We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, stunning, what a place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Heliconia Hideaway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Heliconia Hideaway
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing, stunning, what a place!”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

First trip to Rarotonga and what a place to stay. We stayed in the Beachfront Villa, great facilities, fabulous location and stunning views. Lounging on the beach was great and snorkeling in the lagoon was just amazing, we even got to swim with the turtle for a while. Loved barbequing on the deck overlooking the lagoon, perfect!
Hinano was a wonderful hostess, very discrete but attentive if we needed anything.
Truly recommend Heliconia to anyone looking to recharge the batteries.

Graham and Jacqui

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dragonman1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
36
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Heliconia Beach Bungalow was perfect for our family holiday (two couples). The bungalow had everything we needed - just like a typical Kiwi bach. We were able to make our own meals when we wished, eating on the spacious deck. The beach is the best spot on Rarotonga - all tide swimming and snorkelling and a much quieter area than Muri. Although it is not right on the beachfront it's only a few steps back and the bungalow is private with lovely garden surrounds. It looks out to the lagoon through the garden. John and Hinano are ideal hosts. Their cafe over the road is in a gorgeous garden setting and the lemon meringue cheesecake is rightfully famous!

Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank justyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

My wife and i spent our honeymoon at the heliconia beach villa at rarotonga.

the villa was so comfortable, the lagoon waters so clear and the sunsets were amazing.

I recommend this place to anyone who wants a truly romantic getaway in the south pacific.

Room Tip: the villa on the beach - pick that
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llewellyn j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Amazing beaches and snorkelling. Was great to ride around the island on a scooter( No traffis problems).Beautiful relaxed way of life and people. Great food at paw Paw Patch and the Island Night was lovely. Awesome Tropical Chicken salad and Lemon Merigue Cheesecake over the road.
Fantastic accomodation and friendly people.
Hope to go back one day.
Cheers
Deb & Ross Jamieson
Munglinup Beach Park
Western Australia

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebJamieson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Our group of 3 adults stayed in the Heliconia Beach Bungalow for 5 nights. We came from Northern Ireland via New Zealand with our daughter for a time of relaxation, sun and good food and we were not disappointed. The beach is simply beautiful, reached by a 30 second walk directly through your own private garden. The beach is peaceful, clean and so uncrowded - we felt we were often the only people there. It was picture postcard perfect, water so blue and clear which offered fantastic opportunities for kayaking and looking at the fish and corals in the lagoon.

The beach bungalow is well equipped for cooking anything from snacks to full 3 course meals. We took advantage of the fabulous restaurants on the island and kept home catering to a minimum!

The bedrooms are comfortable and fans offer a restful night's sleep. The bathroom was adequate for our needs.

John and Hinano were wonderful hosts and provided useful local knowledge. They were there if needed, yet so unobstrusive.

Our 5 day visit was far too short - what better reason for a return visit!

The Latimer Family

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katielat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

We returned from the Cook Islands early March and already looking to go back. We stayed at Heliconia's Bungalow on the beach in Titikaveka and we could not have chosen a better place to stay. It is a cute Bungalow (2 bedrooms) set in the most stunning tropical garden set back a few metres from the beach edge. We were actually looking for a place on the water's edge but after staying at Heliconia Bungalow we were happy that it was set back a little away from the occasional wind, but still giving you a beachfront. It is so private and secluded. We could sunbake in our own little garden or on the beach where we hardly saw any passers by and the view to the lagoon from our front deck was just what we dreamt of. There were three of us and the Bungalow was perfect. Very roomy (in fact it can sleep 5) and has all one needs on a beach holiday. Big kitchen, a lounge & dining area and the barbeque on the deck along with snorkelling gear, kayaks etc…every thing we needed. The hosts Hinano & John were the most obliging and could not do enough for us. They even arranged a starlit dinner on the beach for us with their in house chef, it was a perfect night and one we will remember forever. They took us to the rent a car place to hire some bikes and even took us shopping for food on the first day. We were also delighted with the pricing of our accommodation. The cost per night for each of us was NZ$110 each which for a beach front accommodation we thought was fantastic. Particularly considering the actual location. The beach itself is beautiful white sand and the snorkelling is to behold and you can swim any time of the day regardless of the tide in safety. Rarotonga is a delightful holiday destination and Titikaveka is the most beautiful part of the island in our mind, with the best beaches, and most surprisingly the most private. Most people stay at Muri, which is fine but we found it way too crowded. Another bonus to staying at Heliconia is that Hinano & John own the most beautiful tropical garden over the road in which they have a unique cafe set amongst the flowers. It is called Maire Nui. Many a day was spent enjoying a coffee there and an occasional home baked cake(they are famous for their Cheesecake and we know why) or a luscious healthy organic salad from their garden and a late afternoon stroll through the fruit trees and palm plantation before sunset....and this was at our doorstep. Truly a great place for a holiday and we will be back within a year and we have never done that with any of our holiday destinations.
aahh…the memory of those balmy nights , lying in bed, the doors open, overhead fan going, the warm tropical air, the scent of gardenias and the occasional bleep from a gecko.

We Will Return!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kiwigetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2011

We stayed there for almost two weeks and I can only recommend this place to everybody who likes a beautiful beach, turquois ocean, excellent snorkeling and the most beautiful garden on the island. The villa is cozy, very big and has all annemities you will need in your holidays. You will not regret staying there and enjoying some of the most beautiful days in your life.
Falling asleep to the sound of the waves on the reef, waking up to the birds singing, relaxing on the deck of the villa or on the white sandy beach you do not have to share with anybody! This place is truly a dream come true and we enjoyed every second of it! The owners are very friendly and helpful and they did their outmost to make our stay as comfortable as possible. If you are looking for a perfect place on Rarotonga, look no further-this is it!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vwa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Titikaveka
0.0 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
0.0 mi away
Rarotonga Beach Bungalows
Rarotonga Beach Bungalows
#4 of 12 in Titikaveka
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Little Polynesian Resort
Little Polynesian Resort
#1 of 2 in Titikaveka
476 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sea Change Villas
Sea Change Villas
#1 of 12 in Titikaveka
699 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royale Takitumu
Royale Takitumu
#2 of 12 in Titikaveka
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heliconia Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heliconia Hideaway

Property: Heliconia Hideaway
Address: Titikavaka Village | Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands, Titikaveka, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Titikaveka
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Titikaveka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Heliconia Hideaway 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heliconia is a private retreat comprising a Luxurious Beachfront Villa, House and Bungalow. Heliconia is unique for its appointments, spaciousness and privacy. If you are considering a Honeymoon, a getaway or a family holiday, each of the properties offers something for everyone. Each accomodation is on its own block with its own beachfront access situated on the prettiest beach on the island. Heliconia sets a new standard in self contained accomodation in the South Pacific. Heliconia -'where life is good. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heliconia Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heliconia Hideaway Rarotonga, Cook Islands - Titikaveka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing