We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barefoot - beach - beautiful setting- beautiful food”
Review of Sands Restaurant

Sands Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 7 Restaurants in Titikaveka
Price range: US$6 - US$20
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Great dining, mouth-watering cocktails and a warm relaxed atmosphere are just a few reasons to visit the onsite 'Moana Restaurant & Bar' at Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel. 'Moana' is an island favourite with a reputation for serving quality local and international cuisine. Moana has just launched a new menu & wine list as well as the world famous $3.50 'Beer on Tap' all day special featuring Raro Lager, Steinlager & Cider. Available for breakfast, lunch & dinner - daily.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Barefoot - beach - beautiful setting- beautiful food”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

A real tropical island eating experience. Best nights we had in Raro were right here. The sizzling parrot fish was AMAZING

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kerrily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    61
    42
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bad anniversary dinner - June 2014”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We had heard good things of this restaurant so decided to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary there last week. My husband ordered the slow cooked pork belly entree. This came with about 3 slices of pork meat about 3 inches long, 1 inch wide and cut finely with a sharp knife/razor. Not what we thought it would be for about $18. My main was the salmon pasta in cream sauce. Imagine a big bowl of cream with pasta floating in it and no salmon. About 10 mins into our mains, the waitress appeared with a plate and 2 small pieces of salmon, advising the chef had forgot to put the salmon in my "salmon pasta". Hubby ordered the curry for his main and while he loved the too small amount of curry, the rice could have been used as a cricket ball. We had to cut the rice with a knife and there were no seperate rice particles. may have had 1/2 hour in the microwave perhaps. Then to top it all off they charged me a 3% surcharge on a debit card which never happened anyway else on the island. The only positive from that night was the lovely staff, shame about the kitchen. Sue

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank huwanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not open yet!”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Was staying just down the road. Popped in at 5pm for a cocktail but , sorry, we're not open yet! Many other places are open to the public from 3pm for happy hour but apparently not here. So, we continued on to the little Polynesian instead -just a stone's throw away. Very much open! Decided to eat here too so, sorry Sands, you missed out on $150 even though you had 3staff on that i could see at 5pm but "weren't open".

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Terri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unexpected Quality”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

It doesn't really look much from the outside but the service was really excellent. Even the food was awesome and the presentation also really great. Go past the first look and have a great meal here, you'll love it!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daniel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice food but slow service”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

My partner and I visited this restaurant twice. The first time my meal of risotto and chicken was very tasty, but my partner asked for his steak medium- it came out almost raw. The topping they put on it also meant he couldn't eat it (allergic to cream). They didn't charge us for this at the end which was nice.

We decided to return a few nights later and made staff aware we were only able to wait 25 minutes for food as we said we had something to attend after, which we were getting picked up from our hotel for. They said we could only choose from a couple of items on the menu, which was fine, we did so. After 20 mins of waiting we enquired as to how much longer the food was going to take.. They hadn't even started our order. We left hungry and disappointed!

Helpful?
1 Thank Nat O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sands Restaurant also viewed

 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Sands Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing