We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glenys and Ian”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Titikaveka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Te Akapuao Holiday Home and Studio Villas
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Glenys and Ian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

A beautiful location. Tranquil and relaxing with the beach a short distance away. Everything you needed was provided. Thankyou for a wonderful stay Mary and Charlie and the fresh fruit that graced our table was amazing. Thanks again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenys F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

Il start with the positives...amazing setting, nice hosts and good location. I stayed in the main house and it was clean and comfortable.
Negatives - had cold showers for most of our stay and unfortunately this was not fixed during our 9 day stay; the roosters will drive you absolutely insane! Woke us up at about 3am every single day! Not good for a holiday!, the tap leaked in the kitchen and was not fixed while we were there, the people before us had broken microwave and toaster, microwave was not replaced, and toaster replaced after 3 days.
Also, be aware - take photos of all the plates etc when you leave to prove what was there. Our party has been accused of taking/breaking 5 plates, 5 glasses, $80 oven tray and the dripping tap!! You are required to give credit card before you stay and they will just charge your card - really unfair! I personally think a dripping tap is a maintenance issue and not the responsibility of guests! We brought it to their attention because it was wasting water! Imagine going to hotel and being charged to fix a leaking tap. Really disappointed as hosts were lovely when we were there and have now put a real downer on the wedding our group went over for.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emzy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moananui59, Owner at Te Akapuao Holiday Home and Studio Villas, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
I was saddened by this review from this guest, however am happy that they enjoyed our beautiful property.This party of friends came in for a wedding. We watched them enjoy the many dinners and drinks on our deck, and were pleased that they invited their friends over to enjoy our facilities, including our pool, that is gated and fenced for the little ones. The babies were a delight.

If you are reading this and are feeling a little aghast at her comments, I am happy to be able to have right of reply.

First of all roosters, island wide, crow at liberty. Even if they were culled from around the property (which is cruel), there's still the ones in the neighbors trees, down the road or up in the mountains.
The showers in the main house runs off gas. We replaced this. It was still sporadic they said, then we found someone had fiddled with the settings on the tank. We reset this and heard no more. The tap was dripping 2 days after they arrived. Not on arrival.
The microwave was waiting for a new plate, and the toaster we had to bring in. The guest forgot to mention that there were two other microwaves and two other toasters on the property. And two other showers that run on solar power that need to be boosted for an hour BEFORE a shower, not left on the entire week.
Breakages of plates and glasses are charged at a minimum $5 each, in this case 8 went missing/broken as well as the roasting pan. On their departure wece found 2 other glasses, a coffee mug, a bowl, a towel and a plate which may have came in with their visitors from other holiday homes. We have since found which holiday homes the beer mug and the blue bowl came from...The roasting pan needs replacement. No more need be said. Their credit card was not charged, but captured, as in all good business practice world wide on checkin. Your card was not charged L, and had you booked into a hotel, you would get charged for the damage..

And the little memento of the hens/bucks party that was left behind was not appreciated. The guests that came in after you, were kind to not mention it. How embarrassing if the little ones had found it.

So the beauty of renting a holiday home in the islands is your ability to have freedom to entertain, cater for yourself your friends and your family with big family dinners, and relax, knowing that you have your own privacy and most of the comforts of home- we are an island remember, so some of the modern conveniences we do supply at our place are fully equipped kitchens(3), fire extinguishers, smoke alarms, TV's, DVD's, SKY TV in the main house, personal safes,catering bain maires, extra tables and chairs, 3 washing machines,a huge fruit bowl which we replenish, your own pool, bbq and chilly bin for those cold ones.
We just ask that you respect our properties and keep yourselves safe.
Many holiday homes are now reluctant to rent to wedding parties or large groups because of damage to their properties and loud parties. It is heartbreaking to find damage and wastage, whether it be as in this case the glasses and plates, but to appliances and fixtures, furniture and plants.Remember you are not paying hotel prices.
May I also remind you that I gave you a 10% discount because you were a returning guest. which would have made your holiday accommodation cost no more than $55 per night each for the 12 of you. Try paying $190 per night for 2 persons for a hotel room with no cooking facilities, no deck to entertain your friends and family, and your own pool........
You also forgot to mention that we set up your flower archway on the beach for your wedding, the table for the signing of the registry with a flower centerpiece, and provided covered chairs for your ceremony, and our own little string band. It was a gift to you. How sad.
But Rarotonga will remain, her beauty, her people and her culture.
Come and enjoy our little paradise, we are waiting to share this island with you, but please leave it as beautiful as you found it.
Oh and wear a flower in your ear.
Kia Manuia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

This was such an amazing holiday, Mary and Charlie our hosts made us feel so welcome and had so many neat ideas of things we could explore and do while we were on the island. Such a great location, just a short stroll to the beautiful white sand and piercing blue waters.

Without a doubt the #1 accommodation I have experienced.

Wish I was there right now!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidlaban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

We just stayed here for a week to celebrate my father in law 60th birthday. It was my family first trip overseas (our 4 1/2 year old and 2 year old) we were very excited to arrive. It was lovely meeting Mary and Charlie they had sandwiches waiting for us which we really enjoyed after our long trip.We loved having the pool which we swim in 3 times a day it was great swimming in the morning with the kids and the best part was swimming at night time when the kids were asleep. The house was prefect size as there was 8 people in total and felt like a home away from home. We cooked most nights so the bbq was great to be able to just anything from there garden and also enjoyed the cocktails by the pool. Such a treat to have all the lovely fresh fruit I hope we will be back next time we visit rarotonga.

Room Tip: The main house was an excellent size for 8 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarinaMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

We stayed at Te Akapuao in July with a group of friends when we visited Rarotonga for a wedding. We utilised the holiday home and one of the studio villas. Charlie and Mary were fantastic hosts warm, welcoming and very accommodating - we arrived to home baking and Mary even scoured the island for mint for our cocktails! I really can't express how welcome we were made by our fantastic hosts. We were sad to leave and hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

Our extended family (11 of us) stayed at Te Akapuao for 11 days in total, as we were in Rarotonga for our son's wedding. We had some people coming and going at different times, but nothing was too much trouble for Mary and Charlie.
Te Akapuao is a fabulous facility and all our family thoroughly enjoyed their stay.
We catered for a large group (after wedding barbecue) with great ease.
Mary and Charlie are the most fantastic hosts and the whole complex is amazing.
Would highly recommend to other travellers.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

Te Akapuao more than exceeded our expectations! Mary was a fantastic host, right from our very first email. She was really helpful and extremely accommodating with us before we arrived - nothing was a problem for her. She met us on arrival and made us feel at home straight away.
We stayed in the Studio Villas - they were immaculately clean and very comfortable and well appointed with everything we needed. The location is also really good. While you're not right on the beach, it's only a 5 minute walk down the hill and it's only 700m from the door to some of the best snorkelling on the island. It would be an ideal spot for a large family holiday - the deck and pool area are very well set up for this.
Mary knows how to look after her guests - the home-baked birthday cakes were fantastic! I'd definitely recommend Te Akapuao and will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aldous D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Titikaveka
0.9 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
2.7 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel & Villas
1.4 mi away
Sea Change Villas
Sea Change Villas
#1 of 12 in Titikaveka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Little Polynesian Resort
Little Polynesian Resort
#1 of 2 in Titikaveka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
5.0 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Akapuao Holiday Home and Studio Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Akapuao Holiday Home and Studio Villas

Property: Te Akapuao Holiday Home and Studio Villas
Address: Akapuao, Titikaveka 0000, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Titikaveka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Titikaveka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Te Akapuao is the perfect getaway holiday retreat for groups or large families. A large 4 bedroomed holiday home and two self contained studio villas are situated in the extensively planted grounds of the family property. Sleeps 12! A gated and fenced swimming pool and large entertainment deck compliment Te Akapuao. Both studio villas and main house have insect screens- a must for the night mossies, smoke alarms in all rooms, safes and security grills on main doors. Set up off the Te Ara o Toi the ancient inland road and nestled on the gentle slopes of Akapuao hills, Te Akapuao is less than a 5 minute walk (a 1 minute drive), to the private family beach and the Charlies Beach Cafe & Grill,Paddleboard and Kayak Hire and cafe at the edge of Akapuao Marine Park Reserve, small village shop the 'Fruits of Rarotonga' cafe, Maire Nui Gardens and Cafe, the Pawpaw Patch Restaurant and the Little Polynesian 5 Star restaurant for that extra special 'dine out' night. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Te Akapuao Holiday Home And Studio Villas Rarotonga, Cook Islands - Titikaveka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing