We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pork belly is only for the very hungry”

Vaima Polynesian Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Titikaveka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$32
Cuisines: Seafood, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, View, Kids, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are situated right on the beach. Imagine sitting on the beach with the sun setting, sipping your favourite cocktail and enjoying some of the best cuisine on the island - how romantic! We also offer a pizza take away service - forget the cooking - enjoy our pizza in your room/hotel or just sit on the beach with your feet in the water enjoying the food. We can cater for small private functions and weddings. Look forward to seeing you at the Vaima. We recommend that families book between 5.30 and 6.30 pm.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
257 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Pork belly is only for the very hungry”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We had the best meal on the island here.The pork belly is huge and just cooked perfect.You can't fault the service and make sure you leave room for the selection of deserts.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kruuza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    662
    325
    72
    33
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“First Night in Rarotonga”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This was our first night in Rarotonga and wow. They collected us and returned us to Royale Takimutu so we didn't have to worry about travel arrangements. We arrived at 6.30pm which was just before the rest of the island seemed to arrive. The Beef Wellington was superb and I now realise where the best cuts of NZ meat must go as it was cooked to perfection and melt in the mouth. My wife had the fish of the day which was Mahi Mahi and was in her words devine.
An excellent venue, service, location, atmosphere, food and vale for money all excellent

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AucklandJonathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Dinner on the sand”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Pork belly was cooked to perfection a busy restaurant so booking is advisable food was delicious only negative glad we checked our bill

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nibsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pukekohe East, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
194 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Nice Location”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Great to dine on the sand!!!
Loved the raw fish entree.... the mains had too many thick large fries for us. Drink prices were reasonable. Service was timely and friendly. Lovely atmosphere

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“tasty fresh food, amazing sunset location!”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The food was fresh and delicious, reasonably priced, the cocktails divine (best pina coloda!), the service efficient, the venue clean tidy & organized, and the setting & location superb, being right on the beach, in the sand, on the sunset side of the island! :)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sabelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vaima Polynesian Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 
Arorangi, Rarotonga
 

Been to Vaima Polynesian Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing