We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Titikaveka
Certificate of Excellence
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing!”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We booked out all the villas for 10 days for our wedding and couldent have asked for anything better new clean and tidy villas rite on the beach with amazing staff always there to help we strongly suggest this place for any coming to raro to stay A plus moana sands Cameron

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Cameron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    89
    27
    10
    6
See reviews for
41
146
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Beautiful location, Lovely beach front...24/7 fabulous view from the rooms....extermly friendly staff and service and top of all free fruits to enjoy!!!!

Room Tip: This hotel is designed in a way that all rooms have fabulous views...!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Keyul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

The view from the rooms is fantastic, you really couldn't be any closer to a beautiful beach. The hotel is in a quiet part of the island which is great for relaxing. It is close (10 min drive) to the popular and busy Muri beach. They had a wedding booked during our visit which meant we couldn't really use the beach in the afternoon. The restaurant attached has very good food but not open for lunch.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turtleway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We stayed at Moana Sands for 10 days in which we got married. We chose Moana Sands because of the location and the beautiful and remote beach. You cant fault the room service and service of the front desk. You have to remember it is a hotel not resort!

Would highly recommend for Wedding parties as well as couples.

Also my daughter who is 2 loved running around the beach from our room and into the water. It is really safe, as it is more of a lagoon without swell

Room Tip: If you want to keep to your self more, ask for levels 2 or 3 in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aussie_si
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We (2 couples) stayed here for 4 nights. We had 2 connecting rooms on the ground floor - which meant we'd open our sliding door and walk 6 steps to the beach. The beach has super soft sand and the turquoise waters just sparkle. We spent many hours snorkelling here - gear complimentary from the hotel. There were sufficient deckchairs. The grounds were well manicured on a daily basis.

The rooms were lovely although the beds are a lil soft. The pillows were comfy. There was plenty of space to move around.

The restaurant is one of the best on the island. Definitely make sure you have a dinner here. The complimentary breakfast was basic but you can always order of the a la carte menu - $8 for eggs on toast.

We would stay here again :)

Room Tip: Loved being on the ground floor as its just steps to soft sand
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

My husband and I just returned from our 8th stay at this hotel. It is on THE best part of Rarotonga's lagoon--excellent for snorkeling and kayaking. The staff is very personable and helpful. We like the ground floor units because we can walk from our room to the ocean in 40 steps! The third floor rooms are more luxurious. All rooms have great ocean views.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gail R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

We got married in Rarotonga and the Moana Sands was a fantastic base for us.

We had the most amazing time and the staff at Moana Sands we so friedly and would do anything to help you. We stayed in the hotel and had one of the lager rooms on the 3rd floor. It was spotless, cleaned every day except Sunday. The cleaners were lovely too!

I think it was better here than one of the bigger "resort" hotels as you weren't treated as a number, they got to know your name. The beach was very clean too and right on your door step! There is a bus stop right outside which is really handy.

I can't wait to go back, it was heaven!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saraht83_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Titikaveka
1.6 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
4.0 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
0.3 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
157 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
4.1 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel

Property: Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
Address: Ara Tapu, Titikaveka, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Titikaveka
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Titikaveka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel, directly overlooking the idyllic Titikaveka Beach, features a variety of studios with stunning beachfront views. Evenings can be spent at Sands Restaurant & Bar and our popular Sunday night beach BBQ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel And Villas
Moana Sands Beachfront Titikaveka
Hotel Moana Sands Beachfront
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel Rarotonga, Cook Islands - Titikaveka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing