We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply superb!!”
Review of Royale Takitumu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royale Takitumu
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Simply superb!!”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Our stay ay Royale Takitumu was the most relaxing, enjoyable time we have had in many years. Mii, the manager was an outstanding hostess, making sure we were made to feel welcome from the start and ensuring we had every bit of information we needed to enjoy our time in the Cook Islands. The pace of the whole island is laid back and relaxed and at Royale Takitumu it is so easy to fit right in with a beautiful beach, crystal clear warm water and incredible snorkeling right on your doorstep. The rooms were well appointed and serviced and very comfortable.
We both would go back tomorrow and recommend others book there for a great relaxing couples holiday.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are the best by far for views and all very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack19rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Kia Orana and thank you so much for your Superb review of Royale Takitumu. We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you so much for your kind words about our property, the private thatched-roof villas, our amazing location, and most importantly our amazing staff of whom we are so proud. We do hope that your travels return you to Royale Takitumu very soon.
Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    29
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
289
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We chose Royale Takitumu from our travel agent at Costco.com. She had been here in 2012 and gave glowing reviews...From the moment we arrived, we were treated like family. This trip was a surprise for my husband's birthday. Our lagoon villa #7 was just about 15 steps down the center path to the beach! They have only 10 villas, so you will not be bothered by a lot of noise or commotion. As we arrived, we were provided with breakfast already in our room - bread for toast, jams, butter, cereals, fresh fruit platter, milk, juice and teas and coffee. It made us feel special after a grueling day of travel and a 10 hour flight to the island.The accommodations were spacious and our jacuzzi tub was large enough for 3...the quiet and solitude there was perfect for total R&R...we were close enough to walk to several restaurants, but did rent a car for two days. The manager held a morning tea for the guests where she served huge homemade muffins with butter and jam, teas and French press coffee. Another day, she provided a game on the lawn by the pool with prizes for the winning couple, along with all sorts of snacks, relishes cheeses and sparkling white wine. Whatever you asked for was handle promptly and courteously. Mii set up reservations for us at a local restaurant, and for a night at the HIghland Paradise dinner show....she recommended it highly and it was just as she had said...well worth the money. We had intended to attend the "Progressive DInner" night, but the owners were on holiday so it was not available. We had absolutely no issues and found the manager Mii to be more helpful than we could have expected. t all times we were treated with respect, care and concern for our every need. The beach is far too beautiful for words. Use their kayaks free of charge or snorkeling gear...reef shoes are provided free as well, along with a small library of books, and games. There is a pool with very comfortable lounges, and usually you were alone...rarely did we see more than one or two couples. They were gracious to provide late check out at 9:30 pm to accommodate our midnight flight back to the U.S. We purchased transfers when booking our trip, which was quite helpful; they were on time, and no tipping here - they find it offensive! Food is expensive here as it is mostly imported. Be sure to take New Zealand dollars and you will have no problem, or use your credit card. The smaller places do not take credit cards, or there is a minimum charge. The beauty and serenity of Rarotonga, along with the calmness of the people there is hard to find elsewhere. There is no rush about anything, and don't worry about bargaining, or having pushy salespeople stalk you - it just does not happen here. There really is no way to say enough about the graciousness of Mii, and Bill R. the owner. Their hospitality exceeded our expectations, and I would not be afraid to highly recommend a visit here...the only thing they cannot do is guarantee 100% sunshine 24/7. I hope to return here someday.

Room Tip: Villa #7 - right on the center path to the beach with gorgeous palm trees framing the walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Kia Orana Dee and thanks for your Paradise review of Royale Takitumu. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It sounds like you had the opportunity to really relax, and embrace the quiet solitude and slow pace of Royale Takitumu and Rarotonga. Thanks for your very kind words about our property, your villa, the experience, and most importantly your interaction with our amazing team. We also want to thank your Costco Travel agent for recommending Royale Takitumu to you - it sounds like it was a perfect fit! We look forward to seeing you again, very soon, on our friendly shores. Meitaki!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle River, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My wife and I chose Royale Takitumu primarily due to the numerous excellent Trip Advisor reviews. I am by nature a skeptical person and supposed that while it would be a good place to spend our 30th anniversary, it would have a hard time living up to all the hype of the reviews. That was just not the case. The fact is, it's difficult to write a review that evokes the actual feeling of these villas without sounding a little over the top.
We arrived late in the evening and found a platter of fresh fruit, along with milk, eggs, cereal and juice in the fridge. The room was cool and clean. We stayed in the Garden View villa which, although not right on the beach was very private and just a stones throw away from the ocean. And the lagoon offered some of the most relaxing snorkeling I've ever seen. We have enough GoPro footage of fish and coral and crystal clear water to bore out kids for years to come.
The morning after our arrival, we met the lovely and gracious Mii, who had already set up a reservation for Christmas Lunch for us since many of the restaurants would be closed for the holiday. I can't say enough about Mii and her hospitality. She befriended my wife with a sort of graciousness that you would expect from family or old friends, even meeting her one afternoon to teach her to make a wreath for her hair out of flowers from the property so she could wear it to a village tour and show. She helped us plan and arrange an evening sail and a fishing trip, then gave us advice on how to cook the fish. Mii definitely added a different dimension to the visit, making us feel like welcome guests to her island rather than tourists. We'd read a lot of reviews that say much the same thing. Again, I was skeptical, but these reviews were spot on.
We wanted a place that was private with good beach access and a friendly staff. The fact that Royale Takitumu doesn't have a bar or restaurant on site is a big plus if you want a quiet island getaway. Though all there bungalows seemed occupied while we were there, we rarely saw more than one or two other couples on the beach. The island is small so restaurants, bars and nightlife are easy and quick to reach if you have a car or take the bus--if you decide you want to leave the seclusion of this wonderful place.
Both Mii and Bill were great hosts and, frankly the sort of people we hope visit us in Alaska someday.
I suppose the best thing I can say about the Rarotonga in general and Royale Takitumu in particular is that my wife and I began to plan our return trip just hours after our arrival. We will be back.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seem great. We stayed in the garden view that is by the pool and a short--less than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlaskaMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Kia Orana Marc and thanks for your awesome review of Royale Takitumu. We loved reading your review, and in particular, really appreciate the very kind words about Mii. She is a gem, and we are very proud of her. It was indeed our pleasure meeting you, and we simply can't wait for your next visit. Meitaki!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

we went on our honeymoon to this gem of a place. it has a private bure and away from mainstream crowds that frequent the larger hotels, the resort had a super friendly staff who brought us fresh coconuts everyday to our doorstep.lovely people

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Kia Orana Ashil and thanks so much for your great review of Royale Takitumu. We want to again congratulate you on your wedding, and thanks so much for choosing Royale Takitumu for your romantic Cook Islands honeymoon. It was great meeting you both, and we do hope that your travels return you to Rarotonga (Anniversary trip?) very soon. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

What an unbelievable experience. We wanted to do something different for Christmas 2013 and decided on The Cook Islands for 2 weeks. After reading so many positive reviews on here about Royale Takitumu we felt confident it would suit our needs. It couldn’t have been more perfect!

From the moment we arrived the stress and hassle of our busy lives disappeared and we felt like we truly were in paradise. Being greeted by Mii, was like meeting a favourite family member. She was so warm and welcoming, every bit as friendly and helpful as we had read about.

The property is stunning. It is so perfectly laid out and right on the beach. There are only 10 villas and that was a huge draw card, as well as the fact it caters to an adults only audience (I think its 16 years and older). This gave us the peace, silence and privacy we were looking for. The gardens are beautiful, so well-kept and clean. The villas perfectly maintained, large and spacious with everything you need, fitted out with all the kitchen items to prepare breakfast, lunch or dinner as there is no restaurant at the resort. Be prepared to take some form of entertainment if you want to veg out in front of the tv.... the island only has 1 channel. But the the view and lagoon make up for it.

There are so many amazing places to eat near by, try the Little Polynesian or The Sands. Explore the rest of the island, it’s not far and there is one road that loops around the whole island making it near impossible to get lost. We hired motor scooters for our entire trip – such fun!! Plus the island doesn't have a lot of traffic so it felt safe.

After reading so many positive reviews and the recommendation that Villa 9 was the best, we emailed Mii after booking to request. We were lucky to get it, but honestly all villas are great and so close to the beach. Our villa opened out right to the sand and just a few metres from the lagoon. We felt like we were on a deserted island most days, with no one in sight – not even other guests and it was fully booked.

The lagoon water at this end of the island is calm and warm. This made snorkelling the best we have ever done. So many fish just a few metres into the water, star fish, eels, you name it. I normally stay out for about 45 mins and think I’ve seen enough, I spent 4 hours in the water one day. It’s shallow enough in most parts to stand and just explore with your snorkel just under the water. Make sure you wear lots of sunblock, even on a very cloudy day the sun bites – we found out the hard way.

We have stayed at some of the best resorts around the world and while this isn’t “5 star” by large hotel chain standards, there is something exclusive, private and very appealing about Takitumu. I was actually rather sad on our last day and the big warm hug from Mii as we departed made it even harder to leave.

We were able to meet/chat with Bill and his wife Dale (the owners) and they are just as warm and friendly as the staff and congratulations to them for running such a spectacular property.

Like most people on here that say….. “We will be back”, we are definitely going back, how could we not – its paradise.

Room Tip: Like most people have indicated, Villa 9 has the best location, tucked away on the left hand side an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bpk77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Kia Orana and WOW! Thanks for your incredible review of Royale Takitumu. We loved reading about your visit, and we so appreciate you taking the time to write this great review. It was indeed our pleasure meeting you, and we most certainly hope that you were being honest when you said you will be back. We will hold you to that! We can't wait to see you again. Meitaki!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My wife and I have just recently returned from our annual trip to the Cook Islands. We have been visiting Raratonga since 1998. Four years ago we found the Royal Takitumu and have returned each of the last four years, staying for a month each time. We rate the Takitumu as the best resort on the Island of Raratonga after staying at a few others. A small resort with lovely beach front villas close to the water. Gardens, pool area as well as the villas are very well maintained. The staff go out of their way to ensure your holiday is worry free, you only have to ask and it is done.
Thanks again Mii, Bill and Amber for another memorable stay. Hope to see you again same time this year.
R & C
Edmonton, AB Canada

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1scottraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Kia Orana R&C and thank you, thank you for your amazing review. It is always so wonderful seeing you, and we are always thrilled that you are able to visit with us for one month at a time! When we tell people about our amazing friends from Edmonton, they are jealous that you can stay with us for such a nice long visit. It is truly amazing people like you that make Royale Takitumu such a special place. We are honored that you return year after year, and we are humbled by your lovely review. You are truly part of our Royale Takitumu family. Until next year . . . Meitaki!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrenton, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

I was just looking through vacation pictures and reminiscing my lovely stay at Royal Takitumu. I'm ready to go back! The staff was incredible! Joy and Mii were just wonderful...they felt like part of my family. The grounds are beautiful, VIP bungelow was comfy and everything we needed. There are two fruit stands within walking distance, fabulous snorkeling right outside your door, delicious Monday morning tea and muffins, and the locals are the kindest around. Going to Rarotonga? Stay here. Thank you for everything, friends. We'll be back!

Lots of love,
James & Brandy

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lovemycockerspaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Kia Orana and thanks for your Paradise review - its so nice hearing from you! So glad that you enjoyed your stay, and are just honored that you felt part of our growing Royale Takitumu family. Thanks also for the great photos. Can't wait to see you again on your next visit. Thanks!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Titikaveka
1.6 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
2.1 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel & Villas
2.2 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
0.5 mi away
Little Polynesian Resort
Little Polynesian Resort
#1 of 2 in Titikaveka
494 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sea Change Villas
Sea Change Villas
#1 of 12 in Titikaveka
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royale Takitumu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royale Takitumu

Property: Royale Takitumu
Address: PO Box 1031, Titikaveka 0001, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Titikaveka
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Titikaveka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royale Takitumu 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royale Takitumu provides our guests with a truly relaxing, intimate, beachfront holiday with a distinctively authentic, Polynesian Cook Islands experience. Ten individual, private bungalows boast breathtaking views of Rarotonga's finest white sand beach. Royal Takitumu is a small, secluded private resort, located close to nearby sites, shops and restaurants, with services you expect from a large resort. Royale Takitumu embodies the wonderful and unique aspects of this island paradise. Royal Takitumu - Genuine. Natural. Cook Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Royale Takitumu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royale Takitumu Hotel Titikaveka
Royale Takitumu Rarotonga, Cook Islands - Titikaveka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing