We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location”
Review of Phoenix House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carbost
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Phoenix House
Ranked #7 of 10 Carbost B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We recently stayed 2 nights at Phoenix house. We had a large room, the 'Renee Mackintosh'. It was well furnished and spacious with a spacious bathroom. The B&B is in a great location, with the 'Old Inn' across the road, a nearby small shop if required and a short walk from The Talisker distillery. Carbost is a great place to stay on Skye, easy to get to, quiet but with everything you might need. What more could you want, would definitely recommend Phoenix House.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
There are newer reviews for Phoenix House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2012

Previous holidays on Skye were camping at Glenbrittle a lovely spot when the weather's kind but due to some unpredictable weather patterns this year I opted for a little "luxury" this time.I got a lot of luxury.I had the Highland Retreat room at the back of the house,very clean,comfortable bed,lovely shower and gel from the Highland Soap Co. a real treat.Chris and Elaine are very welcoming and after 6 nights it was a wrench to leave.Breakfasts are a treat.The options are seemingly endless,when ordering a cooked breakfast you can select the individual items which is a great idea.Elaine's muffins are a must and Chris's homemade bread too.After a days walking it was nice to have a pleasant inn just 2 minutes away.

Room Tip: For a good view over the loch choose one of the two rooms at the front.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

If you are in Skye definitely consider a stay at Phoenix House in Carbost. Carbost is a lovely quiet village, by the Talisker Distillery.
Chris and Elaine were excellent hosts.
We had read rave reviews on Trip Advisor, and decided to stop there for two nights during our trip around the Highlands.
The rooms are spacious and fully equipped, the rooms had a nicely homely feel, sometimes some bed and breakfast/ guest houses have souless rooms- not at Phoenix House!
Breakfast was a delight, and the options are great, especially if you are sick of a cooked breakfasts!. Elaine makes delicious muffins and bread, which is a real treat, and a welcomed surprise.
I would definitely reccomend Phoenix house, we stayed in alot of places during our trip around the Highlands and Phoenix House was definitely our favourite.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mylinh79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

A welcome reprive from the drizzle we encountered. The rooms were delightfully decorated and the view was smashing. Chris and Elaine were lovely hosts and the breakfast was amazing. ( The homemade bread and muffins were excellent.) The stay was simply fab.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Really can't fault the Phoenix. Great room with a view over the loch, Chris and Elaine made us feel at home and very welcome, the breakfasts were just the best and set us up nicely for the day. We stayed a week and will most definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Phoenix House was our last stop on Skye and it was the best. Chris and Elaine are great hosts. The room was excellent (the Rennie Macintosh) - spacious with a lovely view over Loch Harport, and everything you need including a wide range of books, and some lovely Highland Soap Co. shower gel etc - I never use toiletries provided, but I used this. It is literally a few steps over the road from the Old Inn which does extremely good food, very useful for the evening meal. But I must give the last word to the breakfast and Chris's excellent home made bread and Elaine's wonderful muffins. It was the best breakfast, everything beautifully cooked and the home made bread was just wonderful. As for the muffins - if you don't want a muffin at breakfast wrap one up and take it away to have with a coffee later, they are too good to miss.

Room Tip: There aren't any extra tips to give - except of course ask for a loch view if available.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Excellent in every way! Service, rooms, scenery, food and hospitality!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alf c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Phoenix House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix House

Address: Phoenix House Carbost on Loch Harport | Carbost Village, Carbost IV47 8SR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Carbost
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Carbost
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Phoenix House Carbost, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing