were delicious.

Room was comfortable and there is a great view of the beach from the common balcony. Only downside is that the water in this area is not safe for drinking, but they did provide pitchers of drinking water.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
There are newer reviews for Posada del Mar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

The hosts are wonderful! We felt at home and enjoyed visiting with them daily. They gave us tips on the area which included a lovely drive south through the mountains, east to Vendado beach, and north to Pedasi, and back to Las Tablas. We also went to Iguana Island. We had the upper room which had a great view of the beach and ocean and Rebecca fixed us the best fresh fish I have ever had one night. They provided beach towels and breakfast daily. There is a cantina/restaurant a few houses down where we enjoyed the local atmosphere and had good food. We also ate at the Ricon restaurant that was within walking distance which was also good. The beach will almost solely be yours (maybe a few Panamanian families) and it is across the street from the Posada. If you are in this area, you will want to stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank purefreedom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We just returned from our stay at Posada del mar. This was one of the few times we felt sorry to leave a place. Our hosts Rebecca and Rigo made us feel as part of the family. As if their home was ours as well...actually i think we overdone it at some occasions.
They accommodated every need and organized our trips to isla iguana. We asked if they had a pair of sea glasses and they came up with four pro sets of snorkeling equipment for every one in our family.
We dinned twice there as well, and the food was amazing.
I will return though to the personality of Rebecca, our host.She is a people's person, made to associate with others. The perfect person for the perfect job.
We will DEFINITELY return time and again! Thank you guys!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Posada del Mar is a B&B on Playa Uverito outside Las Tablas, Panama. My favorite spot was the terrace overlooking the beach. They serve a light breakfast (which is delicious) on the terrace. You can watch the birds and the waves on the beach while you enjoy your breakfast. In the evening the bar on the terrace opens and you can enjoy a glass of wine or a cocktail while enjoying the view. We had a great time and made a few new friends in the area. I would recommend Posada del Mar to anyone looking for a place to stay in the Las Tablas area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tjo50511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Easily the best place to stay in the area and the only place on the beach - very clean rooms and a great breakfast!! we were given a room at the top with a private balcony - beautiful large room, more like a suite and the balcony with ocean view was definitely a plus!  - bathroom a was small but clean. Ronald was very helpful and certainly knows how to bake great cakes!!
all in all would definitely stay here again, nice quiet location right on the beach. Also handy for visiting Las Tablas and other places on the Azuero Peninsula!

Room Tip: Ask for the Suite!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelleah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Based on the reviews and ranking, I thought I couldn't go wrong, WRONG! When we turned the corner and saw the run-down area, full of trash (everywhere) we were shocked and wanted out right away. But after some discussion we stay since almost all of our time was away from the area. If you like a warm shower, this place is not for you, unless you can take a 30 second shower. But I must say, the breakfast that they serve was fresh and very good. Also, they say one dog and one cat, NOT! Try six dogs that chase everything that moves outside and lord knows how many cats.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveling_Man_6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lafontana, Owner at Posada del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2013

I am sorry to hear you didnt enjoy your stay, unfortunately the beach was particularly bad when you arrived. We are constantly battling with the local authorities to resolve, not only the trash problem, but also the stray animals. Sadly, however these issues are a problem in the whole region and not just here. Despite this, we strive to keep our little hotel clean and comfortable for our guests

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

During our yearly trip to Panama had the need to spend a few nights in Las Tablas for a friends wedding. Sick of hotels and motels we decided to give a bed and breakfast outside of town a shot. It's a few minutes ride out side of Las Tablas main center but well worth it since it is literally right across from the beach.

I have to say I am very happy we made the decision. The building is beautiful and cozy. The room is large with a king size bed and the patio is absolutely perfect for enjoying the ocean breeze day and night. We spend a lot of time relaxing there and lying in a hammock enjoying the sun and sounds of the beach.

The entire place including rooms and common areas were clean, comfortable and secure. We had no issues at all.

Ronald and his wife were great hosts, attending and anticipating our every need even when we returned late from events. Always leaving coolers of supplies for us when we were looking for that romantic nightcap after a hectic night out. We truly enjoyed getting to know him and his family during our stay and were happy that his standards of service were remarkably high.

Even better for us is that we love animals. Ronald has a great heart and has adopted a few that kept us company including a couple of cute cats, adorable puppies and even a frog that comes and goes as he pleases (and scared the daylights out of my wife one night...priceless!).

We highly recommend Ronald and his Posada del Mar Bed and Breakfast in Las Tablas Panama. Here are a couple of tips if you decide to stay!

1. Opt in for the breakfast package. We figured we wouldn't be up in time but he and his wife are a little schedule flexible and are great, let me repeat great cooks. This was a breakfast fit for a king and we couldn't believe it. They really under advertise how deliciously mouthwatering their cooking skills are. Get the breakfast package and thank me later.

2. Bring some snacks for late night. There isn't much open late when you want another beer or need a snack but this is why you got away from the rat race...right?

3. Coordinate with Ronald if you leave for the day. He is always happy to set up a cooler with some beverages of your choice for when you return. It's great not having to worry about it while you are out or leaving anything in the car to get hot.

That's it. Book your trip and enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slimnfly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Tablas
23.6 mi away
Cubita Boutique Resort & Spa
23.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Romana
Hotel Villa Romana
#3 of 7 in Pedasi
328 reviews
23.5 mi away
Beach Break Surf Camp and Hotel Playa Venao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Hotel Versalles
Hotel Versalles
#4 of 5 in Chitre
54 reviews
23.5 mi away
El Sitio Playa Venao
El Sitio Playa Venao
#1 of 4 in Playa Venao
220 reviews
23.4 mi away
Playa Venao Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada del Mar

Address: Playa Uverito, Las Tablas 0710, Panama
Region: Panama > Los Santos Province > Las Tablas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Las Tablas
Price Range: £63 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run beachfront guesthouse overlooking the Pacific Ocean, located in the community of Playa Uverito, just 10 km from Panama's famous carnival town of Las Tablas. The B&B offers 6 comfortable rooms, all with en suite bathrooms, hot water, TV, AC and free wireless internet. Right on the beach and walking distance to several restaurants! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Posada del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Del Mar Hotel Las Tablas
Posada Del Mar Panama/Las Tablas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing