We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Nobody does it better"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Royale Takitumu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royale Takitumu
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“"Nobody does it better"”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Sounds like a title for good song. Mii has just the right approach to making her new friends feel comfortable and at home. We stayed in beachfront Villa 1 and we couldn't ask for a more ideal location to spend a week. Beach at the door step, BBQ by the pool, privacy in the villa, small kitchen, good sized bathroom, a/c in the bedroom. Plus a nice veranda to sit and veg out while watching the waves break on the outer reef. This is not really a hotel, but a retreat as others have noted, and we liked the independence that gave us.
We can recommend the CICC church service 50m up the road. The congregation lifts the roof with their singing, I still get chills thinking about their passion for the gospel. Morning tea afterwards is a great opportunity to meet the locals. "Town", Avarua is only 20 mins away by car, and a lap of the islands takes less than an hours drive, but you do find yourself stopping at lots of little lay-bys just to admire the view. The weather wasn't kind to us when we were there in early August, wind and rain for 3-4 days, but the ambiance of the location melted us into "island time". We did snorkel from the beach, and there are lots of colourful fish....just there!!! RT gave us the inspiration to come back at a different time of the year and maybe venture further afield. We loved it, and will personally recommend it to family and friends.

Room Tip: Beachfront is ideal, however some of the garden villas had views to the ocean as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John-in-Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Kia Orana John and thanks so much for your amazing review of Royale Takitumu. We are thrilled to read that you both enjoyed your stay with us, and that you had the opportunity to really experience the best of Rarotonga. This always makes us very happy. Thanks again, and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    28
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
286
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had a wonderful 8 days here celebrating our 45th wedding anniversary, and we can confirm that Royale Takitumu really does live up to it's fantastic reputation. All of the villas are close to the water but we really do recommend you pay a bit extra and go for the lagoon-view or VIP villas that are right on the beach. You will not regret it.

So much has already been written by other reviewers so we'll just add a few tips of our own;

* This is a boutique couples retreat, not a resort. You'll find abundant peace and privacy here, plus very personal and caring service from the staff, but you won't find bars, restaurants or shops on-site. There is a small grocery store about 100m away.

* The manager, Mii, is a wonderful asset and is very knowledgeable about restaurants and activities. Trust her – she knows the island.

* Canoeing, swimming and snorkelling off the beach are safe and amazing. It isn't world-class coral but there are plenty of colourful fish to swim amongst.

* Royale Takitumu is a bit isolated from most tourist attractions (which is why it's so peaceful and private), so hiring a car or motor-scooter is advisable. The car-hire people will leave a vehicle for you in the airport car-park, unlocked with key inside ready to go. Call in to their office and pay for it at your convenience – island time!

* There are 2 good restaurants within walking distance – Moana Sands and Little Polynesian - but after that you will need wheels. Muri village is about 5 minutes drive away (at the gentle island speed limit of 50kph) and has plenty of options for lunch or dinner. The main town, Avarua, is about 20 minutes away.

* Sunday morning service at the Titikaveka church (50m away) is a wonderful experience regardless of whether or not you are a regular churchgoer. They are used to having tourists there and conduct much of the service in English, but the real treat is the magnificent Polynesian harmony singing from the choir. Do dress respectfully so as not to offend the locals (no bare thighs or shoulders in church).

We hope you have a great time. We certainly did.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus_and_Wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Kia Orana Marcus & Wendy! What a fantastic review with some great recommendations - thanks for that! Thanks also for your very kind words about our little escape, and for Mii - she is a gem. It was great meeting you, and we felt honored that you chose to stay at Royale Takitumu for your Wedding Anniversary. We do hope to see you again very soon. Meitaki!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Couldnt have asked for a more private location with the most beautiful beach on the Island, perfect snorkelling. We had Villa 2 beachfront, it had all the nessesities you need kitchen microwave etc, waking up jn the morning with the beachfront views and only steps away from the water. . .priceless. If privacy is what your looking for this is the perfect place.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Samuel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Kia Orana Samuel and thank you so much for your simply Amazing review of Royale Takitumu. All of us are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay, and that you fully embraced the relaxed, private, secluded location of Royale Takitumu, on the islands finest stretch of white sand beach. We hope to see you again on our friendly shores, very soon. Meitaki!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Staff are brilliant, position is great. We at most, saw 4 people on the beach. You can see sunsets from the beach. This was our 2nd trip to Raro, and it was Kim Mildon's (Travel Broker at Travel Managers) suggestion that we stay at RT. Absolutely brilliant time, hospitality, etc. 11/10.
Keep up the good work. Dave and Esme'

Room Tip: Front rooms are dearer, but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macfarlanenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Kia Orana Dave & Esme and thanks so much for your absolutely Brilliant review of Royale Takitumu. It was so nice to meet you, and we are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for sharing your great photos! Also, a great big thank you goes out to Kim at Travel Managers for recommending Royale Takitumu. We do hope that your travels return you to Rarotonga and Royale Takitumu again very soon. Meitaki!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We keep coming back, not for one reason but many. Super quiet, absolute beachfront, best beach on Rarotonga, comfortable individual villas, great pool, super BBQ to do a grill supper, Salvador the cat, Mi'i the manager, not forgetting the weekly world pétanque championship playoffs.

Love this place.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank exile66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Kia Orana and thank you so much for your great review of Royale Takitumu. It was so nice to see you again - for your third visit to Royale Takitumu. For us, there is no greater compliment we can receive than to have our wonderful guests return to visit us, year after year, and continue to share their extremely valuable holiday time with us at Royale Takitumu. It brings us great joy when fantastic guests like you consider Royale Takitumu their 'home' in Rarotonga. Again, thank you for your review, and we look forward to seeing you very soon on your 4th visit to Royale Takitumu. Meitaki!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

It was with much pleasure we checked in to our buri. Ocean facing, sand at our feet, yes, Cook Islands. I can't say enough about Mii, she was friendly, funny, honest, interesting and always had a funny story to share. The weather kicked up on our last few days so an afternoon tea was ofganised for the guests. A great chance to chat with other holiday makers. Book this place, you will never regret it. Snorkelling, hammocks, loungers, pool, relax. It doesn't have a restaurant or bar but their are plenty of other options around you.
Hi to Salvador!!

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite right in front of the lagoon. Beautiful views and worth the little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NicoleBell3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Kia Orana Nicole and thanks so much for your amazing review of Royale Takitumu. So glad to read that you enjoyed your stay, and thanks for your very kind words about Mii - she is a gem! Salvador sends his best regards! Meitaki!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We opted to stay here for the first part of our honeymoon. Upon arrival, Mi'i welcomed us with fresh juice and a brief orientation and tour of the property. Beautifully landscaped, we felt like we'd entered the garden of Eden. Our bungalow was immaculately clean and situated on the edge of the property, right by the beach. The view was simply breathtaking, but we had no idea just how breathtaking until we donned our snorkel gear and looked down. WOW! This is by far some of the best snorkeling on the island. Giant blue starfish blanketed healthy coral heads, teeming with schools of bright fish. My husband saw both a turtle and a nice spotted eel, and we were both in awe of how clear the water was and how untouched the coral was. We had planned to do some diving while we were there, but the snorkeling was so good, we really didn't feel we needed to. Our second morning, Mi'i invited the guests to attend a complimentary tea to meet the other guests and the owner, Bill, who was just lovely. The muffins Mi'i served are much talked about in other reviews and for a reason. I'd do the hokey-pokey for her hokey-pokey muffins! We enjoyed how peaceful the property was, without children running about as there are at so many other properties, and liked that we could sleep in as late as we liked without maintenance firing up a leaf blower or lawnmower, as we've experienced elsewhere. On the afternoon of our third day, Jimmy, the groundskeeper, came by with a few fresh coconuts and taught us how to open them, serving us beautiful coconut water and from the sprouted coconut, the meat that's gone lofty - almost like a coconut meringue, which we had never experienced before. It was mouth-watering! We greatly enjoyed our stay and would certainly revisit this property for a romantic weekend. Do note (and we thought this was a good thing) that you're pretty much opposite the main "downtown", so if you're looking for numerous restaurants and activities within easy walking distance, this isn't ideal. That said, the buses run twice an hour and are easy and inexpensive to catch, so you can definitely get where you want to go pretty easily that way, or with a scooter or rental car. Just bear in mind you'll require some transportation unless you enjoy a decent stroll or bike ride. Overall, just a stunning place to stay with wonderful people and a prime location, especially if the beach, kayaking, snorkeling, and sunning are how you plan to spend the majority of your time.

Room Tip: We stayed in Bungalow #4, which is on the edge of the property and is quite private. Very nice, esp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraSaige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Kia Orana Sara and thank you so much for your beautiful review of Royale Takitumu! We are thrilled to read your review, hearing how happy you were with your stay. Thanks for your very kind words about our property, our location, the private thatched-roof villas, and our amazing staff. We do think we have the premier location of any resort in Rarotonga. As a future note, some of our nearby restaurants do offer free car transfers if you want to dine with them - something to remember for your next visit! We do hope to see you again, very soon. Meitaki!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Titikaveka
1.9 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
527 reviews
1.6 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
2.2 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel & Villas
0.9 mi away
Sea Change Villas
Sea Change Villas
#1 of 12 in Titikaveka
699 reviews
0.5 mi away
Little Polynesian Resort
Little Polynesian Resort
#1 of 2 in Titikaveka
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royale Takitumu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royale Takitumu

Property: Royale Takitumu
Address: PO Box 1031, Titikaveka 0001, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Titikaveka
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Titikaveka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royale Takitumu 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royale Takitumu provides our guests with a truly relaxing, intimate, beachfront holiday with a distinctively authentic, Polynesian Cook Islands experience. Ten individual, private bungalows boast breathtaking views of Rarotonga's finest white sand beach. Royal Takitumu is a small, secluded private resort, located close to nearby sites, shops and restaurants, with services you expect from a large resort. Royale Takitumu embodies the wonderful and unique aspects of this island paradise. Royal Takitumu - Genuine. Natural. Cook Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Royale Takitumu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royale Takitumu Hotel Titikaveka
Royale Takitumu Rarotonga, Cook Islands - Titikaveka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing