We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury and Romance” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Little Polynesian Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Little Polynesian Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Titikaveka
Certificate of Excellence
Chletenham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxury and Romance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2010

We stayed at Little Poly for our 2009/10 New Years break, spending a week at this delightful establishment.
Normally we're 'active' travellers - extended touring and sightseeing types - so we were at first reluctant to splash out on a luxury relaxation-focussed trip like this one; value for money is always an issue.
However, we needn't have worried. Little Poly was perfect. The bures were beuatifully simple in design, but with so many little thoughtful touches that made 'chilling out' so easy - from the spacious outdoor spa bath in the private rear 'courtyard', to the comfy day bed on the front verandah.
When we got tired of lounging about reading, we simply stepped off the porch, took 10 steps across the sand, and waded directly into Muri lagoon for some of the best snorkelling I've encountered in many years of travelling.
We hired a convertible for the week to get us around the island (literally - there's one main road that rings the entire island) with the intention of trying a few different eateries around the place, but in the end we barely used it, as Little Polynesian's restaraunt kept us more than satisfied: the menu changing daily according to what ingredients the chef managed to source in town each morning. Swordfish one night, rack of lamb the next, and something else new and delicious the next. The only constant was the DELICIOUS chocolate souffle for desert!
The real highlight of our trip, however, was the brilliant New Year's celebration - tapas and cocktails at Little Poly to begin, then onto their chartered mini-bus (kept stocked with beer and champagne) for a crawl around the island, stopping regularly at watering holes around the island with a slight detour to watch one of the resort staff performing in a cultural dance troupe, before finishing (along with everyone else on the island) at Muri Beach for fireworks at midnight. Just a sensational night, and with our Little Poly hosts keeping a friendly eye on us and rounding us up whenever it was time to board the bus for the next stop, we had nothing to concentrate on but having a blast!

A blissful week of luxury and relaxation, punctuated with excellent food, and presented by friendly and courteous staff. We loved it, and are hoping to return, this New Years

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottcaughey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    75
    27
    12
    13
See reviews for
13
389
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, NZ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2010

Little Poly as it is referred to by the locals is stylish and the perfect place to unwind for a couple of days. The pool has Dedon chairs and furniture in the surrounding area and restaurant. The rooms are spacious and tastefully done out in a whitewashed American Oak.
We dined at the restaurant one night and the food was good. It is a small, intimate type of place – perfect for couples and romance.
Take a book, some champagne and chill out in the day bed outside each beach villa and listen to the waves crash on the outer reef.
We did try the snorkelling but the wind made it a bit too cold. Another time…
My only criticism would be that the breakfast that was included in the price could have been a bit more interesting. Some home baked bread and a bit more variety – but then you could always go down the cooked option and order a yummy omelette.
We also had great fun tootling around the island on the scooters we hired - this was a great way to see the place.
And we would go back - one day.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeetleBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2010

For the first desitination on our honeymoon this was a perfect start.
The hotel is nicely appointed and the decor is very elegant and fresh.
We had the most perfect weather so we spent a lot of time outside, not needing to use the pool we spent a lot of time just going from our room to the lagoon.
We only had a few niggles that if fixed would have warrented a higher star rating but as the island life in the Cook Islands is so relaxed I doubt that would be likely.
The service though very, very friendly was a little slow in the housekeeping department. And even though we spend a lot of time outside in peace and quiet it would have been nice, when we decided to come indoors, that the television had worked. No channels, no reception. Not great for a resort of this standard.
But they are small things. We loved the resort and would recommmend it to people who want it very very private, peacefull and slow....

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2010

We stayed at the Little Polynesian in August 2009 for 4 nights. On arrival, we were greeted warmly. The room was amazing! I nearly screamed when I first stepped in there. We had the OverBeach Are. The design of the room is luxury, superb, tropical, modern, romantic all mixed together, and I just never wanted to leave.

The staff were warm, wonderful, and very professional. They all remembered our names after just a few hours. They were very helpful when we asked about activities to do and helped to book those for us.

We had breakfast every morning and one dinner at the hotel. The food is great and lovely presented. Every day we see tourist from other hotels come and had lunch or dinner at the Little Poly. Later after we left, we heard that the restaurant is quite a renowned place in Rarotonga.

The room and facilities of the hotel were always kept clean and beautiful. We felt safe and didn't worried about anything else while staying there. We told everyone about it when we came back, and would definetly recommend it to anyone who is planning a trip to Rarotonga.

The hotel just makes you think you are in another world... a wonderful world.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmilly79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2010

Our time at the Little Polynesian was everything we hoped it would be. We arranged to have the barefoot on the beach wedding and were taken to the courthouse by Jeannine the day of our arrival. Her casual and warm personality made us feel at home right away!
The wedding took place the next day with our families in tow. They stayed at the Moana Sands next door, which was just a 2-5 minute walk! Our photographer was Junior Marsters who we just loved working with. He was so easy going and the pictures turned out great!
Our reception dinner was at Lil Poly and was arranged by Carlos. The food was impeccable! My only criticism was that the marlin was tough, but we encountered that at EVERY restaurant we ordered it (except the Flame Tree). Breakfast here is pretty typical fare as the other hotels in the area; toast, cereal, yogurt, fresh tropical fruit.
Definitely book the overbeach Are if you stay here. It's well worth the price!
Thank you to Jeannine and her team on making our stay so very wonderful!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crystalene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2009

We arrived from our delayed flight at 4am and we were greeted with the lovely smile of the office Manager, the amazing Cook Islands attitude and customer service captured us immediately.

We stayed in an overbeach bungalow, do yourself a favor and spend the extra money to get it, the room was incredible, it had a beautiful tropical feel but with all the modern facilities.

Walking out on our balcony in the mornings, laying on our day bed looking out at the coral reef was the most relaxing thing I have ever done.

The beach is fantastic to. We walked around to a few other areas but the one outside Little Polynesian was by far the best.

The snorkeling right in front of the hotel is great to, a range of different fish, star fish, and other marine life. The water is so clear that you can just take out the free canoe’s, paddle out and still see all the fish swimming around the canoe.

The tropical breakfast was great. The major thing that really stood out to me was the service we received. Nothing was a hassle, nothing was a problem. Everyone from the reception, to the restaurant to the house keeping was so helpful and the friendliest resort staff I have ever met.

My tips – book an overbeach bungalow, if you’re staying in the Cook Islands spend that bit extra for total paradise.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Myadventures28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
265 reviews
220 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 759 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2009

HOTEL REVIEW # 175

MY TRAVEL STYLE: If possible, I try to stay away from business hotels and strongly prefer resorts that resemble the Four Seasons, Aman, and Oberoi but try to find similar properties at lower cost. I seek out the “wow” experiences and I encourage you to view hotels I have stayed at and their respective reviews (by clicking on my name).

LOCATION: Excellent. This is the nicest part of the beach which provides a secluded feel. A 20 minute walk either direction on the beach, you may only see 5 other people. The view from Muri Beach is a bit better since you see an island across the way as opposed to endless ocean but it was so crowded and there were many more hotels there that we were happy to have stayed away from that area. There are a few other hotels that have restaurants within walking distance but to get to the good places, you would need to rent a car or hire a taxi.

BEST WAY TO GET THERE: The hotel will provide a private ride from the airport to the hotel for NZ$95. There were 3 taxis waiting for people at the airport and we got the last one. A taxi to the hotel will be around NZD$50 per car. There is also a bus that takes people to all of the hotels for NZ$15 per person. It will make a few stops but the worst part is that it won’t leave until all passengers have their bags.

TYPE OF ROOM: 

We had both the garden and ocean front rooms. The difference between these rooms is not just the location and view. The rooms are completely different and going from the garden to the ocean room was similar to going from a 3 star room to a 5 star room.

BED/SHEETS/PILLOW: The bed in the garden room was not good. There were two beds pushed together to make one bed and the crack in between the two was very noticeable. The mattresses were old and it hurt my back. The sheets were average and the pillows in both rooms were not down and in my opinion were too thick. The bed in the ocean view room was much better and was comfortable but definitely not ‘dreamy’.

LIGHTING: The garden view was well lit and night but several of the bulbs flickered which was annoying. The ocean view had very good lighting.

BATHROOM/SHOWER: A bit small in the garden room, and very large in the ocean view room. Both rooms had an outdoor bathtub/spa. The shower in both rooms had very good water pressure and the temperature could be made very hot if desired.

TOILETRIES: Cheap soap and ok hair products. Recommend bringing your own.

CLEANLINESS: The garden room outdoor area was not cleaned when we arrived as there was a lot of sand in the tub and empty shampoo bottles near the tub. The floors were never swept while we were there. The ocean view room was very clean and the floors were swept daily.

A/C: Available in both rooms but never used.

CLOSET SPACE: Very good amount of space for 2 people in both rooms.

STYLE OF ROOM: Garden view room was nice but the garden is really just some plants in front of a wall. The ocean view room was very stylish just like the pics on the internet.

COMMON AREA: Very nice. This area was very clean and looked as expected from the web pictures. Dedon outdoor furniture was a nice addition.

QUIET: The garden view rooms backs a road and cars could be heard. The ocean view room you could hear the waves crashing a far distance away (the waves are far, but the ocean water is very close).

FOOD: Breakfast is included and consists of cereal, fruit, yogurt, bread, and jam. Cooked items are available for additional cost. Nothing special here including the weak presentation of the food. Got a bit boring having the same thing every day for breakfast. Lunch was not very good the two times we ate here. Dinner is outstanding. Definitely one of the best restaurants on the island which is so important with the other good restaurants being a car ride away. There are a few items that don’t change on the menu with a few different items each evening.

TV/INTERNET: TV a bit small for the room and there is only one channel that works (I was told other hotels have satellite). There is a DVD player in the room and DVDs are provided at no cost. All rooms have wired (only) internet which we never used. The pool and restaurant has a weak wi-fi signal. Internet is charged using a prepaid card in which you pay by the Megabyte. I bought at NZ$12 card that lasted me the 6 days only using it to check email several times a day.

SERVICE: The people here are extremely kind but the service is very bad. From being close to forced to say what time you are going to eat breakfast or dinner to forgotten requests for water. This is where the hotel really does a poor job but the people are so friendly and nice that it really makes up for this.

SUMMARY: The hotel is really a great place to stay. It definitely lacks the attention to details to make this place a true 5 star experience. We were constantly thinking if they only did this, or only did that to improve overall look of the place. Clearly we are well seasoned and picky travelers that once we moved to the ocean view room, we really had a great time here. I strongly recommend staying at the Little Poly hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TravelSnob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Titikaveka
1.1 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
1.8 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
2.4 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
1.7 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
1.3 mi away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Polynesian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Polynesian Resort

Property: Little Polynesian Resort
Address: PO Box 366, Titikaveka, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Titikaveka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Titikaveka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Little Polynesian Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at the Little Polynesian we take great pride in our name, to us it signifies everything we have aimed to share... a humble, intimate, luxurious and yet remarkably friendly environment to warm your heart and recharge your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Little Polynesian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Polynesian Hotel Titikaveka
Little Polynesian Titikaveka
Little Polynesian Resort Rarotonga, Cook Islands - Titikaveka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing