We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Vacation Ever!!!”
Review of Royale Takitumu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royale Takitumu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2008

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon for 6 nights and it was simply amazing!!! Since the moment we checked in we felt relaxed and safe. There are 10 villas at Royal Takitumu and we stayed in Villa number 10. It was about 10 feet from the sandy beach, and we had a great ocean view from our patio. The villas were a lot nicer than we expected! The air conditioning was great, and there was a fill kitchen which we used a little bit (we were on our honeymoon and didn't want to cook a lot). The villa was very clean, including the shower. The bed was very comfortable!

The location is great as the best snorkling on the island is right in front of the villas. My wife's favorite part about the vacation was that you can sit on the beach all day and see maybe 4 people walk by - very relaxing.

The staff is very friendly and willing to help with anything. We constantly had questions for Amber on the best places to eat, etc. and she gave us honest answers. It was the best vacation either of us has been on, and we are glad we stayed here.

Needless to say, we were very pleased with Royal Takitumu and will definitely go back for an anniversary!

-Robbie and Marky

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Toaster12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2008

We have just come home from our fabulous stay here!
I want to go back!
We had our honeymoon here and after staying at a small and lovely resort that we were impressed with first, this place was amazing!
Perfect honeymoon location! The beach and lagoon is some of the best on the island! Very private and very beautiful!
The villas are beautifully decorated and spacious! The kitchen was so nice we had to cook in it! The beds and pillows were extremely comfortable and we could have quite happily moved in!
The staff including cleaning staff were amazing and friendly!
Although we knew there were others staying at the time we really felt like we were the only ones there!
We spent 7 nights here and will be back as soon as our budget allows!
I would recommend it to anyone and everyone!

S & V Deaker :)

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t0mat0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2008

Am trying to rack my brain for any "constructive criticism" of the Royale Takitumu Villas and I can't come up with one. The place is really much more beautiful than their website or photos would even convey. The staff is friendly and helpful to a fault. Our bungalow was about 20 ft from the beach which we often had to ourselves. As noted by others, the snorkeling 20 ft into the water is incredible, probably some of the best I've done with multiple trips to Caribbean and Mexico. The pool is also quite helpful to get the salt off after some time in the ocean. The grounds are lovely and the villas are very nicely appointed. The staff even arranged a TV for us to follow election night 2008. This review by the way, goes along with our stay at the Aitutaki Lagoon Resort over our two week honeymoon in the Cooks. I can't imagine that there's any place better to stay on Rarotonga than here.

As for other activities on Rarotonga, we loved the Aora horseback riding company, about a 2 1/2 hr ride that includes two rides galloping the horses on the beach and taking them shoulder deep into the ocean, which my wife absolutely loved. We had a car from Island Rental Cars (good prices, great service) rather than a scooter for our week as it was raining on and off. We did the cross-island trek with Pa, which is really a must do. As for food, we didn't have a bad meal on the island, but highlights were the Tamarind House and Little Polynesian followed by the Flame Tree and Windjammer. Did the sunday night bbq at PawPaw Patch which was better food than the wednesday night Island night at Rarotongan Beach Resort (entertainment here was pretty solid and the sunset views before dinner on their deck are killer). Have fun!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tlarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2008

Stayed here for our honeymoon, was a great place to stay. Quiet and relaxed atmosphere. The snorkelling from the beach is the best on the island. The villas are large and have everything you could need. The staff are very friendly and helpful and even sent us a postcard telling us about the weather when we got back home!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Dr_IandDr_I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2008

We just returned from an amazing trip to the Cook Islands. While we spent most of our time on Aitutaki, we did really enjoy our time on Rarotonga.

We stayed at the Royale Takitumu, which I highly, highly recommend. The villa we stayed in was Awesome! It was very clean, very spacious, well appointed and had a great location. If you got tired of lounging around on your patio, you could migrate to one of hammocks that were invitingly waiting at the edge of the beach.

Amber & the staff at the Royale Takitumu are great -- very warm, friendly & helpful.

The location of the resort is fantastic. Town is not far away (and easy to get to on the island bus) and great snorkeling can easily be found. The underwater life is just amazing -- colorful coral, schools of fish, clear water.... Plus, it's very safe, since it's enclosed in a lagoon (so good for all levels of capability).

I would definitely recommend the Cook Islands & the Royale Takitumu. You won't regret it!!!

Stayed: October 2008
Thank LeahLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2008

We have just returned from a fantastic holiday in Rarotonga, staying at Royale Takitumu Villas. It is an absolute paradise!!!! We had a beachfront villa on the corner, and it was really private, with great views and right on the beach. We bought fish from the local market and cooked dinner for ourselves a couple of nights as the views were so awesome it seemed a shame to go anywhere else! The snorkling is great, just like swimming in an aquarium, tropical fish everywhere you look. There were kayaks for hire too, but we spent most time snorkling. The beach is really quiet compared to some other parts of the island. We would walk at sunset and hardly ever bump into anyone. Paw Paw Patch and Little Polynesian restaurants are just a few mins walk down the beach and both really nice. All the hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. They make you feel relaxed and at home, even when you arrive tired at 2am like we did! Royale Takitumu Villas must be the best place to stay from what we saw. We'd definitely love to go back!!!!!
PS -Definitely go on the cross island trek with Pa - he's a legend!!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Speckle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2008

My wife and I spent 3 nights here and it was incredible. We have dived all over the world and there is no doubt that 10 yards into the sea, with the snorkel kit provided, was better and of course so convenient that we spent hours in the water. The coral was great and colourfull and the level and variety of fish was incredible. We booked to do the day trip to Aiutaki but it did not compare with the lagoon outside our door.
The staff were helpfull but Amber and Ronga were a bit concerned we were not around a lot thats because we were exploring the sea.
The villas are the best we have been in and after a long trip round New Zealand a fantastic way to unwind.
This without a doubt is one of the best places we have stayed at in all our years of travelling and for all divers and those who cant be bothered to learn to dive come here and snorkel and a whole new world will embrace you.
David and Teresa

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank diveloverscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Titikaveka
1.6 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
2.2 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
2.1 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
562 reviews
0.5 mi away
Little Polynesian Resort
Little Polynesian Resort
#1 of 2 in Titikaveka
513 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royale Takitumu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royale Takitumu

Address: PO Box 1031, Titikaveka 0001, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Titikaveka
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Titikaveka
Price Range: £166 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royale Takitumu 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royale Takitumu provides our guests with a truly relaxing, intimate, beachfront holiday with a distinctively authentic, Polynesian Cook Islands experience. Ten individual, private bungalows boast breathtaking views of Rarotonga's finest white sand beach. Royal Takitumu is a small, secluded private resort, located close to nearby sites, shops and restaurants, with services you expect from a large resort. Royale Takitumu embodies the wonderful and unique aspects of this island paradise. Royal Takitumu - Genuine. Natural. Cook Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Royale Takitumu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royale Takitumu Hotel Titikaveka
Royale Takitumu Rarotonga, Cook Islands - Titikaveka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing