We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice dinner.”
Review of Sands Restaurant

Sands Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 7 Restaurants in Titikaveka
Price range: US$11 - US$33
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Great dining, mouth-watering cocktails and a warm relaxed atmosphere are just a few reasons to visit the onsite Sands Restaurant and Bar at Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel. The Sands is an island favourite with a reputation for serving qualitylocal and international cuisine.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
92 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice dinner.”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We ate at Sands on our first night on the island as it is very close to where we are staying.
The food was nice and it is fairly priced in comparison to other eateries on the island.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank PeteNHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    61
    41
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Hit and miss?”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

18 months ago, great, loved it.

This time? Bland, uninspired and very poor cocktails (think they ran out of pineapple juice).

Last time I didn't review, would have been a five star. This time three, so I split the difference!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank exile66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Barefoot - beach - beautiful setting- beautiful food”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

A real tropical island eating experience. Best nights we had in Raro were right here. The sizzling parrot fish was AMAZING

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kerrily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bad anniversary dinner - June 2014”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We had heard good things of this restaurant so decided to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary there last week. My husband ordered the slow cooked pork belly entree. This came with about 3 slices of pork meat about 3 inches long, 1 inch wide and cut finely with a sharp knife/razor. Not what we thought it would be for about $18. My main was the salmon pasta in cream sauce. Imagine a big bowl of cream with pasta floating in it and no salmon. About 10 mins into our mains, the waitress appeared with a plate and 2 small pieces of salmon, advising the chef had forgot to put the salmon in my "salmon pasta". Hubby ordered the curry for his main and while he loved the too small amount of curry, the rice could have been used as a cricket ball. We had to cut the rice with a knife and there were no seperate rice particles. may have had 1/2 hour in the microwave perhaps. Then to top it all off they charged me a 3% surcharge on a debit card which never happened anyway else on the island. The only positive from that night was the lovely staff, shame about the kitchen. Sue

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank huwanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not open yet!”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Was staying just down the road. Popped in at 5pm for a cocktail but , sorry, we're not open yet! Many other places are open to the public from 3pm for happy hour but apparently not here. So, we continued on to the little Polynesian instead -just a stone's throw away. Very much open! Decided to eat here too so, sorry Sands, you missed out on $150 even though you had 3staff on that i could see at 5pm but "weren't open".

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Terri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sands Restaurant also viewed

 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Sands Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing