We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, tranquil....paradise!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Titikaveka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maiana Guesthouse and Beach Bungalows
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We were guests at Maiana 14th-24th august 2011 and had a fabulous holiday!!
It is a cute little well maintained bungalow RIGHT on Titikaveka beach, waves lapping right up to your deck. Great ,quiet stretch of beach, we kayaked load (even saw a turtle in the lagoon!) and its just a stones throw from the marine reserve for fantastic snorkelling. Saltwater cafe right opposite for morning coffee and bus stops outside but we found a scooter really useful for zapping around as 25minute walk to nearest shop..Wigmores.
Anna and her family were really welcoming and helpful but also gave us our space, regular servicing of the bungalow was awesome!!
Thankyou guys for a wonderful holiday and great value..will certainly be back!

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Morrisexplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2011

We booked the Maiana Beach Bungalow for about 20 days, staying from the 9th August and due to a booking hiccup will be moving to another location after having spent 10 fantastic days in this ‘gem’ of a place. Thought we would make some comments even though we are only half way through our holiday.
We read the T.A. article prior to arriving, re the burglary and having travelled to many a country know that these things do happen in all destinations and we have our ways of trying to make sure our valuables are safe. A few days after we arrived the local newspaper had an article on the front page requesting people to come and claim stolen items that had be recovered, and that those involved where awaiting trial and sweating it out in jail. The police on the Island are aware the damage this type of event can do for tourism and l believe they put the hours in to solving the activities of a few ‘bad apples’. The bungalow we stayed in had locks etc on all doors, windows that could be secured, external lighting. I guess a valuables safe would be ‘money well spent on’ to assist in alleviating future guests concerns The guesthouse across the road offers to keep valuables securely for you and the owners were very concerned and upset re the events that had occurred to the previous guests.
Our host Ana was there to meet us at the airport and we stopped off at the local supermarket to grab some essentials before taking us to our beach bungalow.
Our bungalow was wonderful, literally on the beach. We could swim and snorkel a few metres from the bungalow. The main road passes the back of the bungalow, but there really is not much traffic and the noise was not an issue. The bungalow was a good size, the main area is an L shape , with the king bed, in one section, the lounge chairs, small TV and an kitchen area with a microwave, hot plates and a large refrigerator. It has a good size bathroom. The bungalow is serviced every couple of days and our hosts were just lovely and endeavoured to ensure our room was up to scratch. When guests arrived to stay in the adjoining bungalow we did notice that the sound does travel between bungalows.
The winning feature is the balcony, we felt like we were sitting over the water, and people strolling on the beach never noticed we were there, because of the bungalow is set amongst she oaks and coconut trees. The bungalow is about 50 metres from the Sea Change Villas, and the Saltwater café is across the road. The location could not be better. The Island bus stop is a just metres away from the bungalow. A book of 10 trips costs $25 or $4 one-way or $7 return
The Saltwater Café is only open for a few hours each day. It has one of the telecom wifi hot spots (you purchase a card from the supermarket or from the telecom shop in the main town.) We purchased a 250 MB wifi card for $50 but the cards are also available for $10, $20 etc). The hotspot at the Saltwater Café is only available when the café is open, and we could sit in the bus shelter across the road from the cafe and do our emails. The next closest hot spot is at Wigmores supermarket, just over a 2 km walk. The guesthouse across the road has a public phone available and the place has mobile coverage, but there is no phone data coverage on the Island.
The nearest restaurant for dinner is the Paw Paw patch. It’s about 2.5 km walk east. The buses only go one way after 4.30 pm, so we walked to the restaurant and got the bus home. The food was fabulous, good quality and beautifully presented. They had a good wine list with reasonable prices.
We hired a car for a few days mainly to assist in the transportation of beer ($55 a slab), wine ($20 a bottle), food (bit dearer here than in Oz) and to explore other snorkelling spots. We brought some fishing gear with us and to walk down to have a fish outside our bungalow was great fun. Gear is a bit limited to get on the Island and we brought some silver lures with us that did the job. There are lots of Leather Jackets around to play with, but fish within the lagoon have a parasite that make them unsafe to eat so catch and release is the way to go.
Maiana Beach Bungalows are a real treat, very reasonably priced and if you compare what you get for $100 a night here or $400, fifty metres up the beach, this place if defiantly value for money ++.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LynHatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

I stayed here (in the guesthouse) for several days with a friend and we had a great time. The guesthouse setup is simple, functional and clean. There are common areas for cooking, dining and generally hanging out, with shared bathrooms and a variety of bedrooms for guests.

Maiana is well situated on the island - close to several of the best snorkelling spots and to cafes, stalls and stores. The guesthouse rooms are very well priced.

The family are very friendly and helpful - Mano collected me from the airport and Ana came by every day to make sure everything was ok and to chat.

Would definitely stay again - highly recommended

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harpo-Aotearoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

loved the place and the people. mano and his wife have chickens and forest with banana plantation.especial thank you to anna joy pokia whose name makes me smile.beautiful island beautiful people.i will be back
ricky taylor

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patonginverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We've stayed there on a number of occasions, and always felt most welcome. A great location, and a casual friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bpmcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

This place has a great location on the south coast, right beside pretty Saltwater Cafe and on one of the best snorkelling spots on the island. The rooms in the guesthouse are fairly basic, but great value for money at absolute budget prices, and there's free fruit as well, fresh from the owner's plantation. What makes the place special though is the personal atmosphere and the lovely owners. My flight was three hours late, still Anna picked me up at the airport at 4 am! They really endeavor to help you experience island life from the inside, happy to take you to church on a Sunday, or even to a family outing as it happened in my case. Good place to meet fellow travellers, too, and cosy outside areas if you just want to waste part of your day away. You'll be hard put finding anything else that good at their prices on Rarotonga!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JanDamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

My fiancee and me went to the Cook Islands, and wanted to stay on both sides....chose to stay at Maiana first, because they offered free airport pickup! And..we ended up staying there for the full 10 days, because it was so awesome! The family quickly introduced us to local culture, and they showed us around, even invited us to come along for the church service and the family meal afterwards! Everyone was so nice, and keen to make our stay comfortable.... we hung out at the "private" beach a lot, and went hiking, and with tips from Ana, our host, we had such an awesome time....at first we thought what can you do for 10 days on an island that's 32 km circumference....but it turned out we didn't have enough time because there was so much to do! Ana offers local dance classes, Ina can teach you local weaving, and Mano makes the most awesome fresh juice on the Island! Ana also rents out Kayaks, which is awesome because the beach is right there....and they provide you with fresh fruit of the season for FREE....such an awesome gesture! I saw the other places charge a lot for "Fruit Basket on arrival". The resident cat is the best....extremely chilled out and always happy to play! The best thing for us was the location...not far from a shop (Wigmore's), but not in the main tourist centre - which was great for us, we had the beach to ourselves and no tourist hordes annoying us with burgers in their hand! This place is great to relax and learn about the locals....we went snorkelling along the beach, there's so much to see, next time we'll be diving!! Thank you so much for your hospitality and the awesome family meal....time spent was wonderful and we'll be back to finish what we started ! :)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunshine_seeker15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Titikaveka hotels
0 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
0 mi away
Little Polynesian Resort
Little Polynesian Resort
#1 of 2 in Titikaveka
523 reviews
0 mi away
Sea Change Villas
Sea Change Villas
#1 of 12 in Titikaveka
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Bella Beach Bungalows
Bella Beach Bungalows
#6 of 12 in Titikaveka
88 reviews
0 mi away
Rarotonga Beach Bungalows
Rarotonga Beach Bungalows
#4 of 12 in Titikaveka
182 reviews
0 mi away
Royale Takitumu
Royale Takitumu
#3 of 12 in Titikaveka
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maiana Guesthouse and Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maiana Guesthouse and Beach Bungalows

Address: Maiana Guesthouse, P.O. Box 1036, Rarotonga, Cook, Titikaveka, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Titikaveka
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Titikaveka
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kia orana and welcome to Maiana. Looking to have a excellent and peaceful rest, we offer a range of rooms that can catter for your needs. We are found amongest mango trees, colourful flowers, friendly neighbourhood, great beaches and even snorkeling. Cafe 1min walk Beach 40secs walkBus-stop at front gate Superstore 5mins drive ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maiana Guesthouse And Beach Bungalows Rarotonga, Cook Islands - Titikaveka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing