We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpected Quality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sands Restaurant

Sands Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 7 Restaurants in Titikaveka
Price range: US$9 - US$23
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unexpected Quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

It doesn't really look much from the outside but the service was really excellent. Even the food was awesome and the presentation also really great. Go past the first look and have a great meal here, you'll love it!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daniel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    55
    38
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice food but slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

My partner and I visited this restaurant twice. The first time my meal of risotto and chicken was very tasty, but my partner asked for his steak medium- it came out almost raw. The topping they put on it also meant he couldn't eat it (allergic to cream). They didn't charge us for this at the end which was nice.

We decided to return a few nights later and made staff aware we were only able to wait 25 minutes for food as we said we had something to attend after, which we were getting picked up from our hotel for. They said we could only choose from a couple of items on the menu, which was fine, we did so. After 20 mins of waiting we enquired as to how much longer the food was going to take.. They hadn't even started our order. We left hungry and disappointed!

Helpful?
1 Thank Nat O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Back to paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Love the new deck area down on the beach for dinner. Ine still makes the best cocktails, it was great coming back here

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank NgaRei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better than it looks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

We put off going to Sands until late in our trip to Rarotonga. Every time we walked by on the beach it looked like there was no restaurant on the beach. Don't make the same mistake. The food was wonderful and there is a beautiful sunset to be seen, just bring your sunglasses.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“good food reasonable price average service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

fantastic location and nice clean food. only let down was some very average service. price was medium to high but the view is what you are paying for

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank foodloverNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sands Restaurant also viewed

 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Sands Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing