We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“on world trip”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Titikaveka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maiana Guesthouse and Beach Bungalows
inverness
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“on world trip”
Reviewed 8 August 2011

loved the place and the people. mano and his wife have chickens and forest with banana plantation.especial thank you to anna joy pokia whose name makes me smile.beautiful island beautiful people.i will be back
ricky taylor

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patonginverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    5
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
11
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Levin, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We've stayed there on a number of occasions, and always felt most welcome. A great location, and a casual friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bpmcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alheim
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

This place has a great location on the south coast, right beside pretty Saltwater Cafe and on one of the best snorkelling spots on the island. The rooms in the guesthouse are fairly basic, but great value for money at absolute budget prices, and there's free fruit as well, fresh from the owner's plantation. What makes the place special though is the personal atmosphere and the lovely owners. My flight was three hours late, still Anna picked me up at the airport at 4 am! They really endeavor to help you experience island life from the inside, happy to take you to church on a Sunday, or even to a family outing as it happened in my case. Good place to meet fellow travellers, too, and cosy outside areas if you just want to waste part of your day away. You'll be hard put finding anything else that good at their prices on Rarotonga!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanDamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

My fiancee and me went to the Cook Islands, and wanted to stay on both sides....chose to stay at Maiana first, because they offered free airport pickup! And..we ended up staying there for the full 10 days, because it was so awesome! The family quickly introduced us to local culture, and they showed us around, even invited us to come along for the church service and the family meal afterwards! Everyone was so nice, and keen to make our stay comfortable.... we hung out at the "private" beach a lot, and went hiking, and with tips from Ana, our host, we had such an awesome time....at first we thought what can you do for 10 days on an island that's 32 km circumference....but it turned out we didn't have enough time because there was so much to do! Ana offers local dance classes, Ina can teach you local weaving, and Mano makes the most awesome fresh juice on the Island! Ana also rents out Kayaks, which is awesome because the beach is right there....and they provide you with fresh fruit of the season for FREE....such an awesome gesture! I saw the other places charge a lot for "Fruit Basket on arrival". The resident cat is the best....extremely chilled out and always happy to play! The best thing for us was the location...not far from a shop (Wigmore's), but not in the main tourist centre - which was great for us, we had the beach to ourselves and no tourist hordes annoying us with burgers in their hand! This place is great to relax and learn about the locals....we went snorkelling along the beach, there's so much to see, next time we'll be diving!! Thank you so much for your hospitality and the awesome family meal....time spent was wonderful and we'll be back to finish what we started ! :)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunshine_seeker15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

It was sad that this accommodation was a delight, right on the beach and very clean, we met the owner when he picked us up, but the following day we were robbed of everything but our clothing and luckily our passports, but all our cash, our ipad, ipod, camera, cell phones...all gone, we had completely secured the place and even put a "dummy" in the bed but we believe we were watched as we were only away 50 minutes but they cut the fly screen and removed the louvre windows......the worse part was that the owners would not let us use the phone, saying we needed a phone card, so we had to make our way to the town at 9pm and report the crime, and then we never saw the owners again all week (think they may have been embarressed) it was just awful, no money, all our stuff gone, all our wedding photos....all taken but what hurt most was the lack of customer care, not even a "how are you?" "do you need anything" and then they wanted to charge us $30 to take us back to the airport having spent the week on fresh air...a banannas!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bayofplentyweddings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellington, NZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

I just stayed at Maiana for 11 days. I could not have had more of a perfect holiday. This was definately contributed to by the lovely hosts Manoa, Ina and their daughter Anna. I was made to feel at home from day one. The house was spotlessly clean, room airy and a good size, they were happy to answer any questions and keen to get to know their guests and share their stories about their family and life on the island. I would highly reccommend Maiana for groups, families or solo travellers. Its affordable and you won't be dissappointed.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank antbernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

We stayed in the guesthouse, it was very quiet and clean. The hosts are very friendly. They picked fruit off their trees for us and were very willing to help with any information we needed. Far better place to stay than Rarotonga backpackers, though they are the same price. I highly recommend staying here if you're on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maybecrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Titikaveka
0.0 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
547 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vara's
Vara's
#16 of 17 in Muri
149 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aremango Guesthouse
Aremango Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Avarua
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bella Beach Bungalows
Bella Beach Bungalows
#6 of 12 in Titikaveka
87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rarotonga Beach Bungalows
Rarotonga Beach Bungalows
#4 of 12 in Titikaveka
177 reviews
0.0 mi away
Muri Beach Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maiana Guesthouse and Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maiana Guesthouse and Beach Bungalows

Property: Maiana Guesthouse and Beach Bungalows
Address: Maiana Guesthouse, P.O. Box 1036, Rarotonga, Cook, Titikaveka, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Titikaveka
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Titikaveka
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kia orana and welcome to Maiana. Looking to have a excellent and peaceful rest, we offer a range of rooms that can catter for your needs. We are found amongest mango trees, colourful flowers, friendly neighbourhood, great beaches and even snorkeling. Cafe 1min walk Beach 40secs walkBus-stop at front gate Superstore 5mins drive ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maiana Guesthouse And Beach Bungalows Rarotonga, Cook Islands - Titikaveka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing