We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We could not have hoped for a better Island experience with genuine locals.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Te Akapuao Holiday Studio Villas 1 & 2
Turangi NZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We could not have hoped for a better Island experience with genuine locals.”
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Our hosts, Charlie and Mary, have the hospitality X factor which enabled us to enjoy a truly wonderful tropical island experience. We were accepted as part of their family at the same time helped to explore all aspects of Raro island life at our leisure.
Tops for a quiet tropical getaway. All facilities perfect for an actively retired couple.
Thanks a million Charlie and Mary.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary H, Owner at Te Akapuao Holiday Studio Villas 1 & 2, responded to this review, 28 April 2015
Thank you for your kind comments. We're grateful you chose us for your family holiday.
Kind Regards Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2011

An absolutely great place to stay, a great bargain for your buck and accessible to all the hot spots on the island. I originally had concerns about staying inland as I wanted beach front access but after staying at Te Akapuao had realised that I am glad that I chose the right location. Te Akapuao is quietly tucked away from the hustle and bustle of tourists, 2-5 mins from Muri and the beach is easily accessible anyway. In Muri we hired scooters to get about the Island which I highly recommend doing. We stayed at Te Akapuao Studio Home and Units for 9 nights, our group consisted of 13 adults and 3 children. The pool provided hours of entertainment for the kids and in each unit there is a selection of dvds to watch if you wanted to chill out after a long day. Mary and Charlie are excellent hosts, if we needed anything we found them very helpful. Our units were very clean and were serviced once during our stay. I found that the covered deck was the best feature of Te Akapuao, this is where our group shared meals and drinks in the evening. All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and highly recommend to those travelling in large groups. Can't wait to come back! Kia Manuia...

Room Tip: The self contained units are ideal for couples with small children. The home is ideal for larger fam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissPene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary H, Owner at Te Akapuao Holiday Studio Villas 1 & 2, responded to this review, 28 April 2015
Thank you for your kind comments. Yes we are wee oasis of calm amidst the inland side of Akapuao, where the beach is a 3-4 minute stroll away. The entertainment deck is a favorite with visitors, a prefect place to enjoy your family dinners.
Thank you for your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2011

In a word: amazing! Mary and Charlie are wonderful hosts and made us feel very welcome. A beautiful beach is only a couple of minutes walk away, and the mountainous inner part of the island is in spectacular view. The rooms have everything you need for a short or long stay, including a barbeque and full kitchen equipment. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helsy_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teakapuao, Owner at Te Akapuao Holiday Studio Villas 1 & 2, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
Thank you Helen, we loved that you chose us to stay with. Their stay, albeit brief took in visits to the sister islands of Aitutaki and Atiu. If you are able to, visit our sister islands for a different experience of island living. I think the cat adopted them very quickly! Yes do do have a resident cat who'll work his way into your heart. I do hope you'll visit us soon. The giant passiofruit is fruiting, and we've planted dragon fruit. Thank you for connecting with us, Kia Manuia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We were a group of eleven comprising of adults and teenagers. The four bedroom house and the two studio villas were perfect. The buildings are wrapped around a fantastic pool and extensive decks and entertainment space. Situated off the main road so quiet and peaceful and surrounded by lush tropical gardens and local plantations. A five minute walk to the family beach which is right next to the best snorkling reef on the island. Charlie and Mary were exceptional hosts providing us with fresh fruit, tasty fish, home baking and local knowledge. Te Akapuao is only a year old so all the facilities are in great condition and everything was clean and sparkling. Can't wait to return and when I do it will be to Te Akapuao.

Room Tip: Hire Scooters to zip around the Island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh53-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teakapuao, Owner at Te Akapuao Holiday Studio Villas 1 & 2, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
This family group was great fun. Watching them zip around on scooters had me on tenterhooks, but the bikes are so easy to handle. They probably tried every restaurant on the island! and yes we had more fish to ply them with, the bananas were ripening- we supply fruit by the bunch- literally, and Charlies home baking I am happy to see, they enjoyed. Akapuao beach is home to the Fruits of Rarotonga Marine park. Glass bottomed boats bring their tours to this reserve to snorkel and watch the fish. You don't have far to travel- literally a 5 minute walk. We look forward to welcoming you all back to Te Akapuao. Kia manuia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2011

From the moment we arrived, Mary and Charlie were exceptionally hospitable and certainly not intrusive. The property was very clean and tidy and contained everything we needed to have a relaxing break. Charlies baking and the fruit and fish were a very appreciated bonus. The house and studio were ideal for our extended family. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geecee58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teakapuao, Owner at Te Akapuao Holiday Studio Villas 1 & 2, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
We loved hosting you all. This family was very adventurous hiring bikes to explore the island, the restaurants and beaches. Yes Charlies baking will be something of a discussion as he is a good baker. Elsie tends to reinvent the wheel with one batch of muffins turning out as hard as rock! We wwere given an abundance of fish from a friend so were able to pass on the bounty with the family. We hope to see you all again. Kia Manuia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paihia, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2011

This place is one hundred times better than we could have ever imagined. We stayed here, and it was perfect for our group of 15, who all came to attend my sister's wedding. We all had our own privacy, whether staying in the holiday home or in one of the new and gorgeous studio villas. It was the perfect mini resort which catered to our family and friend's needs. There was the swimming pool which the kids could not stay away from, and also the covered communal area, where the evening BBQ's took place, or the late night "happy hour." We were all able to choose either the privacy of our own home or studio villa, or to go to the decked communal area to meet with everyone and enjoy a beautiful breakfast or BBQ together. The house and villas were impeccably clean and we were provided with so much to get you through those first few days, including the little things (which really mattered) like hand soap and tea and coffee. We felt very spoilt and we really were! Our hosts Mary and Charlie went above and beyond. If customer service is what you are wanting, you will get far more than that from these beautiful people.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shellybeach_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teakapuao, Owner at Te Akapuao Holiday Studio Villas 1 & 2, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
Shelleys group-a total of 14 stayed with us for 10 days in the middle of June. They enjoyed every moment of their stay with visits to loacl places of interest, bbqs on the deck, walks akong the back road, and swimming at the beautiful Akapuao beach. We were invited up to share a meal with them, and from then on, became a family- one of our pets, Roxy sleeping over and enjoying breakfast, lunch and dinner! Very spoilt! We look forward to your next visit Shelley, kia manuia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2011

I stayed here for 6 weeks with my husband in January-Feb of this year and I can't wait to go back soon. The room we stayed in, one of the villas, was absolutely perfect and a 5 star quality room. Very clean, very modern, and I loved having our own kitchen and laundry; nothing like clean, fresh clothes whenever you need them! Charlie and Mary were so lovely and so willing to show us the best of Rarotonga. I cannot rave enough about this place, it's absolutely perfect; secluded, 5 minutes from the beach and the stunning mountain views are worth a million dollars. I loved my bike ride each morning around the back roads of Rarotonga, and Te Akapuao is in the perfect location to see the real, authentic people and places of Rarotonga. The swimming pool was literally on our doorstep, and having our meals on the beautiful patio was just so relaxing. Amazing! 10 out of 10 for sure.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuciaRus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teakapuao, Owner at Te Akapuao Holiday Studio Villas 1 & 2, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
Thank you for your kindness Lucia. We loved hosting you and your husband to our property, and hear you may be visiting us next year- we're blocking out your villa for you! Lucia was visited daily by the local chickens- might have something to do with her feeding them- hahahaha. Lucia and her husband included a visit to Aitutaki during their stay- a must/should do - something to consider when you're planning a visit to the Cook islands.
Kia manuia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Titikaveka
0.9 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
2.7 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel & Villas
1.4 mi away
Sea Change Villas
Sea Change Villas
#1 of 12 in Titikaveka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Little Polynesian Resort
Little Polynesian Resort
#1 of 2 in Titikaveka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
5.0 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Akapuao Holiday Studio Villas 1 & 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Akapuao Holiday Studio Villas 1 & 2

Property: Te Akapuao Holiday Studio Villas 1 & 2
Address: Akapuao | Titikaveka, Titikaveka, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Titikaveka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Titikaveka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two self contained studio villas are situated in the extensively planted grounds of the family property. Sleeps 2 mx 4 extra $30 per person after 2 A swimming pool and etertainment deck compliment Te Akapuao. Both studio villas have insect screens- a must for the night mossies, smoke alarms in all rooms, safes and security grills on main doors. Set up off the Te Ara o Toi the ancient inland road and nestled on the gentle slopes of Akapuao hills, Te Akapuao is less than a 5 minute walk (a 1 minute drive), to the private family beach and Charlies Beach Cafe at the edge of Akapuao Marine Park Reserve, small village shop the 'Fruits of Rarotonga' cafe, Maire Nui Gardens and Cafe, and the Little Polynesian 5 Star restaurant for that extra special 'dine out' night. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Te Akapuao Holiday Studio Villas 1 & 2 Rarotonga, Cook Islands - Titikaveka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing