We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite”
Review of Royale Takitumu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royale Takitumu
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed at the Takitumu 12 months ago and it was fantastic. The villas are well designed, comfortable and blend in perfectly with the surrounding grounds. The quality of the beach and snorkelling are unsurpassable where very few places could match, and the lagoon would even change to different shades of blue and green depending on the time of day. Above all it was the hospitality of Mii and crew which made it such a memorable experience. The amount of thought they made into making our stay so personal and welcome will remain etched in our memories for a long time.even now we wish return one day.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim_Lewis2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Kia Orana Kim and thanks for your Exquisite review of Royale Takitumu. It is hard to believe that it has been one year since your visit - its time for another visit! Thanks for your very kind words about our location, the grounds, the Villa, and the overall experience. It was so nice having met you during your stay, and we do hope that your travels return you to Rarotonga and to Royale Takitumu again very soon. Meitaki!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    28
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
287
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is the place to go so relaxing the villa's are very comfortable and so near to the beach,my friend and I were travelling the world and this was the best place we stayed.
You wake up and breakfast is waiting for you,sit outside in your and enjoy the view of the lagoon it's so peaceful with a nice size swimming pool which is nice and cool with beds and wicker chairs,they should take a photo of you when you arrive then take one when leaving as I swear we looked ten years younger at the end of our stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 464Maggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Kia Orana and thank you so much for your 'Heavenly' review of Royale Takitumu. You know, we sometimes think that Royale Takitumu really is the Fountain of Youth - and you seem to have proved it for us! Guests really do come, relax, and feel recharged and re-energized. It was so nice meeting you both, and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you get to return to your new home in Rarotonga - Royale Takitumu. Meitaki!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My husband and I spend a week here in April. The bungalows was comfortable like sweet home,the service was good and staff very friendly.The beach super nice we could see the beach from our bungalow ahhh wonderful, it was a paradise.My husband enjoyed each morning the kayak.
The breakfast was fresh, different every day, very sad when you have to say good bye.The trasportation to and for the airport on time very well organized.I would high recomenmend The Royal Takitumu.
I hope, we make it back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecider D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Kia Orana and thank you so much for your wonderful review of Royale Takitumu. It was so nice meeting you, and we are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for your very kind words. We do hope that you get to return to Royale Takitumu very soon. Meitaki!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We have recently stayed at the Royal Takitumu villas in Rarotonga. The position on the southern side of the island overlooking the logon is beautiful. White sands, coral reef teaming with tropical fish.
The villas are nicely appointed with all you need for a peaceful break away.
The staff and owner of the villas go out of their way to make your stay a memorable one.
Highly recommend if you are heading to the Cook Islands, that you make this resort your destination.
We will most definitely be back in the furture.

Room Tip: All of the villas in this resort are highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 62PsB62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Kia Orana and a great big thank you for your wonderful review of Royale Takitumu. We are thrilled to read how happy you were with your stay. Thanks for your very kind words about our private, thatched-roof Villas, our amazing location, and our great staff. We can't wait for your next visit. Meitaki!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon, Ohio
Level Contributor
1,275 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,583 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed here to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and could not have been more pleased. The grounds and Villas are beautiful and the owners and manager are outstanding hosts, attending to any need and helping make any arrangements for restaurants, transportation and tours. We stayed in Villa #9 which is secluded, peaceful and right on the Raro’s best beach and lagoon, Titikaveka. The beach consists of soft coral sand and is long, wide and nearly deserted while the lagoon formed by the barrier reef remains deep enough for snorkeling even at low tide unlike others on Raro. The lagoon is full of fish, blue starfish and other invertebrates and snorkel gear is provided if you do not have your own. Kayaks are also provided and paddling around the lagoon, one can look down into the crystal clear water and see almost as much as if one were snorkeling. While there is no restaurant or bar on site, the Sands and Little Polynesian are within walking distance and the Vaima and Kikau Hut provide transportation. In addition, the Villa, besides a bedroom, large bathroom, large main room and a veranda; has kitchen facilities. While there is a small convenient store across the road, the real grocery store, Wigmores is beyond walking distance but serviced by the bus route that circles the island. Also, there is no problem bringing food into Raro so things like bacon, oatmeal and other dry goods can be brought from home and upon arrival the airport duty free shop opens and one can purchase any alcoholic beverages one may want for their stay at a reasonable price. We would typically wake-up, take a walk on the beach and a quick swim in the lagoon followed by a relaxing, self-catered breakfast on the veranda and go to one of the island’s many fine restaurants for lunch and dinner. While it is possible to get by without a vehicle, we would still recommend renting one if one has any plans of exploring the island or visiting any of the more distant restaurants or beaches as the bus only runs once an hour in each direction. While one has the sense of seclusions and privacy, a number of activities that we really enjoyed are organized throughout the week permitting an opportunity to meet and enjoy the company of the other guests, the wonderful hosts and Salvador, the resident cat. Internet access is available for a reasonable extra charge and although we had some difficulty with it one day, it was generally reliable allowing us to Skype our kids halfway around the world back in the USA. In summary, the Royal Takitumu is a wonderful place with exceptional hosts in one of the nicest places I have been to in the world. We both highly recommend the Royal Takitumu to anyone looking for an exceptional, peaceful and relaxing place to stay. If we are lucky enough to return to Raro someday, without a doubt, we will be staying at the Royal Takitumu.

Room Tip: While all villas are great, stay in a beachfront one if possible. Villa 9 is probably the most secl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve1362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyaleTakitumu, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Kia Orana Steve and thanks so much for your simply amazing review of Royale Takitumu. We really appreciate the very kind words about our property, and our staff. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay - and thanks for sharing your wonderful photos. A great big congratulations again on your 25th Wedding Anniversary, and thanks again for spending it with us at Royale Takitumu. We hope to see you again very soon on our friendly shores. Meitaki!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

From the moment we got to this resort we were looked after and made to feel at home. After being offered an ice cold paw paw and mango drink, we were shown our bungalow and from that moment had uninterrupted views of the lagoon on our doorstep. Incredible hospitality with Mii our host on call for any questions we had, otherwise, we felt like we were in our own private paradise. Highly recommend to couples wanting a quiet, serene and beautiful location to relax on holiday. Thanks!

Room Tip: The beach front rooms really are beach front. Easy walk down the beach to resort restaurants. Close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timandkelly2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyaleTakitumu, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Kia Orana Tim & Kelly and thanks for your amazing review of Paradise! We also feel that Royale Takitumu is paradise, and we are so proud to share it with amazing people like you. Thanks for your great review, and thanks for sharing your great photos. Hope to see you again, very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

What a wonderful trip we just had at the Royale Takitumu! We had our own little casita just steps away from the water. This special spot is on the south side of the island which is much quieter and the water deeper which makes the snorkeling more desirable. Mii (the manager) and Bill (the owner) were so nice and attentive to any needs we had. Mii even made delicious muffins for us when she hosted a breakfast tea for new guest arrivals. A few days later Mii had a meet other guests bocce ball event that was great fun.
I would highly recommend the Royale Takitumu and would stay here again on our 7th visit to Rarotonga.

Room Tip: Pick a room that looks out at the ocean which is most of their accommodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodlover2795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Kia Orana and thanks for your awesome review of Royale Takitumu. How lucky you are to have visited our beautiful island for six times - and thank you for staying with us at Royale Takitumu. So happy to read that you enjoyed your stay, and we are thrilled to hear that you will be joining us on your 7th visit to Rarotonga. Thanks again, and we hope to see you again very soon. Meitaki!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Titikaveka
1.6 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
1.9 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
2.2 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
0.9 mi away
Sea Change Villas
Sea Change Villas
#1 of 12 in Titikaveka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
0.5 mi away
Little Polynesian Resort
Little Polynesian Resort
#1 of 2 in Titikaveka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royale Takitumu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royale Takitumu

Property: Royale Takitumu
Address: PO Box 1031, Titikaveka 0001, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Titikaveka
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Titikaveka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royale Takitumu 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royale Takitumu provides our guests with a truly relaxing, intimate, beachfront holiday with a distinctively authentic, Polynesian Cook Islands experience. Ten individual, private bungalows boast breathtaking views of Rarotonga's finest white sand beach. Royal Takitumu is a small, secluded private resort, located close to nearby sites, shops and restaurants, with services you expect from a large resort. Royale Takitumu embodies the wonderful and unique aspects of this island paradise. Royal Takitumu - Genuine. Natural. Cook Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Royale Takitumu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royale Takitumu Hotel Titikaveka
Royale Takitumu Rarotonga, Cook Islands - Titikaveka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing