We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel is small, modern and quiet.”
Review of Eden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eden Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castel d'Ario
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This hotel is considered a four star hotel by European ratings. The location is easy to find off the highway. You pass many, many vegetable farms on your way there and share the road with tractors, bicyclist and horses.

The hotel is small, modern and quiet. We stayed here one night and while the place was full of Italian teenagers on a class trip we found the place fit our needs.

Check in was fast. The girl quickly assigned us a room, gave us the keys, took our documents and actually made copies rather than keeping them (uncommon in rural parts of Italy), told us about the amenities offered and off we were to our room. The room we had, 108, was large with a comfortable bed, a large closet, huge windows overlooking the roof deck, a small TV with satellite, an ample bathroom with a large window, medicine cabinet with many lights, small shower, bidet and toilet. The room also had a built in safe. The same key that opens the front door opens the safe. In Italy, you are expected to leave the keys, if not a card, at the front desk once you leave the property. This may seem crazy as they are left in a tray on the counter which is unattended at night but theft is often not a worry in the northern parts of Italy.

A few times the teenagers knocked on our door thinking we were part of their group. Once we opened the door and told them to leave us alone they were never a problem. The next morning, they woke up early to leave but I never even heard them. The person I was with said they were very loud despite me never hearing them.

A full breakfast buffet is offered in the morning. It supposedly was from 7-10 AM but we got there around 10:30 and they weren't anywhere near taking it down. The breakfast featured hard boiled eggs, a variety of breads/croissants, jams, jelly, Nutella, butters, fruits, slices of different meats and cheeses, American style (drip) coffee, hot chocolate, cereals, yogurts, nuts, and a self service omlette station. There is also a fully stocked bar and restaurant but we didn't try either. The bar will make you Italian coffees if you ask. We had a cappuccino and espresso, both were of course excellent.

There is a pool, a gym and a several conference rooms but we didn't check any of these out.

The hotel is in one of the two squares but surrounded by residential housing and farms. If you are heading to Mantova the city centre is less than 10 minutes by car (even behind all the tractors and horses). Overall, the hotel is adequate for a getaway to the rural parts of Italy or if you are visiting in Mantova but don't want to pay Mantova hotel prices.

This hotel is also close to Verona, Venice, Lake Garda and the surrounding area. From the hotel to Lake Garda it is less than one hour by car. In the summer time, when Lake Garda accommodations are filled and every town in close vicinity is also sold out I could see staying here and making day trips to Lake Garda.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Belle1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2013 via mobile

One wouldnt expect such a great hotel in a remote town...well at least to me its remote :) no offence intended...large parking area, beautiful reception setting, staff so friendly and kind, they even called me when i didnt arrive at d estimated time (missed my stop grrr) to check if all was ok..now thats service!! Room was large and very cosy. Def recommend...

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kthg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

The hotel has a large parking lot just in front of it. WIFI is free of charge. Breakfast was very good with a lot of local stuff such as ham, parmesan cheese and other cold cuts. Pastries were also available.
It was very silent and nice. Although large, the design of the rooms are like a normal house and I took this as a very good thing.
Flat TV screen and sky was available in the room.
Newspaper were available in the breakfast room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stone651128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Clean, quiet, good breakfast, supermarket 5 minutes walk, restaurant around corner (Take out pizza from 6 €). Verona is 30 km (30 minutes) away, Gardaland (www.gardaland.it) a little bit more.
Positive experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Biljana2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Interesting almost rural location. Breakfast was very good with a good range of freshly prepared coffees served by the wait staff. Western options available (continental only). Rooms are large and comfortable. Good furnishings and reasonable beds.

The surrounding area has little to offer - we stayed on our way to the Dolimites. Best dining options are those at the hotel (although I've had far better pizzas in Italy than at the Eden). Staff spoke quite good English. There is a laundromat at the bigger supermarket in the main part of town. There is also a small supermarket 100 metres from the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dooragan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2010

We were only looking for a place to sleep on our way back to Germany from South Italy and got really surprised with this hotel.
It's situated on a cute little village and it's very close to Mantova.
The hotel has a good restaurant (we had a tasty pizza there) and the breakfast was also good.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brazitRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

Room Tip: ci sono due tipi di stanze: per due persone e per famiglie. Chiarite bene alla prenotazione! consigl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel d'Ario
6.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Mantova
B&B Hotel Mantova
#1 of 3 in San Giorgio di Mantova
374 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel La Favorita
Hotel La Favorita
#3 of 27 in Mantua
875 reviews
9.4 mi away
A Casa Dei Gonzaga
A Casa Dei Gonzaga
#11 of 27 in Mantua
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Cristallo
Best Western Hotel Cristallo
#1 of 1 in Cerese di Virgilio
389 reviews
4.9 mi away
Piccolo Hotel Nogara
Piccolo Hotel Nogara
#1 of 1 in Nogara
110 reviews
6.8 mi away
Residenza La Villa
Residenza La Villa
#1 of 27 in Mantua
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Hotel

Address: Via della Liberta' 1, 46033 Castel d'Ario, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Mantua > Castel d'Ario
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castel d'Ario
Price Range: £46 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Eden is situated at few kilometers from Mantua town, exactly in Castel d'Ario village, historical place where born the famous pilot Tazio Nuvolari.The Hotel is located just at the beginning of Castel d'Ario village, at few kilometers from the motorway Brennero-Modena A22 tollgate Mantova Nord, on the main governmental street Torino - Padua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Eden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing