We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This really is paradise”
Review of Royale Takitumu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royale Takitumu
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“This really is paradise”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We have recently returned from a week at Royale Takitumu, our delayed honeymoon. What can I say, you read all the reviews and think can it really be that good... well it really is that good, its one of the few places we have been to that we really felt sad at leaving and its very easy to understand why there are so many repeat visits, we certainly will be returning.
The service is superb, Joy and Mii are always there to offer advice, book meals, talk to us about the history of the island and deal with minor issues such as when I locked the safe and couldn't open it. We found ourselves chatting to them for ages about anything and everything. The in house activities such as morning coffee and muffins, Petanque competition and Flower Lei weaving were all excellent fun and gives you the opportunity to meet the other guests.
We booked a Beach front Honeymoon Villa which was right on the beach. We stayed in #3 but having had a look we would have been happy to have stayed in any of the villas. The villa was clean, well laid out, spacious and well appointed. Its those little extra touches which make all the difference such as when you arrive at past midnight to find flowers on the bed, fresh fruit and other essentials in the fridge.
The location is fantastic and there is something special about waking up to a deep blue sea and falling asleep to a star light sky. As others have said there is no sign and you would easily drive past and not realise its even there. The beach is probably one of the best on the island and the lagoon on this side of the island is wide so there is plenty of opportunities for safe kayaking and snorkelling which we did everyday. There are stacks of fish to see in the lagoon and the if you take the kayak out don't forget to turn around and look at the view of the island.
The swimming pool is lovely and on the one day when the wind was a little strong on the beach it offers a sheltered alternative.
Meals are no problem, if there is a problem its the fact that you will eat too much, there are so many close alternatives to either walk to or in some cases they collect you, and the quality of the food was fantastic. Listen to Joy and Mii they have the best recommendations for both meals and activities.
In summary if you are going to Rarotonga go to Royale Takitumu you will not regret it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AucklandJonathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Kia Orana Jonathan and thank you so much for your amazing review of Royale Takitumu. We like to think of Royale Takitumu as a little piece of paradise, and we are so pleased when we read that others feel the same way. Thanks also for your very kind words about our staff - we are so proud of them and they do an amazing job. Hopefully you listened to Mii's recommendation that you return for another visit very soon! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    29
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
288
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We have just come back from 7 nights at Royale Takitumu and can't wait to get back. There is everything you need for a great, relaxing holiday and in the best possible surroundings. This was our third visit to Rarotonga but definitely the best. We had a beachfront villa which had amazing views and the beach would be the best on the island. The petanque was a lot of fun and great to meet other guests. We would like to thank Mii and Joy for helping to make the week a great one, nothing was too much trouble. This was a delayed honeymoon for us and we couldn't have asked for better. Jacqui and Neil

Room Tip: Beach front villas had amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Kia Orana Jacqui & Neil and thank so much for your Amazing review of Royale Takitumu. We want to again congratulate you on your 'delayed' honeymoon - thanks for spending it with us. Very happy to read that your stay with us has been your favorite visit yet to the Cook Islands. We do hope that you plan an Anniversary trip to Royale Takitumu, very very soon. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balclutha, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed at the Royale Takitumu for 9 nights in September 2013, this being our third visit to Rarotonga that we have stayed at this beautiful resort.
A perfect location, so peaceful and relaxing. The villas are excellent, spacious, and well fitted throughout. Would recommend the beachfront villas with their amazing views of the lagoon, but the lagoon view villas are just as nice.
The staff, Amber, Joy and Mii are fabulous hosts, with the morning tea on Tuesdays, petanque matches on Friday evenings, an excellent way to meet the other guests from around the world.
You have a white sandy beach at your doorstep for snorkling, kayaking, sunbathing, or just cooling off from the sunshine, and also a gorgeous pool area for relaxing should the beach conditions become unfavourable.
There are some lovely restaurants to visit especially " Waterline " and " Kikau Hut", and would recommend "Kai Pizza" ( wood-fired mobile pizza wagon ) for a great takeaway meal option.
If you feel like a nice coffee and cake, try LBV in Muri.
Another couple of " must-do's" while enjoying your stay at Royale Takitumu are Te Punanga Nui Markets on Saturday mornings, experience an Island Night at Te Vara Nui Village, and to attend a Sunday morning church service at the Titikaveka Christian Church across the road from the resort.
We always remember the advice from our hosts- "You are now on Island time, If they are late they are still coming "
Royale Takitumu is truly paradise and we enjoy our stays there, so will be back sometime soon.

Room Tip: All villas are great, but would recommend beachfront if possible. We have had Villa #10 on last two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGawns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
A great big Kia Orana to The Gawns and thank you so much for your great review. It is always wonderful to see our friends returning to Royale Takitumu, and it was great seeing you again for your third visit. Thanks for your very kind words. We can't wait for your fourth visit - hope it's soon. Thanks again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

There is something very special about Royale Takitumu.....its so private that there is not even a sign outside the property telling you its there.....your driver (and all the locals), simply know where to find it. The villas are 'simply' delightful - nothing too extravagant but contain everything you could possibly want during your stay. The staff cannot do enough for you and its always with a genuine smile. The pool area is wonderful and you feel as though you're in your own private pool with a lovely garden so well cared for and lush. The sea and beach are literally right there so even in your laziest moments its an easy stroll and you can fall straight into a hammock under the coconut trees if you're not sure you'll quite reach the beach !! :). The water is clear - that lovely aqua colour and you've little canoes to play around in as well as lovely sun loungers to ponder the day away on......its a wonderful resort in a great position.

Room Tip: The honeymoon and executive villas are right on the beach. We had #7 which is the middle one that l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 67Petals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Kia Orana 67Petals and thank you so much for your amazing review of Royale Takitumu. What a fantastic review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and thanks so much for your kind words about our location, our Villas, and our amazing staff. We hope your travels return you very soon to Rarotonga, and back to your home at Royale Takitumu. Meitaki!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
295 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

WOW! The wonderful WOW moments start the minute you get to thus beautiful resort and don't stop until you leave. We had the pleasure of staying at this pacific paradise two times, the first in May 2011 and most recently with a second visit in May 2013! There are some places that take your breath away and this is one of them. When I need a moment of solace, sometimes I will just close my eyes and visualize the pristine secluded white sand beach, stunning lagoon and palm tress fringing the comfy hammock swaying in the island breeze! Paradise in every way!

Royale Takitumu is located in Titaveka township about a 15 minute drive from the airport. There is only one main two lane road on this gorgeous little island. No way to get lost. We arrived at sunrise so we were guaranteed early check in at Royale Takitumu. This is a huge plus after a red eye from LA. Once here, we were greeted with warm island smiles from the gracious hosts Amber, Bill, Mii and Joy! Amber and Mii have mastered the art of making each guest feel like family. These two women are wonderful!

The grounds are lush and tropical. Well lit pathways guide you to your traditional island hut! Our first trip was spent in the premier ocean front suite. We woke up to pristine sunrise and went to bed with a perfect view of the stunning lagoon. All rooms are comfortable, clean, designed in traditional Cook Island decor and extremely well equipped for everything you might need. Full kitchen, big fridge, TV and WiFi access. The resort provides a welcome fruit basket that has enough goodies for breakfast for the week. The second visit was in a garden suite. Again, very big with a similar layout to the ocean view suites. We had a direct view of the gorgeous lagoon from our patio in this room too!

Did I mention the lagoon... OMG! The coral is alive and full of fish. There is somewhat of a current on windy days, but snorkeling is fabulous and there are so many fish. Plan your snorkeling with the tides. At low tide you can just walk the lagoon and gaze at the fish like you are in an aquarium.
The resort provides kayaks for guest use and snorkel equipment.

The white sand beaches are breathtaking and endless. We walked about 30 minutes in each direction, not seeing any other people for miles. The sunrises are just as spectacular as the big fiery sunsets. The resort is at peace with nature... From the friendly house cat to the pretty birds and the many stray dogs running on the beach! The staff plan a couple events during the week to let the guests get to know each other. The welcome tea and the Pentanque tourney are great fun and just another way to add a flair of friendship to the stay.

Roratonga is a quiet island and Royale Takitumu is peacefully away from wild nightlife. If you desire action after dark that is more than stargazing and snuggling, then I suggest Muri Beach. but if you want a romantic week of island relaxation, Royale Takitumu is the place for you! If you can, plan your trip around the full moon. The shimmer of the moon on the lagoon was as bright as daylight! May is a beautiful time of year in Cook Islands! Bright and sunny and little humidity.

I recommend renting a car at least 1-2 days to see and explore the island. Take a walk to Muri Beach and plan it at low tide so you can walk across the lagoon to the many motus. The cross island trek is a beautiful hike, but I recommend it only for people with good fitness. There are many steep parts and the rains can make part of the route slippery. There are a couple streams to cross also. There are some good local restaurants, especially Vaima. But we had our best meals with local fruits and veggies and fresh meat from the butcher shop in town that we prepared on the Barbq near the pool on the resort!

Royale Takitumu is our Island Home! We Loved our stays there and can't wait for our return visit!

Kia Manuia,
Steve and Julie Beck

Room Tip: For a special splurge, choose the honeymoon or beach front bungalow. The lagoon view is stunning and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjworldtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Kia Orana Steve & Julie. Thank you so much for your amazing review of Royale Takitumu. What can we say other than . . . WOW - what a great review! We love hearing from our guests, and particularly our many returning guests. We are so very fortunate to have many couples returning year after year after year, and to think that our little, private, thatched villa property is considered to be so many people's Island Home really humbles us. It was wonderful to see you again, and we so enjoyed having you back at Royale Takitumu. We do hope that you don't wait another two years before your next visit. Always remember . . . your Island Home at Royale Takitumu awaits you. Meitaki!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bosworth, missouri
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed at the Royale Takitumu the week of September 1st and it was everything we had hoped for. The beautiful pics they show on their site are NOT doctored to look better than it really is..........it REALLY is that beautiful. The resort is not for anyone looking for a fast paced vacation with nightlife. It is very quiet, relaxed, and the staff is awesome. Joy lived up to her name, and Mii is like your favorite aunt. They will take care of any need you have from booking side trips to restaurant reservations, to finding a life vest for a husband who can't swim but loves to be on the water.The property is beautifully maintained and beach is yours to yourself most of the time.The snorkeling is fantastic.... No reason to go anywhere else on the island. You can kayak in the lagoon and see fish and clams almost as well as snorkeling. We hope to return and will definitely stay at the Royal Takitumu again !

Room Tip: We stayed in the VIP villa, however, the lagoon view rooms are wonderful views as well and we would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Kia Orana Trish and thanks so much for your Perfect review of Royale Takitumu. We so appreciate your kind words about Joy and Mii. We are very proud of them, and they do a fantastic job. We are happy you chose Royale Takitumu for your Rarotonga holiday, and we hope your travels return you to our friendly shores very soon. Meitaki!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a 5 days for our honeymoon in May 2009 in one of the beach front villas. Wonderful place, welcomed from day 1, even when it was 1am :) we had a lovely welcoming fruit bowl and a bottle of bubbly :) we couldn't recommend Royale Takitumu enough for couples wanting a great time away in a quite corner of Rarotonga. Nearly forgot the free kayaks and reef gear :) thanks again for a great stay :)

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank scorpion78nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Kia Orana scorion78nz and thanks for your FANTASTIC review of Royale Takitumu. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay, and we are so pleased that you chose Royale Takitumu for your Honeymoon to the Cook Islands. We only wish you could have stayed longer! We hope you can return to visit us for your Anniversary celebration! Congratulations again, and Meitaki!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Titikaveka
1.6 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
3.7 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
2.1 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
541 reviews
2.2 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
0.5 mi away
Little Polynesian Resort
Little Polynesian Resort
#1 of 2 in Titikaveka
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royale Takitumu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royale Takitumu

Property: Royale Takitumu
Address: PO Box 1031, Titikaveka 0001, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Titikaveka
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Titikaveka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royale Takitumu 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royale Takitumu provides our guests with a truly relaxing, intimate, beachfront holiday with a distinctively authentic, Polynesian Cook Islands experience. Ten individual, private bungalows boast breathtaking views of Rarotonga's finest white sand beach. Royal Takitumu is a small, secluded private resort, located close to nearby sites, shops and restaurants, with services you expect from a large resort. Royale Takitumu embodies the wonderful and unique aspects of this island paradise. Royal Takitumu - Genuine. Natural. Cook Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Royale Takitumu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royale Takitumu Hotel Titikaveka
Royale Takitumu Rarotonga, Cook Islands - Titikaveka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing