We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A cosy, very enjoyable cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Looking for access up too the cottages.  Mackenzie in the foreground.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Looking for access up too the cottages.  Mackenzie in the foreground.
Kitchen with full size oven, hob fridge, washing machine and freezer Sitting area to the front with views to Loch Harport and Talisker Distillery in the distance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Looking for access up too the cottages.  Mackenzie in the foreground.
Kitchen with full size oven, hob fridge, washing machine and freezer
Sitting area to the front with views to Loch Harport and Talisker Distillery in the distance
Glimpse of Loch Harport, wee bit of a misty day
Refurbished shower room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Carbost, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
ManosTrav...
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
“A cosy, very enjoyable cottage”
Reviewed 11 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

A clean, well decorated and well equipped cottage with all the things you will need for a very comfortable stay (including peace and quiet)! It is also equipped with plenty of information leaflets and books for the Isle of Skye and a large map to help you plan your daily trips.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yunayuni2...
Brecon
2 reviews
“Absolutely fantastic!”
Reviewed 21 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

When I say "absolutely fantastic", I do not only mean the views from the cottage which are incredible! Mackenzie cottage is a very comfy and cosy, clean, practical place. We had an incredible stay with my parents. The beds are very comfy and everything is very quiet. The kitchen is well-equiped. The bathroom is modern and the shower feels like heaven after a day spent hiking. Clean towels with complementary bottles as well as made bed are waiting for you at your arrival. The way the house is functionning is very well explained in a brochure. Speaking about brochures, we really enjoyed the fact that there were tons of them on local attractions, good walking places and everything related to the Isle of Skye. It felt like we were looked after while being on our own. Super! Being back at work I can tell you for sure that I sometimes wish a magic storm would bring me back in this living room looking over the loch... Thank you!
PS: when you arrive on top of the drive, it's the house on the left!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: it was comfy, cosy, quiet and the views were amazing.
Liked least: If I were picky, maybe I would add a little throw to use on the couch in the evening.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TCMummy
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 4 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This is a lovely cottage, which sits high up on the hill overlooking the inlet. Stunning views. Easy to find and the cottage is exactly as described on the website. We were very impressed with the quality of fittings inside and it was very cosy. This is a good base for exploring the island and the Fairy Pools are a short drive away. The owner was very helpful with a few queries we had.
We plan to return.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westy567
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cosy cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 14 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

A lovely cosy cottage with everything you could need for a comfortable stay, definitely planning to come back next year for a longer stay. The rooms are a good size and beautifully decorated. When we stayed there was just the two of us however there is plenty of room for four people to stay comfortably.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet Location
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2016
Thank-you for leaving a review for MacKenzie Cottage and glad you liked staying with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan C
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spectacular views”
Reviewed 3 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Beautiful sunsets over the loch. Beds very comfortable. The Oyster Shed is a must! Would have liked some books to read.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position
Liked least: Lack of a bath
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2015
Thank-you for taking the time to leave a review of the cottage. Sorry about the lack of books, guests this year seemed to enjoy them so much that they took quite a few of them home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah H
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Cottage in a Perfect Location”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I stayed here for a few nights with three other people and it was the perfect place. I was having trouble finding any accommodations on Skye, so I was very excited when I found this place for such a great price. After booking, we were provided with easy directions to find the cottage without a GPS. The pictures look a little remote but it is actually in a perfect location. Its only a few minutes drive into town, where there are several great restaurants and also the Talisker distillery. It also was only about a 20 minute drive into Portree. Surrounding the cottage is beautiful scenery! It was a very short drive to the fairy pools and also many other hiking trails.
The cottage itself was wonderful. The kitchen was big, clean, and had everything you would need for cooking meals. The living room had beautiful windows that allowed you to look out on two sides, one showing the water, and the other side showing beautiful green hills. The beds were comfy, and the bathroom was also very nice. One thing I especially enjoyed was all of the maps, guides, pamphlets and books that were provided in the cottage. They contained local stories, wildlife guides, things to do, and hiking trails, which came in very useful during our stay.
I would highly recommend this cottage!!! (:

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2015
Gosh, thank-you very much for your kind words and taking the time to post a review. Much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
djsage86
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Superb cottage with glorious views”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Recently stayed here with my wife, baby boy and two friends. The cottage was perfect - we had struggled to find somewhere to stay on Skye and were lucky to find MacKenzie Cottage had availability at a very good price.

The cottage itself is well decorated and the open plan living room and kitchen is great. Lots of information and books on Skye are provided to look through. The views from the living room towards Loch Harport are spectacular, as are the views east to the mountains. There is a picnic bench outside if you're lucky enough with the weather.

We had rotten weather for half of our trip but Talisker distillery is only 10 minutes down the road and well worth a trip - as is the Oyster Shed, with amazing views to enjoy over cheap but amazing quality seafood (BYOB - we brought a bottle from the distillery). Also good for food is Taigh Ailean 20 minutes away in Portnalong.

Talisker Bay is also close to the cottage - a 15 minute drive and then a mile walk from the end of the road. We went on a clear night with views of South Uist and had a barbecue on the beach with it all to ourselves. Some people might complain there's no WiFi but who cares when you're on such a glorious island. Would definitely stay in this cottage again - is close to lots of great things to do in Skye, is comfortable and spacious and has amazing views.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Open plan living room; sea views; close to interesting things.
Liked least: Dogs at the end of the road
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing