We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed Atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rarotonga Beach Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Relaxed Atmosphere”
Reviewed 15 March 2009

We stayed at Rarotonga Beach Bungalows for one week in February. The bungalows were well maintained, spacious and just steps from the ocean. We snorkeled and swam every day since the beach fronts a marine conservation area with interesting fish. Rarotonga Beach Bungalows offered free snorkle equipment and kayaks which we took advantage of on many occasions.

Breakfast was provided every day, consisting of cereal, bread, cheese and cold cut platter including hard boiled eggs and plenty of local fruit. The owner , Tom, was friendly and helpful as were Lucky and the entire staff.

The rooms were large and included a full kitchen, nice covered deck and "garden" shower. The question is not whether we will return for another relaxing vacation to Rarotonga Beach Bungalows but when. Can't wait!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFtraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    15
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
133
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2009

We are so glad we picked Rarotonga Beach Bungalows to spend our first full week in The Cook Islands. We wanted a quiet place that we could just 'be' - and this is the place. The stunning location has the best snorkeling lagoon & beach of the whole island. Its not in the more 'touristy' spots, so its still got a clean, pristine lagoon. We'd bicycle to other beaches, only to find the best beach was right outside RBB bungalow steps. Tom, & Lucki and his staff were relaxed, gracious hosts. If we needed anything, they'd help us out. We enjoyed chatting to them each morning during the complimentary breakfast, and we'd get the low-down on what their recommendations are for good restaurants (although we enjoyed cooking fresh fish steaks and eating fresh fruit many evenings), and island shopping spots, and excursions. They are hugely experienced in the tourism industry of the South Pacific, and have thought of everything in terms of personal service and comfort. All the amenities such as snorkeling gear, kayaks, lounge chairs, TV, microwaves, etc. are included and in full working order. The bungalows are roomy, airy and extremely well constructed. The landscaping is immaculate and well planned for privacy and lagoon views. We checked out alot of the other pricey resorts that would be comparable; many other resorts were nice to look at, but upon closer viewing they were grotty, or in a lesser location. RBB know word-of-mouth is the best publicity for marketing one's business in the travel industry. I'm a fussy traveler; I want the most for my dollar, and this lovely spot is a place we'll definitely return to.

  • Liked — Location, Design of bungalows and design, gracious hosts, privacy.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CanadaGeeseVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2009

This was our third visit to Rarotonga and our second stay at the Rarotonga Beach Bungalows (RBB). Tom, the owner, and his staff, Luckey, Miriama, Marina, and Lolo the cat, once again showed why they operate the best accomodations on the island. We stayed for two weeks in the Onu, one of the bungalows right on the beach, nestled in white sand, amidst tall coconut palms and island vegetation, and just steps away from the clear, turquoise waters of the lagoon. The deck of the bungalow is equipped with a chaise lounge, a dining table and chairs, and enjoys an unobstructed view of the lagoon and the waves breaking over the barrier reef. We frequently enjoyed lunch and dinner on the deck and often lingered over a glass of wine and read, or daydreamed, or simply delighted in the everchanging colors of the water and the free-form cloud formations. The bedrooms in all the bungalows are air conditioned and equipped with satellite television. The bathrooms are spacious and the shower is located on an outside tile platform, surrounded by a tropical wood railing, in a completely private garden setting. One has the impression of floating in a rainforest. The kitchens are fully equipped with flatware, dishes, a good selection of pots and pans, knives, cheese graters, corkscrews, and storage containers. Each kitchen also has a two burner stove, a microwave, an electric teapot, a toaster, and a refrigerator. The living room has a lounge sofa, a small sofa and cofee table, a CD player and speakers, and a writing table and chairs. Luckey or Miriama serve a wonderful continental style breakfast every morning from 8:00 am to 10:00am in the Totara Lounge, consisting of Kona coffee, milk, juice, ham, cheese and tomato slices, hard boiled eggs, cold cereal, papaya, passion and star fruit, and bananas, as well as toast, butter and fruit preserves. We prefer to rent scooters when we visit Rarotonga, but you can also rent cars or rely on the public bus for transportation. Taxis are practically non-existent. Within walking distance from RBB there are a couple of restaurants - the Little Polynesian and the Paw Paw Patch, as well as a small convenience store and a lovely church. We rented a 125 cc scooter from Island Car and Bike Rental in Muri Beach for US$85 for two weeks. Across the street and just a little south from the scooter rental location is Deli Foods, where they offer freshly baked French bread, dried pasta, salami, mortadella, olives, cheeses, fresh fruit, locally made chutney, and a great selection of Australian and New Zealand wines, any or all of which you can purchase and take back to your bungalow deck for a wonderful lunch or dinner with a view that can't be beat. During our past visits to Rarotonga, we have visited many of the premiere self contaned accomodations, but we have yet to find any that compare to RBB, not only in terms of the rates (RBB includes airport transfers, snorkling gear, kayaks and a sumptuous continental breakfast), but also the fabulous location and the pristine beach all overlooking a marine wildlife protected area. We are already planning and looking forward to our trip back to RBB in 2010!
Gary and Sherry Price
San Clemente, CA

  • Liked — The view from the deck
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank beachdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2009

If you are thinking of a vacation in the Cook Islands we highly recommend checking out the Rarotonga Beach Bungalows (RBB). The accomodations are beautuful and clean with a spectacular view. The lagoon right in front has great snorkeling. The friendliness of the staff was above average and they all went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. It is the little extras that made a big difference. They went beyond the usual call of duty to make us welcome and feel at home. We especially liked the freedom, relaxation and seclusion of not having young children present. Absolutely perfect island and RBB was unbelievable!!

  • Liked — Location, staff, lagoon
  • Disliked — Nothing - perfect in every way
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Travelinwomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hawaii
1 review
Reviewed 25 January 2009

RBB is a perfect place and I had a wonderful time there! Everything about it was exactly like I had wanted. The 5 bungalows were so beautiful, clean, and included everything I needed for my stay of 4 days. The location was great- right on the water with beautiful views, snorkeling in the lagoon (I saw a turtle) and the bus stop for the bus going around the island and and to town was right next door. The Paw-Paw Patch Restaurant was next door and had nice dinners. I loved the breakfast of fresh fruit, cereal, toast and 100% Kona coffee!!!! that was included at RBB. And the best were my hosts of Tom, Luckey, and Mariama who were so welcoming and relaxed! I would love to go back and stay- next time with my boyfriend!!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — breakfast available later than I like to eat
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank iammauitraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
1 review
Reviewed 31 December 2008

Any accommodation is truly reflective of the ownership and their values. At RBB the pride they take in the ease of your stay and the immaculate property leaves very little for the vacationer to worry about. Your attentions must only be directed toward, should we get up, go for a walk on the beach (which is a stone's throw from your bungalow), snorkel, (on that same beach, which we found to be the best snorkeling on the island and we tried a few), or just lounge on your deck and read that novel. Home brewed coffee upon waking and a luscious continental breakfast that fed our overdue craving for paw paw. As much as we ate, they never seemed to run out. Where did Tom and Luckey get all that papaya and mango? One afternoon we realized that we would like to see the island from the water so we each took out one of the complimentary kayaks for delightful paddle in the surrounding lagoon at sunset. The restaurants were an absolute surprise as far as fresh ingredients and pleasant atmospheres. The Tamarind Restaurant is one of an elegant kind that definitely takes one back to another era of the South Pacific. Our return visits will only be spent at the Rarotonga Beach Bungalows, a sure thing for a special vacation.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
Thank travelidaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2008

We spent seven wonderful days at Rarotonga Beach Bungalows. We were looking for a hideout to decompress after a hectic three months prior to our visit. RBB could not have been more perfect. The five bungalows sit on pure white sand at the lagoon’s edge. We found the beautiful grounds, gorgeous surroundings, serene atmosphere and accommodations superb. The hospitality was warm, friendly and unobtrusive. The owner Tom, along with Lucky and the rest of the staff looked after us in excellent fashion and we became friends almost instantly. Lucky’s cat Lolo was a fun addition. What we loved the most about the bungalows was the fact that they are positioned in such a way, that each deck is very private and you can not see the people sitting on one of the other deck, nor could you hear their conversations.

The snokeling and kayaking in the beautiful turquoise lagoon was unbelievable, especially since we were totally alone. We visited several of the other resorts, which were very nice, but if you want solitude, quietness and a vast white beach to yourself, the Beach Bungalows are the place for you.

Breakfast started with wonderful Hawaiian coffee, which we would bring back to our lovely deck, enjoying the ocean and morning bird activity. Then up to the lounge for an excellent breakfast which always included wonderful tropical fruit.

We did explore the island by motor scooter and took some tours which we enjoyed very much. We also waked to the local church service on Sunday to hear the most incredible choir music, this is not to be missed.

The Beach Bungalows does not offer lunch or dinner. Several days we had a simple lunch sitting on our very private deck. There are two restaurants within walking distance, which are very good. We also had dinner at other restaurants, using the bus, and utilized the pickup service of one restaurant. It is easy to rent a car or motor scooter also.

RBB is not for those who want the “resort experience”. It is perfect for couples who love privacy, quiet, peaceful beauty and feeling of having their own private home on an incredibly glorious lagoon.

  • Liked — The veranda overlooking the lagoon.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PJT8470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Titikaveka
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
0.0 mi away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
1,114 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Little Polynesian Resort
Little Polynesian Resort
#1 of 2 in Titikaveka
487 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sea Change Villas
Sea Change Villas
#1 of 12 in Titikaveka
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rarotonga Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rarotonga Beach Bungalows

Property: Rarotonga Beach Bungalows
Address: P.O. Box 3045 | Rarotonga, Titikaveka, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Titikaveka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Titikaveka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rarotonga Beach Bungalows 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With just five (5) deluxe beach bungalows clustered in a native village atmosphere, these units all offer the laid back and unique feeling of visiting the South Seas of the 1940's. All units front on a wide, white sand beach where the tropical lagoon in front is a national maritime protected area -- and,thus, allows endless snorkeling adventures. All bungalows are separate, free standing, Polynesian designed units. All have coconut thatch roofs, bamboo interior walls, colorful cloth on the ceiling and white sand at each bungalow entry. All are furnished with modern amenities. The property strives to offer the maximum BEACH fun with a 'spirit of the islands'. Nothing here is stuffy, snobby, stainless steel -- just a great secluded location for couples to enjoy the BEACH. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Rarotonga Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rarotonga Beach Bungalows Hotel Titikaveka
Rarotonga Beach Bungalows Cook Islands - Titikaveka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing